Wednesday, 27 July 2016

PROMOTION - BEAUTIFUL SCARS BY KILEE BROOKBANK & LORI HIGHLANDER

Title: Beautiful Scars
Authors: Kilee Brookbank & Lori Highlander
Genre: Memoir
Release Date: 17th May 2016

BLURB supplied by PR by the Book
In November 2014, 16-year-old Kilee Brookbank’s home exploded in a fire that burned 45 percent of her body and sent her to the brink of death. (Her dog Digger woke Kilee after she was knocked unconscious, and she was able to escape.) Kilee spent 38 days in Shriners Hospital for Children-Cincinnati, recovering from second- and third-degree burns and enduring multiple surgeries and skin grafts.

Kilee, now 18, and her mother, Lori Highlander, have chronicled their parallel experiences of that unforgettable day, the aftermath and healing in the book Beautiful Scars.


PURCHASE LINK

PRAISE FOR THE BOOK
“It took me many years—decades even—to embrace my fire, my scars, my story, my gifts—the way that Kilee has naturally done in just a few short years. Beautiful Scars is a reminder that we don’t always get to choose the path we walk in life, but we can always choose the manner in which we walk it.”
—John O’Leary, inspirational speaker and bestselling author of 
ON FIRE: The 7 Choices to Ignite a Radically Inspired Life




In a fairytale twist, Kilee was named prom queen this past May (see the story in Seventeen). She has graduated from high school and will be attending Xavier University in Cincinnati this fall.








To help other families of burn survivors, Kilee and her family have created the
hosting events to raise money for Shriners Hospitals for Children - Cincinnati. 
A portion of the proceeds from Beautiful Scars also will benefit Shriners’ Cincinnati facility.

Tuesday, 26 July 2016

RELEASE DAY PROMOTION - THE ANGELS' SHARE - THE BOURBON KINGS BY J.R. WARD

The second in a new series by JR Ward . . . 
the story of a dynasty driven by power, money and scandal . . . 

"Behind the glamorous facade of Kentucky's most famous family lurks a secret . ....one that threatens its very foundation . . . "
Title: The Angels' Share
Series: The Bourbon Kings
Author: J.R. Ward
Publisher: Piatkus, Little Brown Books Group
Genre: Adult, Contemporary Romance, Family, Suspense
Release Date: 26th July 2016

BLURB supplied by Little Brown Books
In Charlemont, Kentucky, the Bradford family is the crème de la crème of high society – just like their exclusive brand of bourbon. And their complicated lives and vast estate are run by discrete staff who inevitably become embroiled in their affairs. This is especially true now, when the apparent suicide of the family patriarch is starting to look more and more like murder.

No one is above suspicion – especially the eldest Bradford son, Edward. The bad blood between him and his father is known far and wide, and he is aware that he could be named a suspect. As the investigation into the death intensifies, he keeps himself busy at the bottom of a bottle – as well as with his former horse trainer’s daughter. Meanwhile, the family’s financial future lies in the perfectly manicured hands of a business rival, a woman who wants Edward all to herself.

Everything has consequences; everybody has secrets. And few can be trusted. Then, at the very brink of the family’s demise, someone thought lost to them forever returns to the fold. Maxwell Bradford has come home. But is he a saviour . . . or the worst of all the sinners?

Goodreads Link

PURCHASE LINKS

PRAISE FOR 
THE ANGEL'S SHARE

‘Get ready for summer’s most sinful indulgence. The drama never stops in this tale of family secrets, lost love found, rivalries, delightfully nasty villains, and deliciously appealing heroes. Put on your derby hat and join in the fun’ 
New York Times bestselling author Susan Wiggs 

Breathless fun! J. R. Ward moves her trademark dark and sexy from the world of warrior vampires to the halls of the Kentucky elite, where the family members’ claws are just as sharp and the consequences just as deadly. I couldn’t stop turning the pages!’
New York Times bestselling author Lisa Gardner

‘Dallas’ meets ‘Downton Abbey’... This is high drama, and it’s mesmerizing Fresh Fiction 

‘I want my “Bourbon” in bed! J. R. Ward delivers a sweeping saga where family roots run deep and passion sizzles hotter than a Kentucky summer. Potent and heady, 
one taste just isn’t enough’  New York Times bestselling author Gena Showalter 

‘The drama and dark secrets behind the Bradford family’s empire propel this irresistible story of high-society scandal . . . a read that’s rich, smooth, and satisfying as a glass of Kentucky bourbon’  - New York Times bestselling author Susan Elizabeth Phillips 

‘Soapy elements abound in this Dynasty-esque tale, from lavish wealth to feuds, dirty secrets, and forbidden love. Ward is a master of pacing and world building, and readers will love that the cliff-hanger ending guarantees at least a second helping of the Bradfords’ Booklist (starred review)

REST OF THE SERIES SO FAR . . . 


