Tuesday, 31 March 2015

REVIEW - SHADOWS HAVE GONE - THE END OF ALL THINGS BY LISSA BRYAN

Title: Shadows Have Gone
Series: The End Of All Things
Author: Lissa Bryan
Publisher: The Writers Coffee Shop
Genre: Dystopian, Romance, Post Apocalyptic
Release Date: 26th March 2015

BLURB from Goodreads
Carly Daniels knows what it is to suffer loss. She knows what it is to sacrifice. In the two years since a pandemic virus—known only as the Infection—decimated humanity, she’s made choices she never could have imagined. She’s condoned violence in the name of peace and done the unthinkable in the name of mercy. But with Justin at her side, she’s also learned there’s nothing she can’t face and nothing she wouldn’t do to protect those she loves.

But now another threat has arrived in the form of a uniformed man driving an army truck, claiming to represent the remnant of the United States military. Someone has set their sights on their community . . . and on Justin. The struggle to defend their little homeland is far from over, and the visitors may have brought more danger with them than just their weapons.

The shadows are closing in. Carly has to find out whether she has the strength to stand on her own when all of her support has fallen away. What remains when the shadows have gone?



REST OF THE SERIES SO FAR

Title: The End Of All Things
Series: The End Of All Things
Author: Lissa Bryan
Publisher: The Writers Coffee Shop
Release Date: 24th January 2013

BLURB from Goodreads
After a terrible virus ravages the planet, Carly Daniels, one of the few survivors, hides in her apartment in Juneau trying to survive the best she can with only occasional forays to gather food. With her is Sam, a wolf puppy she found starving on the streets. He becomes her companion and a reason to continue when giving up sometimes seems like the more attractive option. Still dazed with shock and grief, she hopes for the world to go back to normal soon.

She is discovered by Justin, an ex-soldier who is intent on making his way to Florida before the winter sets in. Justin coaxes her out of her hiding place and convinces her to join him on his journey, because a warmer climate will be their best chance against the extremes of Mother Nature.

Together, they begin a perilous journey through a nation laid to waste by the disaster. Challenges abound along the way. The weather, injury, and shortage of supplies all help to slow them down. In time, they discover that they aren’t the only survivors. Some are friendly but some have had their minds destroyed by the high fever. Then there are those who simply take what they want, leaving Carly and Justin with no choice but to defend what is theirs.

But their journey is not without joy and love. Together, they face every struggle, including an unplanned pregnancy. Despite the perils of bringing a child into a world of chaos, their baby is a new beginning for themselves and a symbol of hope for the other survivors they find along the way.

This is the story of their journey to find a place to begin a new life, and a home in each other.

PURCHASE LINKS

Title: Tales From The End
Series: The End Of All Things
Author: Lissa Bryan
Publisher: The Writers Coffee Shop
Release Date: 24th January 2013

BLURB from Goodreads
From the author of The End of All Things comes a collection of short stories about the Infection that swept around the globe, decimating the population, and leaving behind a small number of survivors, unprepared to deal with the brutal new world which had replaced the one they'd known.

And now, Lissa Bryan gives us three new stories in Tales from the End, and one bonus story that was previously published. Two are an introduction to new characters in the upcoming sequel to The End of All Things, and the other two are a visit with old friends.

The HorsemenL.A.'s mayor has declared quarantine to try to halt the spread of the Infection. Pearl sets off across the city to buy supplies, but already the world is changing. Something strange is in the air. The Horsemen are coming ...

Veronica
When Veronica's mother doesn't come home from work and no one answers the phone when she calls for help, a nine-year-old girl is thrown into the chaos of a world coming to an end. Veronica decides it's up to her to find her family. "Veronica" is the story of a little girl's courage in the face of the end of all things.

"I Wandered Lonely As A Cloud"

They called her Shadowfax-- the mare Carly and Justin found on their travels. But before she was found by Carly, the retired dressage horse was known as Cloud. An unusual tale of the end, told through the eyes of a confused and lonely horse, left in her pasture.

Birthday
(A previously-published bonus story.) Carly knows Justin has never celebrated his birthday, and after society crumbled, no one knows what date it is, anyway. But she wants to do something special for him. Celebrating the little things helps them keep hope alive, and as a blizzard rages outside, a small gesture of love warms their home.

Tales of courage, tales of survival... Tales from the End.


