Tuesday, 31 December 2013


Title: The Grimm Diaries Prequels 1-6
Author: Cameron Jace
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Fairy-tale Retelling
Pages/File Size: 169 pages, 1217KB
Published: November 19, 2012

BLURB from Goodreads
What if all you knew about fairy tales was wrong?

Warning: these Grimm Prequels are like snap shots of a magical land you're about to visit soon. I like to think of them as poisoned apples. Once you taste them, you will never see fairy tales in the same light again.

This Grimm Diaries Prequels are a number of short books in the form of epistolary diary entries. The diaries are more of teasers for the upcoming series: The Grimm Diaries, allowing you to get a glimpse of what to expect of the series. The 6 diaries are told by The Evil Queen, Peter Pan, Little Red Riding Hood, the Devil, Prince Charming, and Alice Grimm 
The first book in the Series will be out in February 2013, called SNOW WHITE SORROW.

Series Description:
The Grimm Diaries are pages written in a Book of Sand, where each fairy tale character confessed the true stories once altered by the Brothers Grimm two centuries ago. To keep the truth about fairy tales hidden, the Brothers Grimm buried the characters in their dreams to never wake up again. But the curse is broken now, and the characters are allowed to wake up every one hundred years. They intend to tell the truth about really happened, and about an untold cosmic conflict between fairy tale characters.
List of the available Grimm Diaries Prequels:

1.   Snow White Blood Red
narrated by The Snow White Queen

2.   Ashes to Ashes and Cinder to Cinder
narrated by Alice Grimm

3.   Beauty Never Dies
narrated by Peter Pan

4.   Ladle Rotten Rat Hut
narrated by Little Red Riding Hood

5.   Mary Mary Quite Contrary

6.   Blood Apples
narrated by Prince Charming

7.   Jawigi
narrated by Sandman Grimm


So I honestly didn't have the time to sit and read the whole set of prequels, even though they are quite short but I decided as I had been curious about these books for some time that I would at least read the first prequel . . .
Here is my review . . . 
1.   Snow White Blood Red
narrated by The Snow White Queen

This book is told from the point of view of the Queen, or the wicked Queen as we have come to think of her from the tales we have previously read. In this depiction of Snow White, Blood Red the Queen is actually the "good guy" in the story trying to love the monster her darling beautiful daughter has grown into. In fact the Queen is trying to protect the rest of the court and visiting Royalty from Snow White. Snow White has a taste and fascination for blood, the look, the feel and the taste! Yes, Snow White is a Vampire!
I liked the conversational style of the prequel and it certainly made me want to read much more of that tale. I found it quirky and fun to read and I thought it really good how the original tale is turned on its head and its actually Snow White who is the dangerous one whilst having the Queen as the poor misunderstood good one!
Did I enjoy the Prequel? Yes I really did enjoy what I have read.I have actually started reading Ashes to Ashes and Cinder to Cinder and I am enjoying that one too. I will continue to read these Prequels. Would I recommend the Prequels?  Yes, these are the type of reading that can be dipped in ad out of. That's what I intend to do as I also have some booked in reading and reviewing to do. Would I want to read more of the Prequels? Yes as I have already said I would like to read the rest of the Prequels in time, dipping in and out of them. Would I want to go on and read more of the tales? Yes in time I think I will read the other Prequels. Would I read other books by Cameron Jace? I would certainly take a close look at anything written by Cameron Jace!


In reverse order here are Cameron Jace's very own favourite fairy tale's! and the reasons why they are the favourites.

In 10th Place:  The Devil and the Three Golden Hairs
       Some readers email me and ask me why I have the devil as a character in the Grimm Diaries. Others ask me why he is so funny. To answer both questions, just read this fairy tale

In 9th Place:  The Day Boy and the Night Girl by George McDonald
     A few people now about this. Do yourself a favor and read it. George was a personal friend of Lewis Carroll so the imagination is overboard. It could have been my first favorite really if it had the punch I look for in the ending.

In 8th Place:  Sleeping Beauty
     The original one is horrifying if you read it. but always enchants me is the idea of a dead girl awakened by a kiss. there is something so much creepy and lovely about it.

In 7th Place:   Beauty and the Beast
     What is beauty and what is beast? wow. I can talk about this for days.