"Featured below is the first novel in what has been described as an enthralling series set amid the shifting dynamics of a Southern family defined by wealth and privilege—and compromised by secrets, deceit, and scandal.... "

Title: The Bourbon Kings
Series: The Bourbon Kings
Author: J.R. Ward
Genre: Adult, Contemporary Romance, Family, Suspense
Release Date: 28th July 2015

BLURB from Goodreads
For generations, the Bradford family has worn the mantle of kings of the bourbon capital of the world. Their sustained wealth has afforded them prestige and privilege—as well as a hard-won division of class on their sprawling estate, Easterly. Upstairs, a dynasty that by all appearances plays by the rules of good fortune and good taste. Downstairs, the staff who work tirelessly to maintain the impeccable Bradford facade. And never the twain shall meet.

For Lizzie King, Easterly’s head gardener, crossing that divide nearly ruined her life. Falling in love with Tulane, the prodigal son of the bourbon dynasty, was nothing that she intended or wanted—and their bitter breakup only served to prove her instincts were right. Now, after two years of staying away, Tulane is finally coming home again, and he is bringing the past with him. No one will be left unmarked: not Tulane’s beautiful and ruthless wife; not his older brother, whose bitterness and bad blood know no bounds; and especially not the ironfisted Bradford patriarch, a man with few morals, fewer scruples, and many, many terrible secrets.

As family tensions—professional and intimately private—ignite, Easterly and all its inhabitants are thrown into the grips of an irrevocable transformation, and only the cunning will survive.


PURCHASE LINKS

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
J. R. Ward is the author of more than twenty previous novels, including those in her No. 1 New York Times bestselling series, The Black Dagger Brotherhood. There are more than fifteen million copies of Ward’s novels in print worldwide, and they have been published in twenty-five different countries around the world. She lives in the South with her family.

AUTHOR LINKS

 OTHER BOOK TITLES/SERIES

BLACK DAGGER BROTHERHOOD

BLACK DAGGER

FALLEN ANGELS

BLACK DAGGER LEGACY

Monday, 25 July 2016

REVIEW - OPERATIVE - INSURRECTION SERIES BY ANELA DEEN

Title: Operative
Series: Insurrection Bk2
Author: A. Deen
Release Date: 13th May 2016

BLURB from Goodreads
In a not so distant future, an unprepared humanity barely managed to repel the Locusts when they invaded Earth. But the long war left its mark on mankind and the Establishment was founded to ensure it would never come so close to destruction from an alien force again. Now, decades later, the world is run by this single governing entity. Loyalty is rewarded. Disloyalty is met with corrective action. 

For Ellie, the job of an analyst was simple: Evaluate her target’s patterns, make a virtual connection, garner trust, and ascertain identity and location. Falling in love with the Albatross — the Establishment’s most notorious subversive and leader of the insurgency — complicates matters. Now she’ll have to decide which to betray: her duty or her heart.


PURCHASE LINKS

INITIAL THOUGHTS
After reading Subversive, I was really looking forward to reading more of this novella series. I definitely want to learn more about the mysterious Albatross.

THOUGHTS WHILST READING
Who is this person behind the mystifying, elusive and enigmatic name & image of the "Albatross" who leads the insurgency against the all powerful "establishment"? What is his real name? Who was he before he became the Albatross?