PURCHASE LINKS

Title: The Land Of Shadow
Series: The End Of All Things
Author: Lissa Bryan
Publisher: The Writers Coffee Shop
Release Date: 21st January 2014

BLURB from Goodreads
In the highly anticipated stand-alone sequel to The End of All Things, Lissa Bryan returns readers to a world devastated by disease, and the breakdown of modern society.

Two years after a horrific virus swept the globe, decimating the world’s population, Carly Daniels and her husband, Justin, have made a safe home in the isolated southern town of Colby. Protected by fences and a vigilant population, the residents there had somehow managed to keep the Infection out. Until the sight of Carly and Justin’s healthy baby girl convinced them it was safe to allow Outsiders in.

Now, in the wake of fresh losses, the small band of survivors struggles to rebuild a community. With only nineteenth-century technology to aid them, they must learn skills long forgotten to provide for their basic needs. Each day brings new challenges, and every choice they make affects their long-term survival. While Carly and Justin adjust to a growing family, and to their roles as community leaders, they must rely on one another for strength and support when they face difficult questions.

Carly has to decide how to move forward in a world where equality, justice, and freedom from tyranny are no longer guaranteed. And when new threats emerge, she has to decide what she is willing to do—and how far she’s willing to go—to protect what she has worked so hard to build.

When the end has come and gone, it’s a journey down a long and broken road through The Land of the Shadow.


Goodreads Link


PURCHASE LINKS
Amazon UK


EXCERPT

“There’s other news,” Justin said. “We made contact with a man driving an army truck.”
“The army?”
“Someone with the army?”
“There’s an army?”
“Whose army?” Pete’s voice rang above the excited babble.
“That’s the right question,” Justin said. “Whose army? He might have been wearing a uniform and claiming affiliation, but I have my doubts.”
“He claimed to be from the US Army?”
Claimed,” Justin said, stressing the word hard. “And his claim had a few inconsistencies. I was in the Army, and I know. Whatever this guy is a part of, it’s not the army as we knew it.”
“What did he want?”
“Said he was out scouting and saw the smoke. He agreed to leave a message outside of Clayton if his people want to get in contact with us again. And I would imagine they will.”
“Last thing we need is another fight,” Grady said. He took off his hat and wiped the sweat from his forehead. “You think they know where we are?”
“General area. We wouldn’t be that hard to find if someone was really searching for us. If they’re really army, then yes, they know exactly where we are as we speak. But as I said, I have my doubts.”
“Think it will come to a fight?” Pete asked.
Justin scratched his chin. “I really can’t say. What I can say is that we always need to be prepared for it, prepared to defend what is ours.”
“What if they really are the army? Would we be America again?”
“Wait. When did we stop being America?”
“America is dead.” This came from David, his voice as blunt as a dropped stone. “We all saw it die two years ago. I don’t know what we are now, but the Constitution sure ain’t in effect anymore. There’s no government. There’s no social contract holding us together. That’s what America was, you know—a collective agreement of the people. Now we’re just—” He sliced a hand through the air.
“If the army is still active, that would mean there is a government, which would make this still America,” Grady said. “They’d be the government’s representatives, establishing order.”
Justin shook his head. “You’re thinking way too far ahead. Even if they are US Army—and that’s a very big if—they don’t have control of the whole country. There is no centralized government, no law enforcement. They’re not coming to rescue us.”



MY REVIEW
Title: Shadows Have Gone
Series: The End Of All Things
Author: Lissa Bryan
Publisher: The Writers Coffee Shop
Genre: Dystopian, Romance, Post Apocalyptic
Release Date: 26th March 2015

BLURB from Goodreads
Carly Daniels knows what it is to suffer loss. She knows what it is to sacrifice. In the two years since a pandemic virus—known only as the Infection—decimated humanity, she’s made choices she never could have imagined. She’s condoned violence in the name of peace and done the unthinkable in the name of mercy. But with Justin at her side, she’s also learned there’s nothing she can’t face and nothing she wouldn’t do to protect those she loves.

But now another threat has arrived in the form of a uniformed man driving an army truck, claiming to represent the remnant of the United States military. Someone has set their sights on their community . . . and on Justin. The struggle to defend their little homeland is far from over, and the visitors may have brought more danger with them than just their weapons.

The shadows are closing in. Carly has to find out whether she has the strength to stand on her own when all of her support has fallen away. What remains when the shadows have gone?

INITIAL THOUGHTS
I've been highly anticipating this one, as the last book, The Land Of The Shadow ended on a major cliff hanger! So what would I wish for the much loved characters of this series? I truly want Carly & Justin, & their family & community to be safe, but I guess that wouldn't perhaps make an interesting read lol. I am looking forward to catching up with all the characters and their trials and tribulations."