In 6th Place:  The Six Swans
     It's epic and the Swan is a lovely creature. (not really, it can kill you, research lol)

So we are at the halfway point! Lets find out which fairy tales make the top five!

In 5th Place: Ugly Duckling
     I noticed slightly insecure kids love it immensely, so I do , too :)

In 4th Place:  The Snow Queen 
     The idea that the girl and the boy are friends and not lovers, and that she goes to search for him is enchanting, not to mention the splintered glasses.

In 3rd Place:  The Man Who Became Rich Through A Dream
     this is the inspiration to Paulo Coelho's The Alchemist. A very interesting life lesson

In 2nd Place:   East of the Sun and West of the Moon
     It's creepy but has a punch in the end that I like. I've always likes stories with brilliant endings.

And in the top spot on Number 1:   The Buried Moon
      My all times favorite by Hans Christian. It's such unique and expands all realms of imagination.

So do you agree with Cameron Jace? 
Or has Cameron missed out YOUR favourite fairytale?
I have to admit to not even having heard of some of the fairy tale's in this list.
Though one a lot of people don't seem to know that I love and Cameron has at 4th Place is The Snow Queen,I remember having a large hardbacked book full of fairy tales and it had that one at the very end and yes it's one of my top ten.
Share your favourites and why in the comments below!


Monday, 30 December 2013


ISBN:  978-1782066712
Publisher:  Heron Books, Quercus
Pages/File Size:  304pages, 2805KB
Formats Available: Paperback, E-Book
Release Date: 24th Dec 2013/2nd Jan 2014

BLURB from Goodreads
A trousseau of creative, canny, and crafty tips to plan a wedding with a difference

This is a new blueprint for brides-to-be, filled with savvy, surprising, and downright ingenious ideas that will make your wedding stand out from the crowd—not to mention some behind-the-scenes secrets that puts this guide on the side of  the bride, not the wedding industry. Want a wedding with a personal touch, not off the rack? Lusting after luxury but smart about saving? Favor a homemade feel but haven't got the know-how? Lifting the veil on everything from the entrance music to the honeymoon getaway, this guide teaches you how to dream big, shop smart, and make your own—all in the down-to-earth style of the kind of girl you'd want as your own bridesmaid. Get ready to go up the aisle in style.



Title: A Guide To Uni Life
Author: Lucy Tobin
ISBN: 978-1844552160
ASIN: B003L0Q98I
Pages/File Size: 192pages. 240KB

BLURB from Amazon.co.uk
A Guide to Uni Life is an upbeat and engaging guide book to all aspects of university life. It covers everything from surviving freshers' week to studying for your finals and includes tips and advice on how to have fun and stay healthy throughout your university life. Lucy Tobin - a recent graduate herself - gives new or potential students a real insight into what uni life will be like and how to make it the best experience you can and achieve a brilliant degree as well. The author guides new students through the university experience in a friendly way without being condescending or pretending that all you are there for is to lock yourself in the library! Students can really get the best out of their time in higher education with this helpful and entertaining book. Now fully REVISED and UPDATED including information on the huge rise in tuition fees, how to manage your money and budget during uni.  

Title:  Ausperity   
Author: Lucy Tobin
ISBN: 978-1780877686
Pages/File Size: 224pages, 676KB                                                                          
BLURB from Goodreads
We’re all feeling poor. Our wages mightn’t have risen for a long time, but taxes, food, heating, clothes, pets, driving, kids, booze, leaving the house – and paying for the privilege of living there – certainly have. Life costs more – but that doesn’t mean it has to become rubbish. No need for a hairshirt or holiday-less year: treats can stay on the agenda.

This book contains so many money-saving ideas and tips that together they’ll knock thousands off the cost of living. It’s less shiver-me-timbers-I-can’t-afford-the-heating, more ten easy tips to slash your heating bill by a third.

We’re poor, but we don’t need to be bored or boring. This book lays out how to save it – so you can squeeze more value out of your hard-earned cash.


