Friday, 30 January 2015

BOOK BLITZ - EVER DARKENING BY JANEAL FALOR

Title: Ever Darkening
Author: Janeal Falor 
Release Date: 28/01/15

BLURB from Goodreads
Perfection. Goodness. Elimination of evil. It's what seventeen-year-old Kaylyn has trained her entire life to achieve. But no one is prepared for the consequences of her actually defeating all evil people on the planet. Finally successful in her mission, Kaylyn faces an unfamiliar world, full of good people doing good things, in which she no longer has purpose.


When the skies grow dark, and a stranger from another village pleads for her help, her instincts roar to life. It turns out their perfect world isn't exactly what it seems. Kaylyn's new quest, harder than any she's been on before, will rip apart her friendships, her life, and her soul more than any evil man ever managed to.


PURCHASE LINKS


EXCERPT

Being the one chosen to kill the entire evil population is a burden heavier than sin. Not that I know what it’s like to sin, but I imagine this is worse. Killing is never taken lightly, even when sanctioned by our leaders, the same leaders who chose me to carry it out. I’ve lost count of how many Malryx I’ve executed for that exact reason. And now there is only one left. Only one evil being. My purpose of being is almost complete.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Janeal Falor lives in Utah where she’s finally managed to live in the same house for more than five years without moving. In her spare time she reads books like they’re nuts covered in caramel and chocolate, cooks whatever strikes her fancy, and enjoys the outdoors. Her husband and three children try to keep up with her overactive imagination. Usually they settle for having dinner on the table, even if she’s still going on about the voices in her head.

AUTHOR LINKS

***GIVEAWAY***
BLITZ WIDE & INTERNATIONAL
PRIZE: $50 Amazon Gift Card



Book Blitz Organized by:

BOOK BLITZ - STATE OF ALLIANCE - COLLAPSE SERIES BY SUMMER LANE

Title: State of Alliance 
Series: Collapse Series #5
Author: Summer Lane 
Publication date: January 30th 2015
Genres: New Adult, Post-Apocalyptic

BLURB supplied by Xpresso Tours
There is no such thing as safe.
For Commander Cassidy Hart, staying alive is only one of her day-to-day problems. As a newly minted Senator of the State of California, she must travel to Monterey Bay with the hope of bringing an agreement between the militia forces and the Pacific Northwest Alliance as the United States desperately battles against the shadow invasion forces of Omega.
But Monterey is not what it seems. The threat of another Omega attack looms on the horizon, and Commander Chris Young – the love of Cassidy’s life – is not the only important person in Cassidy’s life who is keeping secrets. Assassinations, betrayal and startling revelations lie ahead.
The war is now. Fight or die.
Choose your side.
The fifth installment in the international bestselling Collapse Series, a YA/NA post-apocalyptic romantic adventure.



PURCHASE LINKS


ABOUT THE AUTHOR


Summer Lane is the author of the international bestselling Collapse Series and Zero Trilogy. She owns WB Publishing and Writing Belle, an online magazine dedicated to the Art of Storytelling. Summer is also an accomplished creative writing teacher and professional journalist. She lives in the Central Valley of California where she creates her stories and shares them with the world.

AUTHOR LINKS

GUEST POST



The Carmel Mission and State of Alliance

By Summer Lane
  
When I was writing State of Chaos in 2013, I did a lot of hands-on research to get a feel for what Cassidy Hart would be experiencing when she began fighting with a guerilla-war rebel group. I went to a range and took a rifleman course (the longest day of my life! I’ve got the scars to prove it!) to make sure I wrote about weaponry and marksmanship as accurately as possible. What’s my point? I love research, and if I’m going to write about something, I’m going to get as close to the subject as possible.

For State of Alliance, I went to Monterey to research geographical locations for the fifth installment of Cassidy’s story. One of the places that really resonated with me was the Carmel Mission, perhaps the most famous mission on the California coastline. Father Junipero Serra – the Father of the California Missions – is buried here. It is a gorgeous, deeply spiritual place. I connected with it. I loved the atmosphere and the architecture. As I visited, I saw Cassidy coming here for an integral part of the story. I took about five hundred pictures, stowed them away, then scurried home. The Carmel Mission makes a lovely cameo in State of Alliance, providing Cassidy Hart with something important that she’ll need to survive the storyline! 