MY REVIEW
The cover of this book shows Carly and Justin hand in hand walking through derelict buildings, with Sam, Carly's wolf, behind them as always on guard and watching for any danger. Carly and Justin have their backs to us walking forward, which fits this book as both Justin, Carly and the Colby community are heading forward and are making progress with their lives, their relationships and their crops and more. Would the cover make me want to pick this book up in a book store? Yes, I would want to know about their journey, and what had happened to the buildings around them.
I can honestly say that I have slipped right back into this book, instantly remembering what had happened and who every one was. Just as we feel a little relief for our settlers, danger looms once again. Another new entity to be feared? I guess I'll find out as I read more of the book.
So the Colby people have done what had to be done to protect their little community, and are heading back to Colby when they see a military vehicle approaching them. Carly ever the optimist immediately jumps to the conclusion it's the army and finally they will be "saved". Justin however quickly see's through the military image and speaks to the male from the vehicle. He agrees to leave a note and to come back and check on the note with a view to meeting the "head of the military" at some point. Justin is the more cautious and doesn't reveal the exact location of Colby or how small/large a settlement they are. Carly is initially very angry with Justin for bursting her illusion of finally being saved, but soon realises that a klot of the points Justin makes are sensible. In fact Carly goes from initial euphoria of being saved and wanting to go with the military man, to being extremely suspicious and not wanting to have anything at all to do with the new "military people".
We finally meet Lewis in this book, the man who saved lives by sending out vaccinations. Lewis wants to speak to Justin, but Justin wants nothing to do with him. Bryce the radio ham of the Colby settlement hears a message for Justin and still Justin refuses to meet and talk......Justin does realise he will have to face Lewis at some point.
Veronica is still a handful, but has lovingly cared for the little bulldog puppy we met in the last book. However she still has a problem with not straying too far from Colby and its boundaries. It's whilst looking for Veronica that Carly is taken. . . . . a sure way to gain Justin's attention.
Mindy is pregnant, and whilst listening for the heartbeat of the baby, Stacey is shocked to hear two heartbeat's, but there is no way she can confirm Mindy is having twins as they do not have access to the necessary "Before" equipment. It's a case of waiting until the birth. They do however prepare for an early birth, which turns out to be useful. Anything medical is still a struggle with a dwindling supply of drugs, the Colby citizens are resorting to more natural and herbal mixtures to help with everyday illnesses. There are always worries for both the young with no inoculations against what would once be thought of as minor diseases such as chicken pox, and measles. Then again for the older generation, such as pain medications are no longer plentiful or the more complicated things like heart operations, and pacemakers or even blood transfusions.
So much happens in this book, I've tried to share some of them without revealing too much. I hope I have succeeded. Shadows Have Gone is full of ups and downs. The "ups" being victoriously returning to Colby, Mindy being pregnant, possibly with twins. The "downs" being the death of Kross in the fight right at the end of The Land Of The Shadow. Kaden, Carly & Justin's adopted son takes the death of Kross heavily but shows great maturity in how he handles the burial and final resting place of his friend. There is also another death in Colby that touches on everyone's life, a great matriarchal figure is lost. One who was heavily depended on and referred to for opinions regularly. Illness also features in this book, once again no one is safe. How can you fight an invisible force? Colby's numbers increase, only to decrease due to this illness. Who lives on? and who do we have to say a sad goodbye to.
I loved this book from the first page to the last. There is one point, which you will know to what I am referring when you reach it that had me shouting "No, no, no!" at my tablet as I read. I definitely read late into the night with this book and became quite frustrated when I had to put it down. 
So did I enjoy the book? I totally loved it. I really didn't want the book to end. I will have to say once again what a twist. And thank goodness for the twist. (You'll know what I mean when you read the book!)  Would I recommend the book? Yes I highly recommend this book and the whole series! It's right at the top of the list of my favourite series. Would I want to read another book in this series?  Yes please as soon as it's available! If it were available to read now I would have picked it straight up as I finished this one!  Would I want to read other titles by this Author? I haven't read anything else by Lissa yet but, I would certainly read more my this author.