ISBN:  978-1782066712
Publisher:  Heron Books, Quercus
Pages/File Size:  304pages, 2805KB
Formats Available: Paperback, E-Book
Release Date: 24th Dec 2013/2nd Jan 2014

BLURB from Goodreads
A trousseau of creative, canny, and crafty tips to plan a wedding with a difference

This is a new blueprint for brides-to-be, filled with savvy, surprising, and downright ingenious ideas that will make your wedding stand out from the crowd—not to mention some behind-the-scenes secrets that puts this guide on the side of  the bride, not the wedding industry. Want a wedding with a personal touch, not off the rack? Lusting after luxury but smart about saving? Favor a homemade feel but haven't got the know-how? Lifting the veil on everything from the entrance music to the honeymoon getaway, this guide teaches you how to dream big, shop smart, and make your own—all in the down-to-earth style of the kind of girl you'd want as your own bridesmaid. Get ready to go up the aisle in style.

When approaching this book, I fancied reading something non-fiction that would be interesting to a wide sector of people.Let's face saving money is something we'd all love to do more of and a Wedding = Expense, so I thought I'd read this book.

I downloaded an e-copy of this title from Netgalley in exchange for my honest review. I like the cover of the book, it could represent either a fictional or "real" wedding type of theme. Though the quote from Closer lets us know its a factual title. I also like the byline of "The Wedding Guide For A Modern Bride"  letting today's brides and grooms know it's ok to do things on a budget! I also like the feature of the grooms shoes and the brides shoes too.
Would the cover make me interested enough to pick up the book to learn more? Yes, it would, as I find the cover appealing.
So this book goes over traditions from years ago, and the practicalities of the modern day. For example in days gone by the Brides parents traditionally paid for the bulk of the wedding with perhaps the Grooms parents paying for transport or flowers. In today's modern world the Brides parents cannot realistically be expected to pay for everything and in this book it suggest sitting down with both sets of parents and discussing who can put what amount of money in the pot and then a budget is worked out. The book also suggests great ideas such as if you have an aunt or friend who is excellent at making cakes that they do your wedding cake as your wedding gift and therefore saving you money.
The book also suggests making your own DIY invitations and favours. There are really some great ideas for cheaper but more original designs.This book contains advice on the etiquette at weddings that should be adhered to, and the etiquette that can safely be left out. The book teaches traditions that perhaps your grandparents did and know as well as giving some fantastic ideas of creating your own traditions. 
One idea I have seen myself that seems to have caught on are the disposable camera's so your guests can take pics at your reception or evening party. Another thing I am also hearing more of are Individualized Guest Books, in fact not books at all, luggage tags where guests write messages, or a large photograph of the Bride & Groom (perhaps an engagement pic) that all the guests sign. And finally the last idea from the book I am going to reveal (come on I have to leave something for you to learn from the book when you purchase your very own copy) is the Fun Photobooth. It can be paid for and have professionals there, or a good friend could take pics of guests sat in a certain corner where props such as silly hats, glasses etc have been provided for the fun. I really like this idea and can see it catching on at many parties and celebrations not just Weddings.
The book is separated into Chapters on the different aspects of the Wedding, so everything is in manageable chunks. There are even internet links to sites that will be of more help too. This book should ideally be read before you get down to the nitty gritty organising of a wedding to obtain a realistic view of what both what the Bride and Groom would love to have and what they can actually afford within their budget. I'd think any Bride & Groom would find this a very "handy, helpful, handbook to happiness."
So did I enjoy the book? Yes, an excellent handbook for pre-wedding couples.          Would I recommend the book? Yes to all couple thinking of marriage, the book will "keep your feet on the ground and your heads out of the clouds" Would I read another book on a "being more thrifty theme"?  I would yes, in this modern day we all need help on where we can save money and how. Would I read more books by Lucy Tobin? I'd love to yes! Maybe I should be reading the Ausperity book!

Sunday, 29 December 2013


ISBN: 978-1604190748
Publisher:  Axios, IBPA (Independant Book Publisher's Association) 
Pages, File Size: 65pages
Formats Available: Hardcover

BLURB from Goodreads
This book begins with the following author's note: "One crisp sunny morning I was surprised to find a package left at my front door containing this book in manuscript form. Its author included a note saying that his last name was Lewis, that he had seen a book of mine, and that he had decided to adopt my name as his own. In addition, he expected me to publish his (our) book and that the cover should be "nice." I have tried to do as requested." What follows this note is a rollicking fictional memoir that takes us through the ups and downs of the mysterious author's life. And what a life it is, full to the brim with every imaginable kind of neurotic behavior. There is method to this madness. In earlier books, including the best-selling A Question of Values and its sequel The Beguiling Serpent, Lewis developed a unique theory of the emotions. The " Poor Me" Manual further develops the theory and brings it to vivid life. This is fun reading. You will often laugh out loud. But you will also learn a great deal about the emotions and about which emotional strategies work and which don't. This book would be a great gift for anybody, but especially the teenager in your life.

