Thursday, 5 May 2016

BLOG TOUR - INVISION - CRONICLES OF NICK SERIES BY SHERRILYN KENYON

Title: Invision
Series: Chronicles Of Nick
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Publisher: St Martins Press
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Mythology, Paranormal
Expected Release Date: 3rd May 2016

BLURB supplied by St Martin's Press
Think there’s a lot of pressure on your shoulders? Nick Gautier was born to bring about the end of the world . . . it’s not easy being the heir of a demon overlord.

But Nick is determined to thwart his destiny and get into a good college. To be more than his genetics and prophecy foretell. No one is ever going to tell this stubborn Cajun who and what he really is. Or how to live his life.

Not even the Fates of the Universe. But now that he and his team of ancient gods and demons have claimed the Eye of Ananke and he sees the missteps of the future, he has to battle the demons within that are far deadlier and more treacherous than any he’s battled before. All the while his arch nemesis is back and determined to reclaim his place as the harbinger for Armageddon. Even if it means killing Nick and barbecuing everyone he loves to do so.


Book Trailer Link


EXCERPT

He’d just gotten comfortable again when the door opened to admit a new student. Something that didn’t happen often in their small private, parochial school. And it wasn’t just because St. Richard’s was hard to get into due to its high academic standing. But rather from the fact that the school had been set up as a place for preters to learn how to mingle with humans and not let the stress throw them into their animal states. 
    While there were a handful of baretos, or “normal” humans who had no idea that they were attending school with shapeshifters, the majority of the student body here was either shapeshifters or the children of Squire families. Squires who had been in service to Dark-Hunter like Kyrian and Acheron for generations.
 
    As such, the Squires usually sent their kids to private school together so that they could be watched by older Squires to ensure that no one messed with them. Especially since their enemies might want to take their kids hostage, or kill them to get back at their parents or the Dark-Hunters in retaliation for the centuries of protecting humans from their supernatural predators.
    It also allowed the shapeshifter families a controlled environment for their children so that they could have playtime with humans where if they had an accident and shifted into their animal bodies, the humans wouldn’t flip out and call the authorities. As Squires or their children, they all knew about Were-Hunters, and they could help cover for them with the humans here who didn’t know about them.
    It gave the Were-Hunters a way to practice being in the normal world so that they could acclimate.
 
    Nick had been one of those baretos students at St. Richard’s until two and half years ago when his best friends had turned on him, and Kyrian had saved his life. For some reason that still eluded Nick, the ancient Greek had taken a liking to him and decided to give him a hand up and bring him into this amazing world.
    Now he was a Squire at an age that was unheard of since Squires were supposed to be eighteen before they could be sworn in to their oaths. But Kyrian had pulled strings and so here Nick was. The youngest Squire in Council history.
    And this new guy they were introducing . . .        
 
    He didn’t appear to be a Squire.
    Nick glanced to Caleb. What do you think?
    Caleb shrugged nonchalantly.
    Ms. Pantall cleared her throat as she read his card. “Everyone? This is Nathan St. Cyr. Nathan’s a new student who just moved to New Orleans from New York. I know everyone will be on your best behavior and welcome him in. Mr. St. Cyr, if you’ll take an empty seat, we’ll get started.”
    An odd sensation went through Nick as Nathan neared him. Like a wire had been touched to his spine and sent a jolt through his entire central nervous system. Not that anyone had ever done that to him, but that was what he imagined such a thing would feel like.
    As Nathan neared his desk, he inclined his head to him, then sat down on the other side of Kody.
    Yeah, that didn’t endear him any. You better not be eye-balling my girl, punk . . .
    Nick would snatch those blue eyes out of that boy’s head and use them for marbles. The Malachai in him was rising up and breathing fire down Nick’s neck. It was hard to leash the beast when he came calling like this. Every part of Nick wanted a piece of Nathan for daring to trespass on Kody’s personal space.
    Especially when he leaned over a second later and, with a charming grin, brushed his hand against Kody’s arm. “Do you have a pencil I can borrow? Mine must have fallen out of my backpack.”
    “Sure.” Kody handed him the one she was holding.
    His grin turned even more debonnaire as he ran it under his nose and smelled the stylus as if he could still detect her light perfume on the wood. “Mmm, I’ll treasure it always. Thank you for your kindness, my noble lady.”
    When Nick started to rise, Caleb caught his arm. Down, boy. Don’t make me smack your nose with a rolled up newspaper.
 