MY REVIEW
I received a free e-copy of this novella, directly from the author in exchange for my honest review. The cover is again simplistic, what else can I say really as it's the same as the previous novella cover. At least the covers can be seen as a "matching" set.
So would the cover make me pick this one up from a book store shelf? As I said about the cover of Subversive, I probably not on the cover alone. . .though I reckon I would want to read the blurb after seeing the genre the book would be filed under, so yep I'd pick the book up from a shelf to look at and learn more about it.
This book quite literally picks up a few minutes in time after Subversive ends. Ellie is regaining consciousness, wondering where she is and what has happened. She vaguely remembers being hit hard by a guard, her head feeling like it would explode and then black nothingness until now.. . .then she notices the presence of a male with fair hair, slumped back in his chair at her bedside, his head and chin tucked down onto his chest sleeping.
In this book we witness Ellie discovering more about the young man sleeping by her bedside also known as the Albatross. He trustingly gives her his real name, and disregards her past with the "establishment" taking her at her word, or rather the words they have both exchanged over the past 6 months. Is the Albatross making a big mistake in being so trusting of the still fairly naive new establishment operative Ellie? 
Ellie is also worried about her brother Gemson, who had aided her escape with the Albatross. It seemed strange to her that her brother who had been a strong part of the establishment would even consider aiding the insurgents. Could he have been about to join them? Where was he now? Had the establishment killed him for aiding her? Could the insurgents have a point about the establishment being so restrictive and authoritative? Surely the establishment is needed in case the locusts ever return? These are just a few of the questions Ellie asks herself during this novella.
We also discover secrets about the backgrounds of both Ellie and the Albatross in this novella. Once again the action within the novella keeps you at the edge of your seat, eagerly reading on, I could have read on and on. I also feel I could talk and talk about this novella series and its characters. This novella does answer some of the questions raised in Subversive, but also rises many, many more that need to be explored in the next episode of this engaging novella series.

FINAL THOUGHTS
Another great installment in this amazingly addictive novella series. Looking forward to reading more! In fact as I finished reading this one I went straight on Amazon UK to purchase Inquisitor!


THE REST OF THE 

INSURRECTION SERIES SO FAR. . . 

Book One
Title: Subversive
Series: Insurrection Bk1
Release Date: 2nd April 2016

BLURB from Goodreads
In a not so distant future, an unprepared humanity barely managed to repel the Locusts when they invaded Earth. But the long war left its mark on mankind and the Establishment was founded to ensure it would never come so close to destruction from an alien force again. Now, decades later, the world is run by this single governing entity. Loyalty is rewarded. Disloyalty is met with corrective action. 

As an inquisitor for the past twenty years, Gemson used torture and interrogation to root out subversives. He’d worked hard to earn his cold, hard reputation. Now he finds himself on the subject’s side of the interrogation table. Loyalty? Some bonds transcend the laws of state.


PURCHASE LINKS

Book Three
Title: Inquisitor
Series: Insurrection Bk3
Release Date: 15th July 2016

BLURB from Goodreads
In a not so distant future, an unprepared humanity barely managed to repel the Locusts when they invaded Earth. But the long war left its mark on mankind and the Establishment was founded to ensure it would never come so close to destruction from an alien force again. Now, decades later, the world is run by this single governing entity. Loyalty is rewarded. Disloyalty is met with corrective action. 

Before the war, they called Harlow the Butcher. The Establishment calls him Inquisitor and he’s been handed his most intriguing subject: the Albatross, leader of the insurgency. But strange orders frustrate Harlow’s work. When an unexpected visitor arrives with an interesting proposition, Harlow might have the solution he needs. If not, well, his knives don’t care where the screams come from.


PURCHASE LINKS


BOOK BLITZ & GIVEAWAY - DAEMONEUM - THE PRIMORDIAL PRINCIPLES BY LANEY MCMANN

Title: Daemoneum  
Series: The Primordial Principles #2
Author: Laney McMann 
Genres: 
Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
Publication date: July 22nd 2016

BLURB supplied by Xpresso Book Tours
Boulder, Colorado is too quiet, and no one needs to remind Cole Spires how unnatural that is.
In the aftermath of Dracon’s death, the Daemoneum have gone into hiding. Every known Hive has been shut down and evacuated, and for the first time in Cole’s memory, the Brotherhood, Kinship, and all common houses across the country and abroad are considering  lockdown. Leygates are being systematically closed around the world, and the Primordial are waiting …
In the bunker underneath the Brotherhood, Kade Sparrow is as safe as she can possibly be, or that’s the idea, but no one can explain how her Astrum necklace found its way into her bedroom. There were no footprints, no traces of breaking and entering, no evidence of any kind that someone had infiltrated the Brotherhood common house. Yet the necklace still sat on her night stand, wound in a perfect circle of gold, the tiny star glinting on its chain. And the only person who could have put it there … is dead.
In the second installment of The Primordial Principles, strange occurrences are happening across the globe. Relationships will be tested, old players will become new, foes will turn into allies, and an unlikely adversary will force Cole and Kade to go on the run.
As the fallen rise, the Primordial must unite as one.
Or all could be lost.