Being totally honest I thought this book was going to be a kind of "tongue in cheek" comedy/humorous. I wasn't totally sure what to expect but in my quest to read things "a little different perhaps to the norm" decided to give it a go.

I downloaded an e-copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for my honest review and feedback. The cover has a man crying in the rain and I would have to say the image fits the "poor me" title well. The blurb kind of confused me a little, I mean the Author found this book on his doorstep and has the same name as the original writer of this "manual". Then I thought perhaps its within the humour of the book.Then I started reading and I have to be honest I did find the book quite odd. How can I describe the book, a book of "moans and groans" perhaps. There's lots of scenarios where you would feel "poor me" and there is some comedy as part of the book but to be totally honest, I sadly just didn't gel with this book at all. I did laugh out loud in a couple of places but felt I spent more time scowling at the book really rather than enjoying it. I actually thought this was going to be like a list of scenarios something similar to what you would see on Grumpy Old Men/Women. Maybe I had the wrong idea about the book from the beginning I truly thought it to be the type of gift book you would buy as a stocking filler jokey present.
I hate saying anything bad about a book, as it is something an Author has worked long and hard on but at times whilst reading this book I felt bored and didn't even feel that pull of excitement to read more of the book.
So did I enjoy the book? It was okay. Would I recommend the book? Sadly no. Would I read another book of this type of theme? I have read titles such as Grumpy old ....this or that. I also have an e-copy of Grumpy Old Menopause to read which I'm hoping to enjoy more that I did this one. Would I read another book by this Author? Truthfully going on my experience with this book, no I wouldn't. It was Ok hence the two stars on Goodreads.


BLURB from Goodreads
Her mother is in labour. 
The guests are due to arrive any minute for her great-grandfather's 100th birthday party. 
And she hasn't a clue how to cook a turkey. 
Why did the man of her dreams have to show up on her doorstep now?
Sadie Dawson is overwhelmed--and that's putting it lightly--but with the help of her two best friends she just might pull it off and land Mr. Right too.

***A novelette of approximately 11,000 words or 44 pages***



When did you first consider yourself as a "writer"?
I think I was six or seven years old when I first starting thinking of myself as a writer. I loved to draw and I loved to make up stories for my drawings. I created my first picture book around that age, “The Little House in Backwards Town,” and bound it with cardboard covers from a cracker box. So I’ve pretty much always considered myself a writer. But I didn’t consider myself an “author” until I had my first short story, Listen to the Rain, published in 2003.

Do you have plans for a new book? Is this book part of a series?
Yup and yup. This book is the first in The DIY Dating series that follows three friends, Sadie, Fen, and April, as they navigate adulthood, romance, and friendship—all with hilarious results. Book Two, How to Knit a Tangled Mess, will be available Spring 2013.

How do you come up with the Title for your book/books?
Titles come to me any number of ways. Sometimes a catchy title pops into my head and I just have to write a story to go with it. This happened with my yet-to-be-published middle-grade novels: The Rabbit Ate My Homework and Evil Teddy Bears Are Plotting to Take Over the World.
If a title doesn't come to me before the story is completed, I'll go back after the fact and comb through it to find a descriptive phrase or line that fits the story.
Listen to the Rain and For Good or For Bad were both titled this way. Sometimes I choose a symbol, image, or object that represents the story like I did with The Perfect Ring and Fallen Leaves

Who designed the Cover of your books?
I design my own covers. Along with being a writer, I’m also a book cover designer. You can check out my work here: http://www.litteradesigns.com

Do you read all the reviews of your book/books?
I probably shouldn’t, but I do. It can be quite disappointing to learn a reader didn’t enjoy one of my stories and a bad review can leave me feeling pretty down in the dumps. But when one of my stories really touches a reader or they really connect with the characters or it just gives them a good laugh, then it really makes it worthwhile.

Would you ever ask a reviewer to change their review if it was not all positive about your book/books?
No, never. Every reviewer is entitled to their opinion.