***GIVEAWAY***
Blitz Wide Giveaway
Prizes consist of 13 e-books
The Soul Thief, Majanka Verstraete 
Trigger, Jill Meengs 
Dead Girl Walking, by Ruth Silver
Spirit Warrior, by DEL Connor 
Fractured Dream, by KM Randall
The Green Dagger, by Kelly Hess 
Jacob, King of Portalia, by Casey Cubb
A Reaper Made by Liz Long 
The Road by G. Michael Hopf 
The Death, by John W. Vance 
Last Woman by Jacqueline Druga 
Realm of the Unknown by James McPike 
Element Wielder, by Cesar Gonzalez 
&
1 paperback of The Lost and the Wicked by Cesar Gonzalez
1 signed copy of Day Zero by Summer Lane
$10 Amazon Gift Card 




Thursday, 29 January 2015

BOOK BLITZ - THE SEVENTH BY S.D. WASLEY

Title: The Seventh
Author: S.D. Wasley
Publisher: Evernight Teen
Genre: YA Paranormal Romance, Suspense
Release Date: 23rd Jan 2015

BLURB supplied by Bridging The Gap
Sixteen year old Mimi Alston has company. No less than three ghosts follow her around, and only she can see them. At her last school, she was known as the girl with imaginary friends. Now Mimi’s starting fresh in a new town, where she’s determined to make some real friends and fit in for once. She’s ready for a normal life...except Mimi never counted on her fascination with troubled goth-boy, Drew.


When she’s invited to join the elite Gifted Program, Mimi discovers she’s not the only one at the school with an unusual talent. Maybe being normal isn’t even an option anymore.


PURCHASE LINKS
Evernight Teen    
Smashwords    


EXCERPT
“Mimi, would you mind telling us about yourself now?”
I swallowed again. How did she expect me to make a coherent sentence after what I’d just heard? If there was another Mimi, a logical one that could step outside of my own body and look at the situation objectively, she would say: Get a grip, Miette. This is bullshit. These people are either lunatics … or they are playing the cruellest prank in history. But the problem was, logical Mimi had gone AWOL. I believed these kids. Deep in my heart, I knew without a shadow of a doubt they were telling the truth and––whether what they were describing was real or not––they believed in their gifts as fact. Doctor Mayer would have a field day with them.
I heard myself launch into speech and marvelled at how unlike myself I sounded. I heard a Mimi I hadn’t heard in years: excited, happy and relieved. “I’m Mimi Alston. I come from Perry Ridge. I have one brother, who’s much older. He lives in Canada with his wife. I love drawing, especially portraits. I had a nickname at my old school. Mimi-and-her-imaginary-friends.” I couldn’t believe I was telling them this secret … a secret I had been so determined to keep that I’d actually been prepared to fake my whole personality, day in and day out, at this new school.
“It’s because I have company with me, pretty much all the time. Meet my ghosts, Hannah, Albert and Marvin.” I pointed at the chairs beside me and the other kids stared. Even Drew raised his head to look at me in amazement. “Hannah joined me when I was thirteen. She was a kitchen maid. She was nineteen, and she was pregnant with her boss’s child. She died having the baby. Albert joined me when I was fourteen. He was a soldier in World War II. He died on the stretcher after getting a serious shrapnel injury. And Marvin only joined me earlier this year. He was homeless after losing his house because of his gambling debts. He died of hypothermia during a cold snap.”
Patience’s eyes looked like horrified saucers as she stared at the empty chairs beside me. After a moment, Mona let out a shuddering breath and even contemptuous Cassie looked impressed. Gabe sat watching me curiously, as if he didn’t expect quite what he was seeing or hearing.
“You’re a Necromancer,” nodded Ms Deering.
Necro … doesn’t that mean dead?” asked Mona.
“And mancy is magic, or conjuring,” affirmed Ms Deering. “Mimi calls the dead.”
“I call them?” I couldn’t help exclaiming. “I never called them! I don’t want them around!”
Ms Deering just smiled ruefully. “I don’t think you can help it. I didn’t mean you actively call them––I meant you bring them … attract them. You invite their spirits to make contact.”
“Why?” I asked.
“The million-dollar question,” Mona laughed shortly, dragging her eyes off the empty chairs beside me. “Why do any of us have these gifts?”
“Can you hear them?” Patience asked me, her face still terrified. Great. She was freaked out. Oh, well … at least she didn’t think I was crazy.
“Yes,” I said. “That’s how I know what happened to them.” My mind drifted towards some of the other things they’d said to me and I hastily changed my train of thought. “They used to talk more, but I started trying to ignore them so they stopped being so … chatty.”
Mona cackled at that. I decided I wouldn’t mention the medication I had been taking to help me “ignore” my ghosts. I could feel Drew still watching me, so I looked back at him. I badly wanted to ask him why he looked so stunned. I also wanted to ask him what his gift was. But I couldn’t form a sentence because his face was so painfully beautiful in that moment that I forgot to breathe and just stared.
“Drew,” Ms Deering said in a firm tone. “Please tell us about you.”

