Monday, 20 October 2014

BOOK BLITZ - THE BEGINNING IS THE END - RESET BY CARA DAVIS

Title: The beginning is the end
Author: Cara Davis
Series: Reset #1
Release date: October 20th 2014
Publisher: Big Moon Press
Purchase: Amazon 

BLURB from Goodreads:
Jack Sunshine’s life is chaos. She’s seventeen and the head of her household following the death of her mother and the disappearance of her stepfather. Having to balance work and home at her age gets further complicated with her forays into dating. And to top it all off, the dead are returning to life. 

Jack now has the added responsibility of ensuring her family and friends are safe and sound during this outbreak. It’s almost doable until the tiny enigma of a girl named O comes along. It becomes a question of whether the sick will kill them or they’ll kill each other.



ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Cara Davis is a weirdo. She has lots of partially-written stories that one day will become actual stories. A northern-born southerner, she has the most eclectic tastes you can imagine. Most of her writing is within the paranormal realm, but occasionally she dabbles in fantasy, sci-fi, and contemporary. She has a bachelor’s degree from the University of Memphis that’s going unused.


EXCERPT


Frances Hopkins, who lived across the street from the DeCoudreauxes, stood in the doorway of the library with heaving shoulders and some kind of internalized grudge against every one of us. Her low growl reverberated, and none of us moved a millimeter as we debated the next move. Frances seemed to be calculating her next move as well, and I couldn’t help but hear Old West showdown music in my head.
“Shoot. Her.” Alexandria gritted her teeth.
“She isn’t doing anything,” Miles argued.
“Let’s just try and skirt past her,” I suggested. It couldn’t have been too difficult; she wasn’t taking up too much room in the rather large doorway.
An argument from Alexandria later and we found ourselves trying to walk past Frances without alerting her. Since it was my idea, Alexandria insisted I go first. I took Lucy’s hand and held her close to me, starting to side-step Frances while holding my breath. I covered Lucy’s eyes with one hand, her mouth with the other; she was starting to cry, and I didn’t want her to get too loud.
I tried to think of everything I possibly could aside from the situation right in front of me. It would only take about five seconds to get past her, I knew, but they would be appallingly long seconds. My grip on Lucy tightened once we found ourselves inches from Frances. I scooted as quickly as I could and was relieved that we made it out into the hallway without incident.
Summer, O and the others followed suit, each without incident, until only Alexandria remained inside the library. She locked eyes with me and I contemplated leaving her behind, given how rude she’d been to Aylen. Instead, I gave her my most reassuring smile and nod, gesturing for her to join us. Miles whispered a few words of encouragement as well, and after a few false starts, Alexandria made her move to shimmy past Frances.
She hugged the wall, her back to Frances and eyes shut tightly. Her spiked heels made the faintest scritching sounds as she shuffled. My sigh of relief at all of us passing by Frances unharmed was interrupted, as Frances whipped around with alarming speed to once again grab hold of Alexandria’s hair.
Before any of us could get close enough, Alexandria was heels over head and slammed against the ground, Frances on top of her and shredding her clothes. There was no way Miles could’ve gotten in a clear shot, both women’s limbs intertwining as Alexandria tried to fight her way out. Miles screamed to me, gesturing for me to kick while he aimed. I looked back to Frances and hesitated before steeling myself and slamming my foot as hard as I could into her face.




PLAYLIST

Gossip – Heavy Cross 
Nine Inch Nails – The Great Destroyer (Modwheelmood Remix) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JRjOM59pduQ
Deftones – Diamond Eyes 
Northern Kings – Creep 
Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Heads Will Roll 
miss A – Touch 

BOOK BLITZ
Organised by 
Itching For Books

Sunday, 19 October 2014

BOOK & AUTHOR PROMOTION - ZOMBIES IN LOVE BY NORA FLEISCHER

Title: Zombies In Love
Author: Nora Fleischer
Release Date: 22nd September 2014

BLURB supplied by author
Jack Kershaw just wants to hold on to his new job at Lisa Alioto's pizza parlor, and to keep Lisa from finding out that he's a zombie. But Jack learns that he and Lisa are in serious danger. His second chance at life is the inadvertent result of a lab experiment by two graduate students, and Winthrop University-- a school which knows how to keep its secrets-- will do anything necessary to conceal that someone on campus raised the dead. With the help of Boston's zombie horde, can Jack and Lisa escape Winthrop's sinister clutches? 