Which format of book do you prefer, ebook, hardback, or paperback?
I actually don’t have a preference. Lately, I’ve been reading a lot of ebooks because they’re just so easy to download. No need to go out to the bookstore or library!

Do you think ebooks will ever totally replace printed books?
Nope. I think they’ll eventually replace most mass market paperbacks, but I think there will always be a market for hardcover and trade paperbacks.

Did you have a favourite author as a child?
Gordon Korman. I still love his books. To this day, my favourite book of his is I Want to Go Home, seconded only by No More Dead Dogs.

Do you have a favourite genre of book?
I enjoy a lot of genres, including chick lit, women’s fiction, young adult (especially dystopian), historical fiction, and literary fiction. But my absolute, most favourite genre ever has to be humorous contemporary middle grade.

Where can readers follow you?

Your Blog Details?

Your Web Site?

Your Facebook Page?

Your Goodreads Author Page?

Your Twitter Details?

Your Amazon Author Page?


What is your name, where were you born and where do you live now?
My name is William E. Harlan, or Billy. I was born in Austin, Texas and I live in Houston, Texas.

Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?
I did not. When I was young, I was sure I was going to be a comic book artist. In college I studied sculpture and after that got a culinary degree. Then I was working in a kitchen, started up a band, wrote a few songs and sang a lot. I enjoy making things and artistic interpretation. Writing was the last thing I tried.

When did you first consider yourself as a "writer"?
It was about halfway through this first book. I was a stay at home dad and writing about seventy hours a week. I was always thinking about it and ducking away from things to jot a few ideas down, sometimes waking up in the middle of the night and rushing to my computer. It's the biggest thing I've ever done but it never felt like work.

Do you work another job as well as your writing work?
Now, yes. I'm a cook at Pappadeaux, an upscale and terrifically busy Cajun seafood restaurant chain. It's not as easy to write after fifty back-destroying hours a week in that kitchen. The stay at home dad thing was easy.

What is the name of your latest book, and if you had to summarise it in less than 20 words what would you say?
It's titled "Antioch." In 20 words, it's a slash and blast, medieval-meets-steam-punk zombie romp that questions the existence of God.

Do you have plans for a new book? Is this book part of a series?
Antioch is the first book of "The Circle," a series about a group of knightly mystics who call themselves paladins, and the secret they guard. I'm currently working on the second book, Golgotha.

What genre would you place your books into?
Low-fantasy - not too much magic, royalty or destiny but plenty of sword fighting, monsters and food.

What made you decide to write that genre of book?
I love role playing games like Dungeons and Dragons and World of Warcraft. I'm writing a world I would enjoy playing in.

Do you read all the reviews of your book/books?
Yes, fanatically.

What was the toughest/best review you have ever had?
The best review I've gotten was from a stranger who loved it. The worst was from my older brother, who was one of my beta readers. That one broke my heart.

Would you ever ask a reviewer to change their review if it was not all positive about your book/books?
Absolutely not! I gather up all my bad reviews and post them on my website in a section called "F'n-A! Reviews - Reviews that exist in lieu of a big, red "Electrocute Author" button."
Link: http://www.williameharlan.com/fn-a-reviews/
Of course, I haven't gotten a bad review I agree with yet...


"Armageddon is arrived."

Threatened by an unnatural plague that raises the dead, an ancient order of mystics must choose between keeping its secrets and saving humanity.

Kind of like Star Wars with zombies.

How do you come up with the Title and Cover Designs for your book/books? Who designed the Cover of your books?
I drew and painted the cover.
It's an interpretation of the book's content.

What is your favourite book and Why?  Have you read it more than once?
Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton. It's exciting and horrific. I only read it once, but it was one sitting - up all night and then staying home from school the next day. I couldn't put that book down!

Your Website?

Your Facebook Page?

Your Goodreads Author Page?

Your Twitter Details?

And any other information you wish to supply?
I've been illustrating and reading a chapter of Antioch each week and posting it on my website as a free, downloadable audiobook. I just finished chapter sixteen. Halfway done!