Drew snapped out of our little two-way staring contest and cast an angry look at Ms Deering before getting up and shouldering his satchel.


AUTHOR INTERVIEW

What is your name, where were you born and where do you live now?
S.D. Wasley (Sasha), born in Perth, Western Australia and still living here now. I live in a wine-growing region close to the famous Swan River.

Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?
Easy question. YES. I have always wanted to be a writer but didn’t actually feel confident that it was possible. So I filled in the gaps with various other careers and aspirations, including university lecturer, migrant English teacher, pharmacy assistant, vet, PR account manager, and finally settled on being a copywriter.

When did you first consider yourself as a "writer"?
When I signed my contract for publication. Before that I considered myself a wannabe.

Did it take a long time to get your first book published?
Yes, it did. I have written a few books over the years and this was the first one I got past the publishing line. I had plenty of nibbles but no bites before The Seventh.

Do you work another job as well as your writing work?
In addition to my writing work, I work as a writer. Haha! But it’s true. I’m also a copywriter who writes blogs, e-newsletters, websites, and lots of other corporate and marketing stuff.

What is the name of your latest book, and if you had to summarise it in less than 20 words what would you say?
The Seventh. Sixteen year old Mimi is followed around by three ghosts. She thinks she’s crazy until she meets other gifted kids.

Who is your publisher? or do you self publish?
Canadian publisher, Evernight Teen.

Do you have a "lucky charm" or "lucky routine" you follow when waiting for your book to be accepted by a publisher?
When I hit send or pop it into a mailbox I also blow an imaginary kiss and wish my book will land on the desk of the right submissions editor! I guess the kiss I blew for The Seventh finally hit the mark.

How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?
It depends on the book but I write fast. I can start and finish writing a book within about three months, in amongst my other workload, but I would then want to spend several months editing. That’s the slow bit, for me.

Which of your books were easier/harder to write than the others?
The Seventh came very naturally. Once I found Mimi’s voice, the words just poured. I have tried to write a semi-non-fiction book about some life experiences and that has come very hard to me. I think it’s because when you write that kind of book it’s a gruelling, emotional process. I need to dredge through some unhappy memories to do it, so it tends to get put aside.

What can we expect from you in the future?  ie More books of the same genre? Books of a different genre?
There are more Mimi books coming! I have at least two more stories I need to write about her. I am currently working on a new adult paranormal romance (ie 16-25 yo) and I have another sitting on the backburner that needs some major editing. I also have a middle school urban fantasy I really love, but again, it needs serious editing. I wish I had time to work on them all right now!

What genre would you place your books into?
Young Adult Paranormal Romance.

What made you decide to write that genre of book?
It’s one of my favourite genres to read. I am a sucker for ‘magic meets love’ – and the dangerous situations our characters find themselves in make for just the right challenging circumstances in which to find intense love. And those teenage years are so intense, too! I love the depth of emotion my characters experience.