    Nick cut a glare at his best friend to let Caleb know he could be a worthy substitution as a whipping boy if he didn’t let go.
    Kody turned toward Nick. Is it me or was that gross?
    And that right there saved Nathan’s life. Leave it to his girl to be oblivious.
 
    He was relieved, until Nathan turned back toward her.
    Suddenly, Kody’s desk slid four inches closer to Nick’s, and farther from Nathan’s. She turned an indignant glare at him for his audacity. 
 
    At the sharp, scraping that made most people cringe, everyone in the room shot around to look for the source of the sudden sound. Nick forced himself not to cringe at the involuntary use of his Malachai powers.
 

    Clearing his throat, he glanced to his teacher. “Sorry. My foot got caught under Kody’s desk.”
    “Why was your foot under her desk?”
    Nick shrugged. “I’m too tall for the desk and my feet have a mind of their own. You’ve seen me walking down the hall, Ms. Pantall. I never know where my arms or legs are located, hence all the bruises I keep.”
    She rolled her eyes. “Keep your feet under your own desk, Nick. Stop disrupting class or I’ll send you to the office.”
    Something stabbed him in the leg. Hard. Nick let out a sharp curse and though it wasn’t in English, Ms. Pantall had enough Cajun in her to unfortunately know exactly what the word meant.
    “That’s it! Get to the office! Now!”
    “But—”
    “No buts! Go!”

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
New York Times and international bestselling author Sherrilyn Kenyon is a regular at the #1 spot. With legions of fans known as Menyons (thousands of whom proudly sport tattoos from her series and who travel from all over the world to attend her appearances), her books are always snatched up as soon as they appear on store shelves. Since 2004, she had placed more than 80 novels on the New York Times list in all formats including manga and graphic novels. Her current series are: Dark-Hunter, Chronicles of Nick and The League, and her books are available in over 100 countries where eager fans impatiently wait for the next release. Her Chronicles of Nick and Dark-Hunter series are soon to be major motion pictures while Dark-Hunter is also being developed as a television series.





THE REST OF THE SERIES SO FAR
Nick Gautier was born the son of a hated demon and is destined to end the world. But he doesn't believe in accepting a fate he had no say in, and he's just stubborn enough to balk. No one tells Nick who and what he is. Not even the gods. But how much control does anyone really have to defy the odds and their impoverished past, and build a better future?
In Sherrilyn Kenyon's YA novel series The Chronicles of Nick, we journey with Nick as he finds ways to circumvent the odds and become the man and hero he knows he can be, odds and enemies be danged.  Reviewers call Kenyon’s writing “brisk, ironic, and relentlessly imaginative” (Boston Globe); Publishers Weeklycalled her “[A] publishing phenomenon…[Sherrilyn Kenyon is] the reigning queen of the wildly successful paranormal scene…Just one example of arguably the most in-demand and prolific authors in America these days.” 

Title: Infinity
Series: Chronicles Of Nick #1
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Publisher: St Martins Press
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Mythology, Paranormal
Expected Release Date: 25th May 2010


BLURB supplied by St Martin's Press
At fourteen, Nick Gautier thinks he knows everything about the world around him. Streetwise, tough, and savvy, his quick sarcasm is the stuff of legends. . .until the night when his best friends try to kill him. Saved by a mysterious warrior who has more fighting skills than Chuck Norris, Nick is sucked into the realm of the Dark-Hunters: immortal vampire slayers who risk everything to save humanity.

Nick quickly learns that the human world is only a veil for a much larger and more dangerous one: a world where the captain of the football team is a werewolf and the girl he has a crush on goes out at night to stake the undead. But before he can even learn the rules of this new world, his fellow students are turning into flesh-eating zombies—and he's next on the menu.
As if starting high school isn't hard enough. . .now Nick has to hide his new friends from his mom, his chain saw from the principal, and keep the zombies and the demon Simi from eating his brains, all without getting grounded or suspended. How in the world is he supposed to do that?
Goodreads Link
Amazon US
Amazon UK


Title: Invincible
Series: Chronicles Of Nick #2
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Publisher: St Martins Press
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Mythology, Paranormal
Expected Release Date: 22nd March 2011


BLURB supplied by St Martin's Press
Nick Gautier's day just keeps getting better and better.
Yeah, he survived the zombie attacks, only to wake up and find himself enslaved to a world of shapeshifters and demons out to claim his soul.
Being a teenager is no picnic either. His new principal thinks he's even more of a hoodlum than the last one, his coach is trying to recruit him to things he can't even mention, and the girl he's not seeing, but is, has secrets that terrify him.
But more than that, he's being groomed by the darkest of powers, and if he doesn't learn how to raise the dead by the end of the week, he will become one of them...