Saturday, 28 December 2013


BLURB from Goodreads
From the After Life, ten-year-old Andy Smithson’s relatives initiated a curse 500 years ago. Now they no longer agree it should continue and one is willing to sacrifice Andy’s life to end it. Unaware of the disagreement and with no say in the matter, Andy is unexpectedly and magically transported from his home. He finds himself in the Land of Oomaldee, facing mortal danger at every turn as he seeks to find a scale from a rare red dragon, the most ferocious of dragon species, to break the curse and save his life.

Purchase Link


What is your name, where were you born and where do you live now?
My name is L. R. W. Lee.  I was born in Upstate New York and I currently live in scenic Austin, TX with my husband, daughter and son.

Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?
While I wanted to write a children’s novel since age 8, I never thought of myself pursuing writing as a career.  Growing up, due to the influence of the book Zoo Vet (no longer in print) and James Harriet’s All Things series, I wanted to be a vet of exotic animals.

When did you first consider yourself as a "writer"?  
It’s only been a little over a year since I declared myself an author, pursuing writing as a career.

Do you work another job as well as your writing work? 
I began writing after I sold the company I founded and grew for 12 years.

What is the name of your latest book, and if you had to summarise it in less than 20 words what would you say?
My latest book is Andy Smithson: Blast of the Dragon’s Fury, Book 1.  It is the first in a planned series of 7 books.  I summarize my book as follows: Ten-year-old boy magically brought to Land of Oomaldee to break 500-yr-old curse cast by dead relatives.

Who is your publisher? or do you self publish?
I self published

How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?
This book took me ten months from concept to completion

What can we expect from you in the future?  ie More books of the same genre? Books of a different genre?
Definitely more books of same genre for now.  I love writing for middle grade, although since this is a coming-of-age series, I will be moving into YA before the series is complete.

What genre would you place your books into?
Middle grade fantasy adventure

What made you decide to write that genre of book?
Growing up, I was influenced by CS Lewis’ The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe.  I loved how Lewis had multiple plots moving simultaneously through his work.  I loved the complexity that I saw and was hooked.  I wanted to do that, too!

Do you have a favourite character from your books? and why are they your favourite?
I love Mermin, the wizard.  He is an sweet, old man who is always trying, despite his challenges be they a too-big clothes, a lisp, inventions that don’t work and more.  He is an authentic, charming self.

If you had to choose to be one of your characters in your book/books which would you be? and why?
I would be the King because he has been through so much and learned a ton.  I can identify with his short-comings although I haven’t killed anyone – oh my!

Where do you get your book plot ideas from?What/Who is your inspiration?
Ideas come from all sorts of places.  I get a lot of ideas from books I read, my family (even though they hate being in my books
J), driving down the road and more.

Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? ie You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?
I like to listen to music without words (if the music has words I get distracted and find myself listening to music and not writing
J).  I love to have a hot cup of decaf coffee at the table I use for my desk, looking out the window at the lake  that we have a view of…  great mood producer to be creative.

Do you have anybody read your books and give you reviews before you officially release them?ie. Your partner, children, friends, reviewers you know?
Absolutely!  I have several reviewers who read and offer suggestions, both friends as well as an editor and reviewers I have met over time.

Do you gift books to readers to do reviews?

Do you read all the reviews of your book/books?
Absolutely!  Every single review I read.

What was the toughest/best review you have ever had?
I had a reviewer give me a 3-star review.  I was able to contact him.  He was objecting to Mermin’s lisp throughout the book.  He thought it was ‘baby talk’.  When I explained it was a lisp, he upped the review to 5-stars and apologized for “being asleep” the first time through!  I was thrilled!!

How do you come up with the Title and Cover Designs for your book/books?Who designed the Cover of your books?
The title I came up with.  Since I was working with a series, I knew I needed to have a common naming convention for all the books in the series.  So, I titled all seven books at once before publishing the first.  I knew I wanted a title that would sound ominous, since middle grade readers LOVE that!  As for the book cover, I had it professionally designed although I had considerable input and final approval.  I wanted a cover that would make it stand out from all the other similar books being sold.

Do you choose a title first, or write the book then choose the title?
I wrote the book and then picked the title for this one.  The second book is the opposite.  Not sure which is easier.

How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?
Naming characters is a lot of fun for me and, based upon comments in reviews, I believe readers love my approach.  Many names are meanings for the role the character.  For example, the protagonist’s best friend’s name Alden,  means ‘helper’.  Some names are derivations of names from mythology, like Mermin.  The King’s name, Hercalon, is a derivation of Hercules, which describes his character’s initial assessment of himself as strong and indestructible.  Some names are little used words in English.  An example, in Book 2, I introduce the Bellicose.  Bellicose means prone to attack, waring.