Where do you get your book plot ideas from? What/Who is your inspiration?
Music is a big one for me. I am intrigued by lyrics and good ones can inspire book ideas. I also lie in bed at night and work on storylines. Sometimes my research inspires ideas, too. A book I read recently that covered the history of a number of famous artists sparked loads of ideas for the book I was writing.

Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? ie You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?
I like to either sit at my desk to tap away at my computer, or curl up in a chair with my notepad. I like to have a coffee or, if it’s later in the day, a glass of wine. I get up occasionally and do a housework job to stretch my legs, or I head over to my social profiles to interact with other humans for a while! One dog usually lies at my feet, and the other one next to my desk. Occasionally I play my Youtube favourites music playlist while I edit.

Do you have anybody read your books and give you reviews before you officially release them? ie. Your partner, children, friends, reviewers you know?
Yes, my partner reads them, and sometimes my sisters. Occasionally I will ask a trusted friend or someone from my target market to take a look. Their feedback informs the editing process and helps me iron out issues. I’ve very lucky to now have an editor through my publisher, who has helped enormously with closing plot holes and questioning the characters’ actions. I would like to access more beta readers in future.

Do you read all the reviews of your book/books?
YES. I value all feedback, good or bad.

What was the toughest/best review you have ever had?
My book is very new so there are only a handful of reviews (and no bad ones at the time of writing). I got a fabulous one from a fellow ET author, Marcus Damanda, the other day – he totally ‘got’ what I had tried to do in this story, so I was over the moon to read it! It’s on Amazon and my blog, if you’re interested.

Would you ever ask a reviewer to change their review if it was not all positive about your book/books?
No way. But I might have a conversation with them to find out more about why they didn’t like it.

How do you come up with the Title and Cover Designs for your book/books? Who designed the Cover of your books?
My publisher arranged the cover design and fortunately they took on board all my ideas and suggestions! I wanted to feature a significant drawing from the story on the cover and it was also important to me that Mimi not be depicted as too ‘sexy.’ I wanted her to be like her character in the book. I always find it hard to cope with when the cover image doesn’t match the character. For me, the three important elements I wanted included were a lake/water (check), the special drawing (check), and dark-haired Mimi, preferably facing away from the viewer (check). They nailed it! I adore my book’s cover.

Do you choose a title first, or write the book then choose the title?
I actually had a different title for a long time and then discovered another book with the same name and in the same genre. So I changed mine. Usually, I write first and pick a title later.

How do you come up with characters’ names and place names in your books?
I am very particular about names. They have to suit the character. If they don’t, then that’s deliberate – intentionally jarring. I try not to use very common names, especially surnames, but I prefer to use real names (not made up ones). The place names usually also have significance for what the place represents. For example, the town where my characters go to school is called Etherall Valley, with a close reference to the word ‘ethereal.’

Do you decide on character traits (ie shy, quiet, tomboy girl) before writing the whole book or as you go along?
I usually have their personalities in my head but they always develop as I write.

Do you basic plot/plan for your book, before you actually begin writing it out? Or do you let the writing flow and see where it takes the story?
A bit of both. I need a rough outline to start with but then the story writes itself. I have had many a wonderful plot twist happen on the page before I even thought of it!

What do you think makes a book a really good/bestseller?
Really great characters – complex characters who are not perfect but still likeable. And a plot that keeps you guessing. And maybe also a strong marketing team!

Have you ever suffered from a "writer's block"? What did you do to get past the "block"?
Not really – maybe a little bit, very occasionally. If something’s not coming together, I sit down and do some plot outlining. I find that if I get stuck it’s almost always because I’m unsure of what’s supposed to happen next in the story.

What do you do to unwind and relax? Do you have a hobby?
Writing is my hobby. But I also love wandering around the yard with my chickens. I like fishing but don’t actually like catching fish – I always put them back if they are okay. That’s why I fish in the local river – there’s hardly any fish in there!

Have you ever based characters on people you know or based events on things that have happened to you?
Yes, definitely. I have used people’s words or actions or personality traits to build my characters. I have also used my own life experiences and events as plot elements or in characters’ backgrounds.