Title: Infamous
Series: Chronicles Of Nick #3
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Publisher: St Martins Press
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Mythology, Paranormal
Expected Release Date: 13th March 2012


BLURB supplied by St Martin's Press
Go to school. Get good grades. Stay out of trouble.
That's the mandate for most kids. But Nick Gautier isn't the average teenager. He's a boy with a destiny not even he fully understands. And his first mandate is to stay alive while everyone, even his own father, tries to kill him.
He's learned to annihilate zombies and raise the dead, divination and clairvoyance, so why is learning to drive and keep a girlfriend so dang hard? But that isn't the primary skill he has to master. Survival is. And in order to survive, his next lesson makes all the others pale in comparison. He is on the brink of becoming either the greatest hero mankind has ever known…
…or he'll be the one who ends the world. With enemies new and old gathering forces, he will have to call on every part of himself to fight, or he'll lose everyone he cares about.
Even himself.

Title: Inferno
Series: Chronicles Of Nick #4
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Publisher: St Martins Press
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Mythology, Paranormal
Expected Release Date: 9th April 2013


BLURB supplied by St Martin's Press
The heat is on, and a new threat to humanity has risen . . .
Nick has his driver's license and he's not afraid to use it. But turning sixteen isn't what he thought it would be. While other boys his age are worried about prom dates and applying for college, Nick is neck deep in enemies out to stop him from living another day. No longer sure if he can trust anyone, his only ally seems to be the one person he's been told will ultimately kill him.
But life spent serving the undead is anything except ordinary. And those out to get him have summoned an ancient force so powerful even the gods fear it. As Nick learns to command and control the elements, the one he must master in order to combat his latest foe is the one most likely to destroy him. As the old proverb goes, fire knows nothing of mercy, and if Nick is to survive this latest round, he will have to sacrifice a part of himself. However, the best sacrifice is seldom the sanest move. Sometimes it's the one that leaves your enemies confused.
And sometimes, you have to trust your enemy to save your friends. But what do you do when that enemy is you? 

Title: Illusion
Series: Chronicles Of Nick #5
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Publisher: St Martins Press
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Mythology, Paranormal
Expected Release Date: 1st April 2014


BLURB supplied by St Martin's Press
Be careful what you wish for. . . You just might get it.
Nick Gautier is tired of his destiny. He doesn't want to be the son of a demon who's fated to end the world. Nor does he want to see another demon or other preternatural creature who wants to kill or enslave him. He just wants to be normal teenager and have normal problems like everyone else.
But normality isn't all it's cracked up to be. When he gets sucked into an alternate reality where his mother has married his mentor and his Atlantean god best friend has become a human geek, he begins to understand that no life is free of pain, and that every person has a specific place in the universe . . . even the son of a hated demon. Most of all, he sees that his powers aren't the curse he thought they were, and that the world needs a champion, especially a champion the world's enemies can't imagine rising up to defend the very people he should destroy.

Title: Instinct
Series: Chronicles Of Nick #6
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Publisher: St Martins Press
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Mythology, Paranormal
Expected Release Date: 31st March 2015


BLURB supplied by St Martin's Press
Being a teen is never easy...
Zombies, demons, vampires, shapeshifters-another day in the life of sixteen-year-old Nick Gautier-and those are just his friends. But now that he's accepted the demon that lives inside him, he must learn to control it and temper the very emotions that threaten the lives of everyone he cares for. Something that's hard to do while trying to stay off the menus of those who want his head on a platter. And no one wants him more than the dark gods who created his race. Now that they know where he is, they will stop at nothing to reclaim him. And without knowing it, Nick has just embraced the one person he should never have trusted. The one person who will hand him over to his enemies to get back the life they lost.

Book Trailers for Sherrilyn's Series





Wednesday, 4 May 2016

REVIEW - THE COOKIE COMPANION: A DECORATORS GUIDE BY GEORGANNE BELL

Title: The Cookie Companion: A Decorators Guide
Author: Georganne Bell
Genre: Baking, Cookie Decorating
Publisher: Front Table Books, Cedar Fort
Release Date: 10th November 2015

BLURB from Goodreads
The Cookie Companion not only teaches the basics: recipes, baking and getting that icing on the cookie; it goes beyond traditional cookie decorating project books and addresses the single most difficult aspect of cookie decorating: using color formulas to re-create over 75 different popular colors and hues. The Cookie Companion also teaches techniques and skills listed alphabetically for easy searching.