Nora Fleischer has a PhD from Winthrop University, and promises every word of this story is true. She lives in Minneapolis with her lovable husband Sven and children Wolfgang and Anastasia!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

What is your name, where were you born and where do you live now?
My name is Nora Fleischer, I was born near Boston in the USA, and I live in Minneapolis, MN. 

Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?
Ever since I was a little girl!

Do you work another job as well as your writing work?
I also write history, and I have another job in publishing.

Who is your publisher? or do you self publish?
This book is self-published.



THIS OR THAT?

Paperback or E-book?
Paperbacks for the big books, e-books for the fast reads!  Also, paperbacks in the bath.

Read a book once/Re read books more than once?
Depends on the book!  If I really like a book, I tend to revisit it many times.

Books or Movies?
I love them both!  Movies show action better, I think, and books are best for really complicated plots.

Action, Drama, Mystery, Romance?
All of the above!  I hate a tragic ending, though.

Morning or Evening?
I’m an evening person made into a morning person b y my children, especially by my daughter, who we call “Early Girl.”

Early Nights or Late Nights?
See above!

Optimist or Pessimist?
Optimist!  I’ve been a very lucky person.

Coffee ot Tea?
Coffee in the morning, tea in the afternoon, herbal tea in the evening.  But I’m such a tea geek that I actually subscribe to Tea Time Magazine!

Spring, Summer, Autumn or Winter?
I love Autumn, because I love a nice run on a cool day.

Dark Chocalate, Milk Chocolate or White Chocolate?
All the chocolate, but especially milk chocolate.

Mild Cheeses, Medium Cheeses or Strong Cheeses?
Strong cheese!  I like a terrifying cheese, a good cheese with character, one that looks like it might ooze off if you look at it funny.  With plain table water crackers.

Flat Heeled Shoes, Medium Heeled Shoes or High Heeled Shoes?
Flats.  I believe in babying my feet!

Blue Eyes, Brown Eyes or Green Eyes?
Green!

Long Hair or Short Hair?
Medium.  I don’t have the patience for long, and my head is too small for short. 

Bitten Nails, Natural Nails, or Nail Enhancements (ie false nails) ?
Natural.  I played flute as a kid and never got out of the habit of short nails.

Wine, Beer, Soft Drink?
Beer is my favorite, especially with the right dinner

Saturday, 18 October 2014

BOOK PROMOTION - THE STONE GATE BY MARK MANN

Title: The Stone Gate
Author: Mark Mann
Release Date: 8th August 2014

BLURB from Goodreads
A strange rock in the forest. A mysterious crystal. A full moon. An ancient secret. How do you find your way home when you've never left?

Twins Jack and Kaya live in a small seaside town in Australia. When they see a dazzling white light shining from a giant rock in the forest near their home, it takes them on an adventure to a place both familiar and yet like nowhere they know. But where exactly are they? And can they find their way back in time?

The Stone Gate is an exciting and fast-paced action adventure that brings climate change / global warming vividly to life for young adult readers.




Friday, 17 October 2014

BOOK & AUTHOR PROMOTION - MERCENARIES SERIES BY BRIAN LIBBY

Leaving the Institute for the Homeless, Andiriel longs for excitement. Befriended by a knight of the illustrious Sovereign Order, she enters the Order's auxiliary services and finds herself on a strange mission leading to a challenging future in a job she hardly expects.

GOLD AND GLORY The second volume of the Mercenaries series After a long winter of training and reorganization, the Pelicans Mercenary Regiment marches out of obscure Ironport to look for a contract, its inexperienced commander wondering if she is up to the job for which she was so unexpectedly chosen. There is indeed work available for sharp halberds and accurate bows, and not just locally, as the slowly-approaching storm takes more definite shape. 