Are there any hidden messages or morals contained in your books? (Morals as in like Aesops Fables type of "The moral of this story is..")
Oh yeah! Books reflect life, so of course there will be some questioning and challenging of values and morals in them. I like to explore compassion and identity. I guess the moral of The Seventh is: “Everyone’s on their own quest for self-worth and you’re the only person to whom yours matters. So when you have it, hang on to it like hell.”

Is there a certain Author that influenced you in writing?
Many. Jane Austen, JK Rowling, Sylvia Plath, Elizabeth George, Charles Dickens, Roald Dahl.

Which format of book do you prefer, ebook, hardback, or paperback?
Ebook or paperback. More recently, ebooks are preferable. I love the flexibility and instant gratification.

What is your favourite book and Why?  Have you read it more than once?
Persuasion by Jane Austen. I’ve read it many times. The beautiful romance between Anne and Mr Wentworth has so much quiet dignity and pathos. And I love Jane Austen’s characters – Mary and the Admiral are wonderful.

Do you think books transfer to movies well? Which is you favourite/worst  book to movie transfer?
Yes, depending on the book. But Sense and Sensibility as a movie – I loathed it. Emma Thompson playing a 19yro? Come on. And then, unexpectedly, I loved Vampire Academy as a book-to-film adaptation! They totally nailed Rose’s character and the paranormal/school-y vibe.
[my daughter and I also loved the Vampire Academy series and agree the film was a good adaptation too. I recently watched Maze Runner and sadly it's sort of put me off reading the books, as I didn't like the film so much.]

What are you currently reading? Are you enjoying it? What format is it?(ebook, hardback or paperback)
I’m reading Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle in paperback. I am enjoying it. I am finding it easier to unravel the mysteries with each case I read! I’m also reading Dorianna by Catherine Stine on my Kindle. It’s intriguing. I’m really worried about the main character.

Do you think ebooks will ever totally replace printed books?
No, not a chance!

Do you have a treasured book from your childhood? If yes, what is it?
Alice in Wonderland, and also Harriet the Spy.

Do you have a favourite genre of book?
Ghost stories, true hauntings, and romance. But I also like contemporary literary and historical fiction. I actually enjoy reading history and philosophical theory too.

Is there a book you know you will never read? Or one you tried to read but just couldn't finish?
Fifty Shades of Grey. I dabbled in it but it’s not my cup of tea. You’d have to tie me up to get me to read the rest of it … oh, wait…
[I have to totally agree with you there. I don't mind a little steam and sizzle withinin context but I just simply did not want to read something like Fifty Shades Of Grey!]

Do you or would you ever use a pen name?
I sort of do – I use my initials because there is another Sasha on my publisher’s list of authors and I wanted to avoid confusion. I would probably use a pen name if I wanted to try my hand at non-fiction or write far outside the genre I am known for … just so my readers wouldn’t be disappointed if they bought what they thought was my newest YA paranormal and found themselves reading a history of birdwatching in the Swan Valley, or something.

If you could invite three favourite writers to dinner, who would you invite and enjoy chatting with?
Jane Austen, Elizabeth George, and Allie Brosh.

Where can readers follow you?
Your blog details?
Your web site ? (same)
Your facebook page?
Your Goodreads author page?
Your Twitter details?


***GIVEAWAY***
PRIZE: $10 Amazon Gift Card




BOOK BLITZ - INTO A MILLION PIECES BY ANGELA V. COOK

Title: Into a Million Pieces
Author: Angela V. Cook 
Publisher: Red Adept Publishing
Release Date: 01/2015

BLURB from Goodreads:
Allison McKready is a succubus. So is her twin sister. But while Allison spends her summer break hiding in the library behind her Goth makeup, Jade fools around as often as she can. Allison can’t believe Jade would ignore their mother’s fatal example so recklessly, but concealing a cursed bloodline and its dangerous effects is far from Allison’s only problem. Mean girl Julie’s snob mob is determined to ruin her summer, and Aunt Sarah’s Bible thumping is getting louder. Only her new friend, Ren Fisher, offers safe haven from the chaos of her life.

When one of Jade’s risky dates leads to humiliation and sudden tragedy, Allison reels, and Ren catches her. But as her feelings for him grow, so does her fear that she’ll hurt him—or worse—in an unguarded moment. The choice is coming—love him or save him—but Allison might not live to make it. One way or another, the curse will have its due.