PURCHASE LINKS

PURCHASE LINKS for Bk Crystallum


ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Laney McMann is the author of 
The Fire Born Novels, The Primordial Principles
and The CrossWorld Chronicles (coming soon) 

The product of very creative parents and the most imaginative grandmother ever, she has an untapped passion for the supernatural and all things magical. Her voracious appetite for reading fantasy started really young ~ and so did her love of words. 

She writes young adult dark urban fantasy novels mixed with a spike of romance, a hint of history, a dash of mythology, and lots of paranormal. 

On the non-writing side of life, Laney is a former classical dancer, music snob, chef, and a right-brained thinker to a fault. When she's not dreaming up new dead ends to torture herself with, she spends her time running and playing her music way too loud. 

Laney is published by J. Taylor Publishing and formerly by Booktrope Publishing.

AUTHOR LINKS


PLAYLIST

Crystallum
Daemonuem
TEASERS

CRYSTALLUM

Plumb stood in the driveway, hands on her hips, a piece of bright yellow paper in her hand. Cole groaned, exhausted, as he made his way toward her. The only light was a dim one above the front door on the Brotherhood's front porch.
Plumb waved the paper in the air. "It's four fifteen in the morning, and I'm afraid to even venture why I received a notice for you to appear in front of the Warden later today. And Danny has nothing to say, which could only mean one thing—" Plumb looked him up and down. "With the condition you're in, I'm not sure I want to know where you've been."
"You probably don't." Cole held his hand out for the summons.
Plumb handed the paper over, scowling, and Cole slipped it, unopened, into his pocket.
"Are you going to tell me where you've been?"
"Thought you didn't want to know." He walked toward the porch. There was a time, when Cole was much younger, that he never would have spoken so bluntly to his Lead, but those days, buried by all of his new responsibilities within the Ward, had faded. They were close to equals now, even though Plumb was about fifteen years older.
“Cole."
"I'm tired as hell. I've been up all night." He turned to face her. "Okay? I need to get some sleep."
"What were you doing in the middle of the night that the Principals couldn't handle?"
"A girl."
"Excuse me?"
"No...I, no, I wasn't doing a girl. She just...never mind." He headed for the door, flustered. The last thing he needed to do was think about Kadence like that. 

***

DAEMONEUM

“Promise me something?” Cole whispered against her mouth, his hand gripping hers tighter.
“Anything.”
“Don’t let go.” His free hand whipped to the side, and a geyser of pure red energy erupted from the ground at their feet. The sound rushed in Kade’s ears like hurricane force winds, and her free arm immediately went around Cole’s waist, holding his body tight against hers. “Close your eyes.”
She did, and he kissed her again, hard. His warm lips parted her own, his tongue found hers, and Kade yielded to him completely, their bodies molding together. The swirling gush of energy consumed them in a spinning crackle of deafening electricity.
Kade’s body lifted from the ground, and spun, pressed against Cole’s, and he never stopped kissing her, only pulled her closer, tighter, as they disappeared from the field, from Colorado, from everything she knew. 

 ***
***GIVEAWAY***
3 e-copies of 
Crystallum & Daemoneum



Friday, 22 July 2016

REVIEW & INTERVIEW - RECOIL - RECOIL TRILOGY BY JOANNE MACGREGOR

Title: Recoil
Author: Recoil Trilogy
Series: Joanne Macgregor
Genre: Sci-Fi, Dystopian
Release Date: 14th May 2016

BLURB from Goodreads
When a skilled gamer gets recruited as a sniper in the war against a terrorist-produced pandemic, she discovers there’s more than one enemy and more than one war. The Game is real.

Three years after a series of terrorist attacks flooded the US with a lethal plague, society has changed radically. 