The third volume in the Mercenaries series The storm arrives: the Calamian Islands are invaded by powerful forces of an alien civilization abetted by suborned mercenaries. The Pelicans Mercenary Regiment, part of the outnumbered troops available to resist the onslaught, must try to stem the tide until the New Empire can intervene-if, indeed, the Empire itself is not overrun. 

REST OF THE SERIES

The Free Lands
And Gladly Teach
Miscellanea/Hodgepodge

AUTHOR INTERVIEW


What is your name, where were you born, and where do you live now?
I’m Brian Libby, born in Maine but living and teaching in southern Minnesota for several decades. I’m 65.

Did you always want to be a writer? If not, what did you want to be?
I have always enjoyed writing but I did not consider writing as a career.  My love of the past impelled me to earn a doctorate in History and to teach it for a living. My main fields are European military and diplomatic history and modern Germany.

Did it take a long time to get your first book published?
Yes, and you can read the whole long and somewhat depressing story on my blog (“A Cautionary Tale,” May 2012). (I ended by self-publishing after my agent did not sell the book.)

Do you work at another job?
I have taught European history at a prep school for over thirty-five years, but I have been part-time since 2000.

What is the name of your latest book? please summarize it in less than twenty words?
Hodgepodge, just 110 pages, is a collection of humorous and satirical essays on many topics, including education and films.

What can we expect in the future?
Although I would like to add two more volumes to the Mercenaries series, I am going to concentrate on marketing for a while. I will probably add essays to my blog, though.

What genre are your books in?
The Mercenary series—four books—is military adventure fantasy set in a late Medieval world. And Gladly Teach and Hodgepodge are humor/satire.

Do you read all the reviews?
Oh yes. There aren’t many—one of the chief problems with self-published works is getting them reviewed. The ones that have appeared have been encouraging.

What was the toughest/best review?
The Writer’s Digest self-published contest judge said of Storm Approaching, “I’m surprised this didn’t find an outlet at a larger house”. A Library Thing reviewer said of And Gladly Teach, “There were times I burst out laughing uncontrollably in the doctor’s waiting room or at the laundromat”. One reader told me he wanted to marry Andiriel, the main character in the Mercenaries series.

How do you come up with the titles and  cover designs? Who designed the covers?
One of the few advantages of self-publishing is that you get the title and cover you want. Titles suggest themselves from the contents. I decided on a heraldic theme for the Mercenaries covers because I think heraldry has a universal appeal and I did not want any people on the covers for fear it would fix in readers’ minds the appearance of characters whom readers should form a mental image of.  I designed my covers and paid artists to draw them.

Do you basic plot/plan… or do you let the writing flow?
Definitely the latter. When I started Storm Approaching I had exactly two characters ready. All the rest appeared and developed—or faded away—on their own. Meeting them has been very enjoyable. Of course, I do have an overall plot line in mind.

How do you market/promote your books?
I am still working on finding an effective way to do this. Online reviewers help; Facebook helps; word of mouth should help. My ‘marketing budget’ is small.

What do you do to unwind and relax? Do you have a hobby?
Although I take writing very seriously it qualifies as a relaxing hobby for me. I enjoy classical music, films, some computer games, and of course reading.

Are there any hidden messages or morals in your books?
An anecdote about my favorite composer goes this way:  After a performance of Messiah, a nobleman praised the oratorio and called it “a splendid entertainment”. Handel replied, “I should be sorry if I only entertained them, my lord. I wished to make them better.”
I try to keep this in mind when I write—not in any overtly didactic or preachy way, but as a general intention. It is a good theory of art.

Which format of books do you prefer?
I prefer print, although electronic books are increasingly important. I find print preferable both in convenience  and for tactile reasons. (I write most of my stuff with a pen before I type it up.)

What piece of advice would you give to a new writer?
Write! When you have a project, do something almost every day. Do not dawdle, do not make excuses, do not complain of ‘writer’s block’. Write. (And get started young, because it may take a long time to find a publisher. See the third question question above.)