Goodreads Link

Angela V. Cook lives a very unexciting, but never boring, life with her husband and two children just outside of Detroit. Like most writers, she’s been making up stories for as long as she can remember and can’t imagine a life that doesn’t involve creating worlds.

Angela loves to write novels for teens because it’s the best outlet for her sarcastic personality, immature sense of humor, and love of romantic firsts. Her idea of the perfect day involves a quiet house, a good book, and a piece of cheesecake. Or two.



AUTHOR LINK
 photo iconwebsite-32x32_zps1f477f69.png  photo icontwitter-32x32_zpsae13e2b2.png  photo icongoodreads32_zps60f83491.png  photo iconfacebook-32x32_zps64a79d4a.png

***GIVEAWAY***


The giveaway (open to Continental U.S. only) 
This is a summary of the giveaway items. Additional information (covers/blurbs/photos/descriptions) of the giveaway items can be found on my website, www.angelavcook.com

Grand Prize
Signed Copy of SUMMER ON THE SHORT BUS by Bethany Crandell, along with two signed bookmarks
Signed Copy of PRESS PLAY by Eric Devine
Signed Copy of ESSENCE by Lisa Ann O’Kane, along with two ESSENCE buttons
Signed Copy of THE HUNDRED: FALL OF THE WENTS by Jennifer Prescott
8x10 ENSNARED art print by Nathalia Suellen, signed by NYT Bestselling Author A.G. Howard
Signed INTO A MILLION PIECES bookmark

Two runner-up prizes
Each runner-up will receive a $10 Amazon gift card, and a signed INTO A MILLION PIECES bookmark


***GIVEAWAY***



Book Blitz Organized by:

BOOK BLITZ - THE COURTLIGHT SERIES & THE CROWN SERVICE BY TERAH EDUN

The Courtlight Series
When peasant girl Ciardis is chosen for a position at court, she travels across the empire to begin a new life. To survive, she’ll need to master intrigue, befriend a crown prince, and learn to control magical abilities she never knew existed.

Title: Sworn To Raise
Series: Courtlight
Author: Terah Edun
Release Date: 10th April 2014

BLURB from Goodreads
Seventeen-year-old Ciardis has grown up in poverty, a cleaner in a small vale on the outskirts of the empire. But beneath her empire’s seemingly idyllic surface lies a hidden secret. Whispers of an inept crown Prince are growing ever louder—intensified by the five year anniversary of the soulbond initiations.

Amidst scandalous whispers, Ciardis finds herself chosen to train for the Companion’s Guild. She leaves her home and sets off on a personal journey to become a Court Companion. A position she’d never thought possible for a lowly servant to obtain, she must prove that she has the skills to attract a Patron. 

But she must master those skills quickly. If the legends are true, only Ciardis can harness the power to raise a Prince in an Imperial Court sworn to bring him down.

This sensational series debut melds intricate storylines with remarkable characters and unforgettable magic. Sworn To Raise is ideal for fans of Kristin Cashore, Michelle Sagara, and Maria Snyder.


PURCHASE LINKS

Title: Sworn To Transfer
Series: Courtlight
Author: Terah Edun
Release Date: 17th September 2013

BLURB from Goodreads
Eighteen-year-old companion trainee Ciardis Weathervane has won the friendship of the royal heir and saved his claim to the throne. Yet her interference in the inheritance rights leaves more harm done than good. The Ameles Forest lies unprotected and its inhabitants are dying.

As humans begin to die in gruesome deaths, the Emperor dispatches the royal heir to the forests with the solution to the kith concerns. 

With enemies closing ranks in Sandrin, Ciardis can little afford to leave the city’s nest of vipers to take on a new task. But she’s given no choice when her loyalty to the crown and courts are called into question. 

To keep the Companions’ Guild happy and the favor of the Imperial Court, Ciardis will be tested in frightening new ways, especially when she’s faced with an obstacle that could risk the lives of her friends and the family she never thought she had.