Sixteen year-old Jinxy James spends her days trapped at home – immersed in virtual reality, worrying about the plague and longing for freedom. Then she wins a war simulation game and is recruited into a top-secret organisation where talented teenagers are trained to become agents in the war on terror. Eager to escape her mother’s over-protectiveness and to serve her country, Jinxy enlists and becomes an expert sniper of infected mutant rats.

She’s immediately drawn to Quinn O’Riley, a charming and subversive intelligence analyst who knows more about the new order of government and society than he is telling. Then a shocking revelation forces Jinxy to make an impossible decision, and she risks losing everything.


PURCHASE LINKS

INITIAL THOUGHTS
The Blurb made me instantly curious to know more about the game that teaches the skills need to become a sniper.. Jinxy is what you'd have to call a prolific, highly addicted gamer, who goes without food and drink to have more gaming time.

THOUGHTS WHILST READING
3%   So Jinxy has finally won......the ultimate gamer experience.
18%   So what does Sarge mean with the comment he mutters under his breath? . .
22%   Jinx is out from being stuck at home, in ASTA training to ....well she isn't sure yet. she also now has two admirers, the unwelcome attentions of Bruce and the more welcome attention n flirtation from Quinn

61%   What was in Let's text? Why is Quinn so against the snipers?"

REVIEW
The cover features a close up of a female with piercing blue eyes that in my opinion has to be Jinxy Emma James. The face has what I would describe as a shocked, stunned, maybe even scared look, which also encourages you to be inquisitive about who she is, what her life is like etc. I love the font style of the book title and author name. The way the O in Recoil is made into a snipers cross hairs on a gun is brilliant.There is also a by line on this book which says "The Game Is Real_", it really fits the book very well. (You'll know what I mean when you read the book) I also like the font of the byline which is in what I can only describe as "computer style"  So would the cover make me pick this book up from a book store shelf? Yes, those eyes make you want to learn more,
I have already mentioned the name of the main character Jinxy James, but now I'll share a little about her. Jinxy is 16 years old, has piercing blue eyes and blonde hair with bright cobalt streaks in her hair. Jinx was the last one to be born of the twins, yet I think in the book she comes across as though she is the older sibling, feeling protective over her brother.. Jinx lives at home with her mother, Marion, and her identical twin brother Robin. Her father died some time ago and their mother never seemed to recover. Their life is a very contained, perhaps monotonous life, sort of trapped in her own house. The main reason for this quite reclusive lifestyle is due to a virus. To be totally honest, this book is not as far fetched and futuristic as you initially think when you are about to begin reading this book. With our present day atrocities and terrorism parts of this book are quite believable. Another more comedic similarity is when Jinxy is flicking through TV channels to try to find something she would like to watch and she has the following thought "442 channels to watch but nothing that catches her interest."
To attempt to control the virus spreading the US has split itself into just three mega sections/sectors, Northeast, the Mid & West and the final one being the South. There are three remote highest security prisons have been re-opened and put back into use. The three resurrected prisons are Guantanamo Bay, Alcatraz, and Florence ADX. This maybe coincidental recurrence number three made me think of the superstition of "bad things come in threes". 
All members of society have to take precautions when outside, they must use (PPE) Personal Protection Equipment, which consist of varying degrees of defense against the virus such as masks, gloves and even disposable suits to go over your clothes and then be thrown away as you go through the whole decontamination pod and procedure.
Jinx enjoys playing the most popular game out at the moment. the game is so popular because there is a way to play it for everyone. Jinxy is heavily addicted to playing the game as a sniper, whereas her brother Robin enjoys playing the game as a programmer.
Jinx has been trying to shoot a particularly skilled, evasive  character in the game called called Jakhill. Jinx has been on this mission to kill Jakhil for a long time, she cuts everything around her off and fully immerses herself into the game not stopping for either food or drink, not even for sweets or chocolate. Without going into detail Jinxy takes that "killer shot" and she. . .wins!! Her prize is to go to Play State HQ to see where the game was made and trialed and along with other winners she will get to play the game and the "ultimate" gamer experience. Now her next difficult task is to get her mum to sign the form to allow her to go visit Play State.
Only when she has the "ultimate experience" she discovers that the game is some kind of recruitment ploy for the government. Once again Jinx is faced by paperwork she needs to get her mother Marion to sign to allow her to continue on this new path. 
This new direction Jinx life has taken gives her the opportunity to have friends and this is where she meets a guy who she really likes called Quinn.
In the training program people are tested on their fitness etc and then separated into teams. 
Sadly for Jinx Quinn is put into Blue Team, whilst Jinx is in Black Team (checkout my opinion of Black Team and their strengths. Upon training they are given divisional badges which make them identifiable to one another as to what they are expert in,  And that's as far as I am going to share with you as to go on, and believe me I could go on and on and on about this book would reveal and spoil things for you reading the book yourselves. 
The book begins at what I would describe as a medium pace, and maintains that as the plot unfolds. There is action, danger, betrayal, suspense, family secrets, government secrets and female characters kicking butt! So I think there's something for everyone in this book. I thoroughly enjoyed, it kept me wanting to read all the way, there were no slow irritating bits at all. There is so much more to learn about, this world, the society, the government etc. This series has loads more potential! This is a book that I could talk and talk about even more. I keep saying to my daughter she must read it, then I can bend her ear about the book and the potential plot twists to come even more!!
Did I I enjoy the book? Simply put Yes!! Would I recommend this book? Definitely, I think it will appear to a wide audience. Whether you love post apocalyptic/dystopian sci-fi or your new to reading these genres I'd recommend this book. Would I want to read another book in this series? Yes please! and it's not so long now until Refuse is released! Would I want to read other titles by this author? Oh yes, I have another one of her titles on my kindle to read as soon as I can get time to.