Are character names and place names decided after their creation? or do you pick a character/place name and then invent them?
I select the name based upon the role a character will play in the story line.

Do you decide on character traits (ie shy, quiet, tomboy girl) before writing the whole book or as you go along?
I look at what personality a character needs in order to accomplish their role and then invent accordingly.

Do you basic plot/plan for your book, before you actually begin writing it out? Or do you let the writing flow and see where it takes the story?
I have a detailed chapter outline in place that answers the questions “what is the purpose of this chapter in the story?” as well as “how does it move the plot along?” and “what action happens in this chapter that contributes to the plot?” before I ever start writing.  This helps make sure I achieve the goal of the chapter.  Some people think this means my characters don’t have much room to evolve.  Not so.  I find that with boundaries in place, my characters are free to evolve.  They get more ornery, more boisterous, shier and more as a result.

What do you think makes a book a really good/bestseller ?
Good marketing!  You can write an okay book and marketed well, it will shine.  You can write an outstanding book without marketing and it will not sell many copies.

Have you ever suffered from a "writer's block"? What did you do to get past the "block"?
Writer’s “block” as many refer to it is just a missing narrative.  It’s not really a “block”.  I choose to think of it that way as it removes the “fixedness” of the concept of a “block”.  When I observe I am missing a narrative, I let that part “marinate” for a bit.  I know that my brain will eventually invent a possibility for a missing narrative and off we’ll go once again.  I think the more an author stresses over a missing narrative, the harder they make it to invent one.  Don’t sweat it!

What do you do to unwind and relax? Do you have a hobby?
I love vacationing in Hawaii, a good cup of decaf French-press coffee, kinetic art (that’s art that moves!), Ansel Adams photographs and watching The Sound of Music, my absolute favorite musical to name a few.

Have you ever based characters on people you know or based events on things that have happened to you?
Yes.  The main character, Andy, is based upon my son.  His parents are based upon myself and my husband.

Are there any hidden messages or morals contained in your books? (Morals as in like Aesops Fables type of "The moral of this story is..")
Absolutely!  This is why I wrote the book in the first place.  Through personal experiences working with a mentor while growing my company, I learned many life principles that made my life significantly more peaceful and enjoyable including overcoming frustration, impatience, fear and more.  I am passionate about sharing these narratives with my readers in hopes that their lives can be improved as a result of reading my book.

Which format of book do you prefer, ebook,hardback, or paperback?
I don’t have a preference although I do like the instant download ability of eBooks!

What is your favourite book and Why?  Have you read it more than once?
I would have to say the Harry Potter series is my favorite because I love studying how Rowling constructed her work.   I’ve read all the books several times.

What are you currently reading? Are you enjoying it? What format is it?(ebook, hardback or paperback)
Funny enough, I’m rereading a Harry Potter book.

Do you think ebooks will ever totally replace printed books?
No.  There are some folks who just prefer the feel of a paper book.  I think that will always be the case.

Do you think children at schools these days are encouraged enough to read? and/or do Imaginative writing?
Debatable.  I think TV and video games have taken over the creative process that books used to cultivate.  Now, kids are entertained without having to invent anything.  That is dangerous.  Innovation is critical to one’s future success in life.

Did you have a favourite author as a child?
CS Lewis

Do you have a treasured book from your childhood? If yes, what is it?
Secret Garden, Lion, Witch and the Wardrobe

Do you have a favourite genre of book?
Children’s fantasy

Is there a book you know you will never read? Or one you tried to read but just couldn't finish?

What piece of advice would you give to a new writer?
Be committed to the message you are passionate about sharing with others.  If you aren’t passionate about it, no one else will be and chances are, in the midst of rejections, you could give up.

Do you or would you ever use a pen name?
I do.  My pen name is L. R. W. Lee

If you could invite three favourite writers to dinner, who would you invite and enjoy chatting with?
JRR Tolkien, CS Lewis, JK Rowling

Where can readers follow you?
Your web site ?  
Your facebook page? 
Your Goodreads author page?  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7047233.L_R_W_Lee

Your Twitter details?