Beginners will be able to pour over the first chapter to immediately gain the most basic skills necessary to begin decorating right away, while a skilled decorator will enjoy spending hours reading through the hundreds of entries to glean new tips and tricks they’ve never heard of before.

Cookie Companion will be the ultimate resource and design inspiration book for cookie decorators of all ages and skill levels. New decorators won’t want to make cookies without it and skilled decorators won’t want to put it down.
 


INITIAL THOUGHTS
So my first thoughts approaching reading this book is. . . how complicated will it be? From the snippets I have read about the book, it should be appropriate for beginners as well as still appealing to a more advance cookie decorator.

REVIEW
I was given a free e-copy of this book by Cedar Fort Publishers in exchange for my own honest opinion.
The cover with it's bright colours and gorgeous looking cookies is appealing to look at  There is a sub title of "A Decorators Guide"so I guess this is a cookie makers equivalent of a how to manual. Would the cover make me pick this one up from a book store shelf? I would most probably pick this one up to browse through it. I aren't all that into cookie making/decorating so if I bought it, it would probably be for a gift for someone.
The Author Georganne begins the book by describing cookies as "scrumptious little bites of love" she then goes on to say that cookies can look fantastic! The Author continues the introduction in a chatty friendly manner that has the familiarity of a friend speaking to a friend.  Georganne goes on talking about the perfect cookie to match your individual needs from it. Georganne explains there are three basic cookie recipes you need to be able to make, such as, vanilla sugar cookies, chocolate sugar cookies and ginger cookies. The page numbers for these individual recipes, so you can easily skip to the relevant page. This book has great well described step by step instruction that are detailed enough for the novice decorator. There are lots of photographs/pictures throughout the book to add more to the individual descriptions too. That is one thing I have noticed about non fiction books published by Cedar fort, they always have these fantastic illustrations!
There are icing colour charts. explaining how to create available base colours together to recreate whatever shade or colour you may need. This section is very detailed and well organised into "yellows, reds, greens" etc. 
One recurring theme throughout this book was that you don't absolutely have to spend a fortune just make the most of what you already have with a touch of lateral thinking. 
Here are some examples of using cookie cutters for more than just the obvious, such as a Christmas Tree Cutter can be turned upside down and icing added to make the cookie into an angel! A Folk Heart cutter can be turned to a side position and made into kissing lips! A rubber duck cutter can become a mermaid and a paw cutter turned into a monkey!
Then there's actual cookie decorating using items like cornstarch, corn syrup, food colouring, sanding sugar, scribers, spreading cookies, stencils, sugar pearls, royal icing transfers, sugar veils. and adding lettering. The book covers different tools, equipment and making your own cutters are also spoken about within the book too. Even storing cookies in the correct manner is discussed to keep your cookies their best for as long as possible.
This really is a very comprehensive handbook it is literally an Aladdin's cave of information, 
I think this book should be every cookie decorators "go to best friend manual" with idea's for cookie decorating for any and every project you may have.
I'd recommend this title to local schools, Brownie/Girl Guides/Girls Brigade (and the equivalent male counterpart clubs) as a resource of ideas to create original cookies from instead of churning out the same old recipes and designs. Give children something great to aim for, allow them their individual creativity to bake a cookie they have designed! I think parents, grandparents etc who love doing, and making things with children would enjoy this book too. I know my daughter (though she is now 20 years old) would have loved to have recreated some of the cookies within this book as well as coming up with her own designs. It's something both myself and my mum would have loved to have done with her. This book is the type of book to be passed down generation to generation. The author presents the information and instructions in a friendly, helpful, non preaching way and constantly reassures the reader throughout the book that these creations are not as daunting as you may at first think them to be. I will point out that yes, you may find the book is a little Americanised but hey things aren't that different to in the UK and with the baking trend becoming ever popular I think UK readers will find this book just as useful. The most I think you'll notice the US/UK division is the store listings for supplies that Gerogann has added at the end of the book. Having said that she has also listed online retailers too that may supply the UK. 
So did I enjoy the book? Yes, I really did. It made me think back to baking and cookie decorating with my mum back when I was young, as well as the creations my own daughter made both with myself and her grandmother my mum).
Would I recommend the book? Definitely, I've mentioned within my review that I could see lots of different people that this book would be a valuable tool for.