FINAL THOUGHTS
Wow! lots of danger, action, mystery, secrets, lies and betrayal. Who is telling the real truth and who is hiding behind a facade of lies. Oh and there's a smidgeon of romance too! Ooo and book two is released too soon.

AUTHOR INTERVIEW
Where did you get your book/book series idea's from? Who/What is your inspiration for the Recoil Trilogy?
A couple of ideas came together to inspire this trilogy. I was watching a documentary about marine snipers, who came across as really detached from the fact that they were taking lives, and I wondered what it would be like to be an excellent marksman, yet hate hurting living things. At the time, the Ebola epidemic was at its height, and so that wound its way into the idea of the plague. In a broader sense, there are some political developments in the world that have me deeply concerned, and so I wanted to explore these in the form of a dystopian.
(As a reader it was a quite thought provoking read ~ Jeanz) 

How did you come up with the Title for your Recoil Trilogy Series?
The title for Recoil came from a comment from one of the US snipers. When asked how he felt when shooting a person, he replied, "Recoil." He meant it literally, of course, but my heroine experiences it figuratively, too. The subsequent book titles Refuse and Rebel just came to me as the natural progression of her character's development.
(Yeah, I did notice the Recoil comment and wonder which came first, the comment or the series title. It is perfect ~ Jeanz)

Who designed the covers for Recoil and Refuse? And have they already designed the cover for bk3?
The covers have been designed by the wonderful Kimberley of "Kim G Design" (her website is here: http://www.kimg-design.com/). The designs are so beautiful and yet incorporate so many elements from the novels - the biohazard bloom, the crosshairs, the coding matrix, the naive heroine with her blue-streaked hair. I can't wait to see what she comes up with for Book 3!

Did you choose the titles for the book/book series first, or did you write the book and then choose the title?
It varies from book to book. Sometimes the title comes first, often (as with Recoil) it comes early in the research phase, but sometimes it comes only later. All of my titles for all of my books have both a literal meaning related to the story of the book, as well as a metaphorical meaning that links to one of the main themes. I enjoy playing around with chapter titles, too. If readers read a chapter and then go back and check the title, it might give them a little smile of recognition. The full meaning of some of the chapter titles only becomes apparent once you've read the whole book, and even the series, when you'll have an "Ah-ha! I see what you did there!" moment.

Do you have a basic outline plot for the whole Recoil Series, or are you letting the writing/plot flow and just seeing where the story goes?
I definitely have an outline - with a plot as complicated as this, I need one! In crafting a trilogy, the writer has to structure the plot and character arcs for each book, as well as for the over-arching series. I think many trilogies suffer from second-book syndrome because the author has thought about the beginning and imagined the final end, but hasn't actually developed a story for the middle book. Also, in this sort of genre, you want to plant clues, twists, red herrings and foreshadowings right from book one, so you have to know where you're going.