Please drop in at my blog: http://andiriel.blogspot.com  

Thursday, 16 October 2014

BOOK PROMOTION - BAIT BY COURTNEY FARRELL

Title: Bait
Author: Courtney Farrell
Release Date: 17th June 2014

BLURB supplied by the author

When rival gangs discover that their little band has one of the last surviving girls, Jackie must make a decision. Will she give herself up to save her crew, or take off alone through the streets?


PURCHASE LINKS

MY COVER COMMENTS
I like the look of this cover. I presume the female on the cover is the main character Jackie, and the cover gives you the impression she is all alone at night in a desolate landscape. So the cover does fit with genre of the book to. So would the cover of the book make me pick this one up? Yes, definitely, I would certainly want to know more about the book. Then upon reading the blurb the book would make its way into my shopping trolley! I am looking forward to reading this one, having read Enhanced I have high expectations for a great plot. In my opinion this cover fits the book genre perfectly. It really draws you in to the book to see the desolate landscape along with the female on the cover.



AUTHOR INTERVIEW


What is your name, where were you born and where do you live now?
Hi, I'm Courtney Farrell. I was born in Denver, and now I live in the mountains near Woodland Park, CO.

Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?
I always knew I'd write, but I didn't have much confidence when I was young. So I got a science degree instead, and circled back to writing in middle age.

When did you first consider yourself as a "writer"?
I published an 800-word parenting article in Big Apple Parent and got paid fifty bucks. It was the first money I ever made writing, and I was thrilled.

Did it take a long time to get your first book published?
Yes, mainly because it took a long time to write it. I'm a perfectionist, and I'll go over and over something far longer than necessary.

Do you work another job as well as your writing work?
I'm starting a juice company, which is a huge learning curve, since I never studied business.

What is the name of your latest book, and if you had to summarise it in less than 20 words what would you say?
BAIT. A sentient disease targets women. Survivors are worth a fortune. One girl is still free.

Who is your publisher? or do you self publish?
My first sixteen books were traditionally published, with ABDO Publishing, Rourke, Cherry Lake, and Crescent Moon Press.  Now I'm going Indie. It's fun to have control over my own covers, promos, and prices!

How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?
Some I finish in weeks. Others take a year or more. Depends on the idea.

Which of your books were easier/harder to write than the others?
Novels are harder for me than my nonfiction books.

What can we expect from you in the future?  ie More books of the same genre? Books of a different genre?
I'm writing two series simultaneously. The 'Enhanced' series is about genetically engineered teens in a eugenics program, where doctors breed the best and kill the rest. The second book in that series, 'Sacrificed' just launched with Crescent Moon Press. My 'Bait' series, about the sentient disease, is my first Indie title.

What genre would you place your books into?
Dystopian sci-fi/romance

What made you decide to write that genre of book?
I know it sounds funny, but didn't really mean to! I got the story idea, wrote it, and then looked to see what genre it fit into. I couldn't help it, I was a beginner.

Do you have a favourite out of the books you have written? If so why is it your favourite?
BAIT is my favorite, hands down. The best thing I've ever written.

Do you read all the reviews of your book/books?
I do read my reviews. They tend to be quite positive, and that makes me feel good. Nothing makes me happier than hearing from my readers.

Do you basic plot/plan for your book, before you actually begin writing it out? Or do you let the writing flow and see where it takes the story?
I'm typically a "pantser," making it up as I go along. But I've gotten in trouble doing that, and had to throw out whole chapters that didn't fit. So I'm trying to reform. I actually outlined the sequel to Bait. That book is tentatively titled BIANCA, after the sentient disease who stalks Jackie, our main character.

How do you market/promote your books?
I love doing blog tours, and I attend five or six conventions a year. In October, I've got Author Reader Con in Phoenix, and MileHiCon in Denver.