Goodreads Link


PURCHASE LINKS

Title: Sworn To Transfer
Series: Courtlight
Author: Terah Edun
Release Date: 3rd December 2013

BLURB from Goodreads
Ciardis Weathervane fought for the living dead and won. But worse than taking on a mass murderer, was her discovery that she had been deceived by her friends. Now she needs to not only fight a war in the North and survive, but also decide where she stands in the midst of competing sides.

A threat to all she holds dear lies in the North and her heart is not the only thing she might lose. A massive army awaits in the mountain pass, surging closer to the gates of the southern lands. Nothing the Algardis army has done so far has dissuaded their march forward and Ciardis finds out that her powers to enhance are needed now more than ever.

As she faces her greatest fears on the battlefields and her heart is torn between her love of Sebastian and loyalty to her family, Ciardis must choose her fate carefully. For in her path, lies the destiny of the empire.


Goodreads Link


PURCHASE LINKS

Title: Sworn To Secrecy
Series: Courtlight
Author: Terah Edun
Release Date: 28th February 2014

BLURB from Goodreads
In the heart of the Imperial Courts, Ciardis Weathervane knows that death is coming for the empire. With her friends by her side and the new triad of Weathervanes, she's in a race against time to convince the courts of the same. 

She must do her best to unite kith, mages, nobles and merchants under one cause - the fight to prevent a war. Soon she is forced to keep a secret that could exonerate her mother of the Empress's death, and is always one move away from stepping into diplomatic chaos. 

Throw in a daemoni prince who is showing interest in the youngest Weathervane, a jealous prince heir, and a irritated dragon with her own designs on Ciardis, and you have an imperial court in turmoil. 


Goodreads Link


PURCHASE LINKS

Title: Sworn To Transfer
Series: Courtlight
Author: Terah Edun
Release Date: 28th April 2014

BLURB from Goodreads
Ciardis Weathervane returned to the imperial court of Sandrin to unite her foes. But her efforts hit a stumbling block. The imperial kind. She never thought that before rallying an empire, she'd have to fight the emperor himself.

An imposter sits the throne and the court she turned to for help is in turmoil. Ciardis hasn't survived assassination attempts, torture and really bad luck to be taken down by her own ruler. So she devises a plan. But first she needs to get Sebastian and Thanar to agree. Each seems to love her in their own way. But neither is listening to her. Pushing them to put aside their differences, in an effort to ward off catastrophe, might be harder than displacing an emperor who would do anything to keep his throne.

Butting heads at court isn’t Ciardis’s only problem. With the princess heir’s threat looming she is forced to travel to the mythical city of Kifar, where it is up to her small group to stop the destruction of the entire city while heading a rebellion that could foment a revolution. It wouldn't be the first revolution that Algardis has ever known. But with Ciardis Weathervane at its head—it would certainly be the last.


Goodreads Link


PURCHASE LINKS

Title: Sworn To Transfer
Series: Courtlight
Author: Terah Edun
Release Date: Forthcoming

BLURB from Goodreads
Ciardis Weathervane is officially engaged to one man and bonded to a second. She should be planning the wedding ceremony, bearding the nobles of the imperial court in their dens, and exposing an imposter emperor. Instead she's spending her engagement on the lawless road to the western lands. 

Now with the help of a guide from a tribe of seers, Ciardis is traveling to the ancient city of Kifar. Rumored to hold the only device capable of stopping the blutgott, Ciardis, Sebastian and Thanar must break a half-century's old quarantine in order to enter the fabled city.

But the collar of Diamis is not the only thing they seek. The princess heir's pet wyvern lurks in wait for them and the emperor, who has done everything short of challenging the new triad of Algardis outright, wants its head on a platter upon their return.

If the unscrupulous bandits don't make short work of them, Ciardis knows that when they return she and Sebastian will have to a face and unmask the man who has stolen the imperial throne. The only question that remains...will that be before or after they're forced to battle a god?