Do you basic plot/outline each book in advance or do you create the books as individual books?
Both. I already knew (very roughly) what was happening in my world and where the story was going overall before I began book 1. But before I write each book, I draft a slightly more detailed outline so that the individual book's story is logical and exciting, not merely "filler". Then I think in much more detail about each section just before I write it. And then while I'm actually writing the first draft, new ideas and scenes come, and things change - I allow that creative flow to happen, because generally it's better than what I planned.

Have you ever based characters and character traits on people you know?
All the time! I believe every writer does this, whether consciously or subconsciously. I'm like a magpie - I like to collect shiny words, funny expressions, startling images, telling mannerisms, and curiosity-provoking ideas which I try to write down before I forget them. No one character is based entirely on one single person from real life, but I do blend and incorporate real details into my characters, places and stories. When I heard about Donald Trump's plan for a wall between the USA and Mexico, for example, I just knew that was a detail that had to go into Recoil. 

Is there anything in Recoil, or the Recoil Series you would change now if you could and what would it be?
I wish I had the power to wave my magic wand and turn the series into a bestseller, lol! Otherwise, I'm happy with this story and where it's headed. I spent a lot of time on rewrites and got professional edits, so I'm proud of the writing, too. I'm glad I released the first book only after I'd finished the draft of the second, because it allowed me to go back and change things. When I started Book 3, I went back and changed the ending of book 2, which improves the series as a whole. It's a luxury as a writer to be able to make these changes.
(I'd love it to be made into a Movie or TV Series. Look at Divergent, The Hunger Games etc all started off as fantastic books! ~ Jeanz)

Is there anything else you’d like to share with us about your individual titles or series at all?
Readers might be interested in my standalone Young Adult romance, Scarred, which is swoony and angsty and funny all at once. I have another two standalone YA romances coming out next year, so watch this space :)
(I already have it my kindle to read! And I'll certainly be looking at the other titles you write! As well as the Recoil Series of course! ~Jeanz)

Finally could you please provide links to where your reader fans can follow you?
I love to connect with fans and you can find me here:
Twitter:  @JoanneMacg

Pinterest: Joanne Macgregor

Thank-you for taking the time to do this Interview and giving "us" the readers a further insight into the book, series, and your writing process ~ Jeanz


CHARACTER PROFILE'S
(My own thoughts of the characters)
OF THE
THE BLACK TEAM

Jinxy 
 16 year old gamer addict, straining to be released from the confinements of her  home. Always fighting to be the best and analysing how she can do even better. 

Leya
I'd guess at probably older & more life experienced than Jinx. She has a tattoo on her face next to her eye. A gamer but always somewhere around the middling scores, just behind the leaders of the pack Jinx & Bruce but still an important member of the team.

Bruce
Slightly older than Jinx in age but way, way younger in mental attitude! He is arrogant, likes to be the best and tells everyone about it when he is. Not so keen on being second behind Jinx but does accept that Jinx is a great sniper.

Mitch
Hmm more of a background character in this book, yet still an important part of the team. Maybe we will see more of him in bk2.

Tae-Hyun
Also super gamer, quieter, but supportive member of the team. Jinx likes to have him as her spotter and trusts him completely.

Cameron
Also a quiet member of the team. He doesn't show his emotions, yet the way he looks at Leya suggest he may have a crush on her. . or is he watching her for some other reason?

COMING SOON
Title: Refuse
Author: Recoil Trilogy
Series: Joanne Macgregor
Genre: Sci-Fi, Dystopian
Release Date: 30th July 2016

BLURB from Goodreads
Everyone wants Jinxy, except the one she loves.

In a near-future USA decimated by an incurable plague and tightly controlled by a repressive government, teenagers with special skills are recruited and trained to fight in the war against terror.

Now a rebellion is brewing.

All sixteen year-old expert sniper Jinxy James wanted was a little freedom, but now she’s trapped between the government and the rebels, unsure of who the real enemy is. When she uncovers appalling secrets and twisted motivations, Jinxy begins to question her allegiances. Soon she will need to choose between love and freedom, as she struggles to do the right thing in a world gone horribly wrong.


Goodreads Link

PURCHASE LINKS
Amazon US
Amazon UK

Well I really wanted to read this one as I finished reading bk1, and that was before seeing the cover of bk2 or even reading the blurb! Now I really cannot wait, I don't want to read Refuse, I need to read it. ~ Jeanz