FINAL THOUGHTS
What a great handbook, thoroughly enjoyed reading this one along with the other titles I have on my list. If you love cookies then this book has to be a must buy. This book contains a cookie for every person and every possible occasion, along with tips to make the most of your baking.



Tuesday, 3 May 2016

RELEASE DAY PROMOTION - ECHOES OF SILENCE BY ELANA JOHNSON

I  first discovered this title via Kindle Scout, and of course I voted for it! It has now been published via Kindle Press and I was fortunate enough to receive a free e-copy! 
I will be reading it as soon as I have more reading time! 

Title: Echoes Of Silence
Author: Elana Johnson
Publisher: Kindle Press
Release Date: 3rd May 2016

BLURB from Goodreads
Twenty-three-year-old Echo del Toro doesn’t know about the bride-choosing festivities the tyrannical Prince of Nyth has planned—until she’s taken from her home by five armed soldiers. She’s led under the cover of a magically produced storm to an opulent compound to join hundreds of girls, each vying to be chosen as the next Queen of Nyth.

As she plays the charade of falling in love with the Prince, Echo realizes three terrifying truths: He is hungry for her song-magic, he has a secret plot to dethrone his father, and he is not wholly unlikeable.


Faced with the strongest dark magician in centuries, Echo must know when to let her voice fly and when to hold her tongue, or she’ll find herself caught in the lasting notes of a song that can’t be unsung.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR
I am the author of the POSSESSION series, which includes novels POSSESSION, SURRENDER, and ABANDON, as well as short stories REGRET (ebook only) and RESIST (free here on Goodreads). 

ELEVATED and SOMETHING ABOUT LOVE, YA contemporary romances in verse are both out now. 

My next futuristic fantasy series includes ELEMENTAL RUSH (novella), ELEMENTAL HUNGER (novel), and ELEMENTAL RELEASE (novella). All are available now!

My next YA sci-fi series, The Rift Walkers, will be published by Jolly Fish Press in Fall 2016 and Spring 2017. My full-length adult contemporary romance debut is coming from Cleis Press in 2016. 

I also write Christian Western romances under the pen name Liz Isaacson. Go here to check out what books I have out in this exciting genre!https://www.goodreads.com/author/list...

In between all the smiling, I blog for the League of Extraordinary Writers and help to organize WriteOnCon. 

I also teach, watch reality TV, and drive too fast.

Visit elanajohnson.blogspot.com to keep up with book happenings. Email me at elanajohnson@gmail.com -- I love hearing from readers.

PROMOTION - THE WICKED BOY - THE MYSTERY OF A VICTORIAN CHILD MURDERER BY KATE SUMMERSCALE

Title: The Wicked Boy - The Mystery Of A Victorian Child Murderer
Author: Kate Summerscale
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing (UK & ANZ)
Genre: Non-Fiction, History, True Crime, Mystery
Expected Release Date: 5th May 2016

BLURB from Goodreads
In the summer of 1895, Robert Coombes (age 13) and his brother Nattie (age 12) were seen spending lavishly around the docklands of East London -- for ten days in July, they ate out at coffee houses and took trips to the seaside and the theater. The boys told neighbors they had been left home alone while their mother visited family in Liverpool, but their aunt was suspicious. When she eventually she forced the brothers to open the house to her, she found the badly decomposed body of their mother in a bedroom upstairs. Robert and Nattie were arrested for matricide and sent for trial at the Old Bailey.

Robert confessed to having stabbed his mother, but his lawyers argued that he was insane. Nattie struck a plea and gave evidence against his brother. The court heard testimony about Robert's severe headaches, his fascination with violent criminals and his passion for 'penny dreadfuls', the pulp fiction of the day. He seemed to feel no remorse for what he had done, and neither the prosecution nor the defense could find a motive for the murder. The judge sentenced the thirteen-year-old to detention in Broadmoor, the most infamous criminal lunatic asylum in the land. Yet Broadmoor turned out to be the beginning of a new life for Robert--one that would have profoundly shocked anyone who thought they understood the Wicked Boy.

At a time of great tumult and uncertainty, Robert Coombes's case crystallized contemporary anxieties about the education of the working classes, the dangers of pulp fiction, and evolving theories of criminality, childhood, and insanity. With riveting detail and rich atmosphere, Kate Summerscale recreates this terrible crime and its aftermath, uncovering an extraordinary story of man's capacity to overcome the past.
 


ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Kate Summerscale (born in 1965) is an English writer and journalist.