Goodreads Link




EXCERPT

COURTLIGHT SERIES

"No, you can't," said Ciardis flatly. "I may be inexperienced, but I'm not stupid. Your own courtiers are trying to kill you, and your social standing is next to nil. Any of my other prospective Patrons would be a much more suitable pick, in particular because they want me for me. You need me, but for how long?”
            Sebastian opened and closed his mouth. He bit his lip, thinking, apparently trying to come up with something that would convince her to accept his proposal. Then, hesitantly, he said, "You're right—I'm not offering you a marriage, a family, or a warm hearth to crochet by. I'm offering you an adventure, and a chance to save your empire. Everyone needs something to inspire them, and can you really say that managing household accounts will do that for you?"

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Terah Edun's next YA Fantasy novel, BLADES OF MAGIC - Crown Service Book #1 (set in the Algardis Universe), will release on March 31, 2014. Book Five of Courtlight, SWORN TO DEFIANCE, will release in April 2014.
Her favorite writers include Mercedes Lackey, Tamora Pierce, Kristin Cashore, Robin Hobb and Maria Snyder

AUTHOR LINKS

The Crown Service Series
As an unstoppable war breaks out between the mages of the Algardis Empire, young Sara Fairchild enlists in the empress’s army to find out exactly what everyone’s trying to hide. But there are secrets on both sides of the battle that will make her question everything…

Title: Sworn To Transfer
Series: Crown Service
Author: Terah Edun
Release Date: 31st March 2014


BLURB from Goodreads
It is not a peaceful time in the Algardis Empire. War is raging between the mages and seventeen-year-old Sara Fairchild will be right in the middle of it.

She just doesn't know it yet.

Sara is the daughter of a disgraced imperial commander, executed for desertion. Sara is also the best duelist and hand-to-hand combatant in Sandrin. She lives quietly with her family’s shame but when challenged about her family’s honor, her opponent inevitably loses.

On the night she finds out her father’s true last actions, she takes the Mercenary Guilds’ vows to serve in the emperor’s army. Using her quick wits and fierce fighting skills, she earns a spot in the first division.

There she discovers secrets the mages on both sides would prefer stay hidden. Dark enemies hunt her and soon it's not just Sara questioning the motivation behind this war.

While fighting mages, blackmailing merchants and discovering new friends, Sara comes across something she’s never had before - passion. The question is - can she fight for her empress against a mage who might unwittingly claim her heart?

This is year one of the Initiate Wars. Sara is hoping it doesn't become the year she dies.
 


Goodreads Link


PURCHASE LINKS

Title: Sworn To Transfer
Series: Crown Service
Author: Terah Edun
Release Date: Forth coming


BLURB from Goodreads
Sara Fairchild, duelist and combatant, is out for vengeance. Her father was betrayed. Her mother is dead. All she has left is her desire for revenge and a quest for answers.

Now a member of the Mercenary Guilds' elite guard, she fights on the front lines of her empire's first civil war. But Sara's priority isn't winning the war for the crown or empire. It's finding out the true circumstances of her family's downfall while keeping one mild-mannered curator alive.

As emotionally detached as she is from everyone around her, Sara can't seem to shake the stubborn affection of her one friend. When she stumbles upon the secrets of not one but two Kade mages, she soon finds out that neither of their lives is worth anything to either side.

As she fights to outmaneuver a group of fiendish imperial assassins and win a war that grows more complicated by the day, Sara Fairchild knows that no matter what, the empire will never be the same.


Goodreads Link




EXCERPT

CROWN SERVICE SERIES

Might as well come out,” she said. “I know you’re here.”
Then the cloak fell. A man stood in front of her. Ezekiel stood in front of him with a sharp knife held at his throat. The man was gripping him tightly. Sara quickly spotted one other man with his back turned to the three of them about six rows back.
“Nice trick,” she said. She carefully took in the situation. She wondered if she was dealing with a mage, but she didn’t think so. Her battle instincts told her she was dealing with a normal man. Those instincts were almost never wrong. However, there was something magical about him. Narrowing her eyes, she realized it was the pendant around his neck. It was giving off an aura of old magic. She was impressed.
Haven’t seen one of those before, she thought.


***GIVEAWAY***
Blitz-Wide Giveaway!
Kindle Fire HD 6
PLUS every person who enters will get a FREE copy of BLADES OF MAGIC 
and SWORN TO RAISE audiobooks from Audible.com