Have you ever suffered from a "writer's block"? What did you do to get past the "block"?
I had it once, and sat for eight hours staring at an empty page. I felt like my subconscious was trying to make me go play, and I refused. It never tried that again! :)

Have you ever based characters on people you know or based events on things that have happened to you?
Oh, yes. If those people ever read my books, they'd recognize themselves in my villains. And my handsome grown sons occasionally appear as heroes, too. The names are changed to protect the guilty. LOL

Are there any hidden messages or morals contained in your books? (Morals as in like Aesops Fables type of "The moral of this story is..")
Enhanced is certainly a cautionary tale about technology running amok. And the sequel, Sacrificed, forces the characters to choose between their own kind, who are bred for perfection, and some exploited Normals.

Are there any New Authors you are interested in for us to watch out for? and Why should we watch out for them?
Look for Robin in the Hood (Robbin' Hearts Series Book 1) by Diane J. Reed.  I  stayed up all night because I couldn't put it down.  And Death Lies between Us is a fabulous paranormal romance by Jody A. Kessler.

Where can readers follow you?


THIS OR THAT

Paperback or E-book? ebook
Read a book once/Re read books more than once? usually once
Books or Movies? both!
Action, Drama, Mystery, Romance? action and romance
Morning or Evening? evening
Early Nights or Late Nights? early
Optimist or Pessimist? optimist
Coffee ot Tea? coffee
Spring, Summer, Autumn or Winter? autumn
Dark Chocalate, Milk Chocolate or White Chocolate? milk chocolate
Mild Cheeses, Medium Cheeses or Strong Cheeses? mild
Flat Heeled Shoes, Medium Heeled Shoes or High Heeled Shoes? flats
Blue Eyes, Brown Eyes or Green Eyes? green
Long Hair or Short Hair? long
Bitten Nails, Natural Nails, or Nail Enhancements (ie false nails) ? natural
Wine, Beer, Soft Drink? wine

EXCEPRT

We headed for our usual booth. Dakota always slept on one side of the table, and I slept on the other. That night, when I crawled onto my bed, Ash and Keenan had already taken over Dakota’s side. They sat shoulder to shoulder, stiffly, like they had something to say. I glanced at Dakota to see how he was handling that. He didn’t seem to care. He just collapsed in the booth behind me instead. Since I couldn’t flop down like I wanted to, I sat there, stared at Keenan and Ash, and waited.
That pair had been joined at the hip since they came to me as lost fourth graders. If the world hadn’t gone to shit, Ash would have been the most popular boy in school.  He could be deadly when pushed, but his mom must have raised him with all kinds of compassion. He used to rescue moths from windowsills and pick earthworms out of puddles after it rained. That night, I figured Ash meant to rescue me. Why he brought Keenan along, I had no idea.
Ash leaned forward, a sympathetic smile on his handsome face. Dim red and blue neon light shone off his perfect chocolate skin and wooly hair. “How you feelin’, Jack?” 
“Fine.”  I kept it short, hoping they’d go away so I could sleep.
“I got something for you. Or we do. It’s from Keenan, too. I couldn’t have got it without him.” Ash dug into his pocket and pulled out a small leather bag. He pushed it across the table to me.
I poured out the contents and gasped. A handful of gold and diamond rings spilled out, along with a fat roll of hundred dollar bills. Paper money didn’t mean much anymore, at least in my neighborhood, but those rings made the best trade goods ever. I flicked the bills aside and played with the rings, admiring their glitter in the neon light of the bar signs in the window. “Wow. This is really something.”
“Spoils of war,” Keenan said. “By the way, I didn’t get the chance to tell you earlier, but you look gorgeous in that dress.”
I felt my eyes widen in their sockets. “Uh, thanks,” I choked out.
The back of my seat rocked a little as Dakota rolled to his knees and leaned on the partition between the booths. “Go to bed, you guys.”
“Okay,” Keenan said obediently. As if they’d rehearsed it, Ash and Keenan laid down in Dakota’s spot, feet together and heads in opposite directions. It looked crowded and uncomfortable, but they settled in like they meant to stay.
Dakota shot them a murderous look. One on one, he could whip either of them, but together, those boys could kill him. I felt sick thinking about it. The winner—or winners—would lead my crew, alongside me. And from the way Keenan looked at me, that wasn’t all they had in mind. I could have sworn fourteen was too young. Guess I was wrong.
As the only girl around, I’d been pressured for sex since childhood. Some men wouldn’t take no for an answer, so I got pretty good at taking cheap shots and bolting. That kind of thing got worse as I got older. Dakota watched out for me, sticking closer as I got into my teens and even normal, non-pervy men started taking an interest. That was when I cut my hair off and tried to look like a boy. We never talked about it—I was way too shy—but Dakota had to know I was still a virgin. Now he obviously wanted to be more than friends, and I couldn’t get comfortable with it. I didn’t want anyone else. Never had. Dakota was the only guy I ever dreamed about, ever pictured myself having babies with. The only one I didn’t want to reject. But old fears die hard.