She won the Samuel Johnson Prize for Non-fiction in 2008 with The Suspicions of Mr Whicher or The Murder at Road Hill House and won a Somerset Maugham Award in 1998 (and was shortlisted for the 1997 Whitbread Awards for biography) for the bestsellingThe Queen of Whale Cay, about Joe Carstairs, 'fastest woman on water'.
As a journalist, she worked for The Independent and The Daily Telegraph and her articles have appeared in The Guardian, The Daily Telegraph and The Sunday Telegraph. She stumbled on the story for The Suspicions of Mr Whicher in an 1890s anthology of unsolved crime stories and became so fascinated that she left her post as literary editor of The Daily Telegraph to pursue her investigations. She spent a year researching the book and another year writing it.
She has also judged various literary competitions including the Booker Prize in 2001.


Learn more about Kate and her books here


Monday, 2 May 2016

SERIES PROMOTION - THE MALEDICTION TRILOGY BY DANIELLE L. JENSEN


Title: The Songbird's Overture
Series: The Malediction Trilogy Prequel.
Author: Danielle L. Jensen
Publisher: Strange Chemistry (Angry Robot)
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Paranormal, Mythical, Romance, Magic.
Release Date: 25th April 2014

BLURB from Goodreads
I wrote this story as a tool to help me with writing Hidden Huntress, and it turned out well enough that I decided it would be fun to share it with fans of Stolen Songbird rather than leaving it to languish on my computer's hard drive. 

It takes place four years prior to the events of Stolen Songbird, and it will give a taste of what Cécile's life was like before the trolls.


Goodreads Link


Title: Stolen Songbird
Series: The Malediction Trilogy
Author: Danielle L. Jensen
Publisher: Strange Chemistry (Angry Robot)
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Paranormal, Mythical, Romance, Magic.
Release Date: 1st April 2014

BLURB from Goodreads
For five centuries, a witch’s curse has bound the trolls to their city beneath the mountain. When Cécile de Troyes is kidnapped and taken beneath the mountain, she realises that the trolls are relying on her to break the curse.

Cécile has only one thing on her mind: escape. But the trolls are clever, fast, and inhumanly strong. She will have to bide her time…

But the more time she spends with the trolls, the more she understands their plight. There is a rebellion brewing. And she just might be the one the trolls were looking for...


Title: Hidden Huntress
Series: The Malediction Trilogy
Author: Danielle L. Jensen
Publisher: Strange Chemistry (Angry Robot)
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Paranormal, Mythical, Romance, Magic.
Release Date: 2nd June 2015

BLURB from Goodreads
Sometimes, one must accomplish the impossible.

Beneath the mountain, the king’s reign of tyranny is absolute; the one troll with the capacity to challenge him is imprisoned for treason. Cécile has escaped the darkness of Trollus, but she learns all too quickly that she is not beyond the reach of the king’s power. Or his manipulation.

Recovered from her injuries, she now lives with her mother in Trianon and graces the opera stage every night. But by day she searches for the witch who has eluded the trolls for five hundred years. Whether she succeeds or fails, the costs to those she cares about will be high.

To find Anushka, she must delve into magic that is both dark and deadly. But the witch is a clever creature. And Cécile might not just be the hunter. She might also be the hunted…


Goodreads Link
Amazon US
Amazon UK

Title: Warrior Witch
Series: The Malediction Trilogy
Author: Danielle L. Jensen
Publisher: Strange Chemistry (Angry Robot)
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Paranormal, Mythical, Romance, Magic.
Release Date: 3rd May 2016

BLURB from Goodreads
Cécile and Tristan have accomplished the impossible, but their greatest challenge remains: defeating the evil they have unleashed upon the world.

As they scramble for a way to protect the people of the Isle and liberate the trolls from their tyrant king, Cécile and Tristan must battle those who’d see them dead. To win, they will risk everything. And everyone.

But it might not be enough. Both Cécile and Tristan have debts, and they will be forced to pay them at a cost far greater than they had ever imagined.


Goodreads Link
Amazon US
Amazon UK


ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Danielle was born and raised in Calgary, Canada. At the insistence of the left side of her brain, she graduated in 2003 from the University of Calgary with a bachelor’s degree in finance. But the right side of her brain has ever been mutinous; and in 2010, it sent her back to school to complete an entirely impractical English literature degree at Mount Royal University and to pursue publication. Much to her satisfaction, the right side shows no sign of relinquishing its domination.

AUTHOR LINKS