Wednesday, 15 October 2014

COVER REVEAL - THIS SPELLS TROUBLE BY OLIVIA HARDIN

This Spells Trouble (2)


It took some work, but Lynlee Lincoln has finally found balance between her life as a witch and her relationship with Beck Hale. A human boyfriend with two kids wasn’t something she ever planned, but their new arrangement lets her have her cake and eat it, too. Just when she’s getting comfortable, puzzling visions of impending danger at home begin to haunt her dreams. And if personal issues aren’t troubling enough, Lynlee and the entire organization of Neutralizers go on alert when a phantom creature begins staging magical episodes on live television. If they can’t put a stop to the sensational events, all hell will break loose in the human world. Can Lynlee keep both her new family and the world safe without getting swallowed up in the process?

PREORDER NOW!

Amazon | iBooks | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | Smashwords

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x-dj6Nn4TH0]
And be sure you're caught up on all the other stories before this one drops!
Trolling for Trouble- Olivia Hardin (2)


FREE! Magical and undead creatures can get into plenty of sticky situations. Lynlee Lincoln loves her job as a neutralizer, but she needs a break from the supernatural chaos after an ultra-busy Halloween night. Coming home, she's ready to collapse into her bed and forget the day... until she discovers two children scavenging through her refrigerator. One look at the pair and she feels a tug on her heartstrings, then she learns their father is the man she spent years trying to forget. When Beck pleads with her to help save his daughter, Lynlee gets thrust into a heap of trouble.


Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000032_00020]


Lynlee Lincoln isn’t just a witch, she’s also a Neutralizer. Her job is a juggling act to keep magical and undead clients out of trouble. But getting back together with her old flame throws one more ball into the mix and romance with a guy who has two kids can get complicated. When her old mentor asks her to investigate the goings-on of a dark witch, things turn messy. The witch is stalking supernatural creatures to collect ingredients for a potion that Lynlee can’t seem to figure out. To keep those closest to her from becoming the next victims, she may have to confront the demons within herself.


Trouble with Holidays (3)
And get the prequel to the series in A Christmas Yet to Come Anthlogy: Falling for a human who doesn’t believe in magic was the last thing Lynlee Lincoln needed. Beck Hale was a young architect and she was a Neutralizer-in-training—they were drawn together, but worlds apart. When Beck’s apartment gets flooded, she invites him to her home for Christmas. Lynlee tries to ignore the pull of the mistletoe, but after all, ‘tis the season. 


ABOUT THE AUTHOR


  When Olivia Hardin started having movie-like dreams in her teens, she had no choice but to begin putting them to paper. Before long, the writing bug had bitten her, and she knew she wanted to be a published author. Several rejections plus a little bit of life later, she was temporarily “cured” of the urge to write. That is, until she met a group of talented and fabulous writers who gave her the direction and encouragement she needed to get lost in the words again. Olivia has attended three different universities over the years and toyed with majors in Computer Technology, English, History and Geology. Then one day she heard the term “road scholar,”' and she knew that was what she wanted to be. Now she “studies” anything and everything just for the joy of learning. She's also an insatiable crafter who only completes about 1 out of 5 projects, a jogger who hates to run, and she’s sometimes accused of being artistic. A native Texas girl, Olivia lives in the beautiful Lone Star state with her husband, Danny and their puppy, Bonnie.

Connect with Olivia and Get information about releases, contests, news and more here:

Website | Newsletter | Twitter | Facebook