Q & A with Lissa Bryan
The questions I needed to ask about
The End Of All Things Series


After reading all the books in this series so far, I had so many what I call book specific question's (rather than my usual more generic questions from my Author Interview Template) I'll be honest it was really, really difficult to keep the amount of questions down, and hopefully as spoiler free as possible, as I feel like I could talk forever about these books. They are truly in my list of favourite reads and were among the few dystopian genre books that I read. I think I can honestly say The End Of All Things really began my love of dystopian/post apocalyptic fiction. So even though I could continue rattling on about how much I love this series, I will share with you the questions I asked Lissa Bryan that she kindly took the time to answer. I hope you find them as interesting as I did.

Where did you get the idea/inspiration for “The End Of All Things” series?
It grew out of my love of dystopian novels. My all-time favorite has to be Stephen Kings The Stand. The End of All Things has a similar premise: a pandemic virus and a long journey toward a new home, though my novel doesnt have the paranormal aspects of Kings story.
And it had a lot to do with my nitpickiness, to be honest. I often get frustrated when I read or see things functioning that wouldnt be in dystopian stories, like the cars in The Walking Dead and the electricity in Zombieland. (In The Stand the characters were able to turn on the electricity again by essentially flipping a switch at the power company.) Whenever Id see something like that, my imagination would be sparked into thinking, Well, what if they didnt have that? What would they do? and my mind would be off spinning a story around it.

Which of your books from your “The End Of All Things” series were easier/harder to write than the others?
The last book was probably the hardest, because I knew I was saying goodbye to the characters.

What genre would you place “The End Of All Things” series into?
At its heart, its a romance, because the main focus is on the love story between Carly and Justin, but its more than that its also dystopian, a survival story. Ive never really been good about being able to place my stories into a category. All of them have multiple genres mixed in, probably because I love so many types of books.

What made you decide to write that genre of book?
Love stories for me at least are the most important stories we have. Our most vulnerable, secret hearts, shared with another. Theyre the most human stories of all, the story of mankind itself written on a small scale.

Did you choose the titles first, or write the books then choose the titles?
It all depends on the story itself. Sometimes, the title evolves with the story, and sometimes I choose it later. The End of All Things was originally just The End. But the longer title actually fit the story better, considering Carlys connection with The Lord of The Rings.
Ghostwriter always had that title, even when it was nothing more than a story I wrote in my head to amuse myself. When I pitched it to the publisher, I was tentative about it, and said we didnt have to use that title, but my publisher was enthusiastic about it, considering its context.
Under These Restless Skies had its title before I was even finished with writing the first chapter of the book. I discovered the poem inscribed on the monument to the people executed within the Tower, and as soon as I saw those words, I knew it was the title I wanted. It gave me chills, and I knew it was perfect.

How did you come up with characters names and place names in your “The End Of All Things”?
I choose names based on their sounds and the meaning I want them to convey. For example, in Ghostwriter, I chose Seth and Sara because they sound like the swish of ocean waves on the sand.
 Carly is soft and curly sounding, but with a strong first syllable, hinting at strength. Justin is a sharp, brisk name that has the connotations of justice.

Are character names and place names decided after their creation? or do you pick a character/place name and then invent them?
Usually, a name grows along with the character. Once in a while, a character comes to me almost fully formed, like Seth did. I knew he was Seth from the moment I heard his voice in my mind.

Do you decide on character traits (ie shy, quiet, tomboy girl) before writing the whole book or as you go along?
I know this sounds strange, but it often feels like I dont really decide anything about them at all. It often seems like they come to me and say, Hi, Im So-And-So. This is my story. They seem to develop on their own, as independent people, and I get to know them as the story drifts through my mind, much the same way a reader would discover it. In some ways, it feels like Im watching the story create itself in my head, with little active input on my part.
Only a few times have I sat down at a keyboard and made up a character. I usually have to back off for a bit and let it brew in my mind to see if its going to take. I do most of my writing while Im vacuuming or shopping for groceries. Its mostly a mental process. The actual typing is the last part of it.

Did you write down a basic plot/plan for your book, before you actually begin writing it all out? Or do you let the writing flow and see where it takes the story?
I did have a plot plan with Under These Restless Skies because I was following history. That one was difficult, because I had all of these little scraps of paper and post-its all over my desk with birth dates, death dates, conception dates it was a mess.
Other than that, I dont usually sit down with a plot plan. The story develops in my mind before I sit down at the keyboard, so Ive discarded plots, mulled over characters and done most of the work mentally before I ever set to typing.

Do you have a favourite book out of your “The End Of All Things” series you have written? If so why is it your favourite?
The first one will always be my favorite, because its the book in which Carly and Justin fell in love.
[I totally adored reading how their relationship developed, in the beginning their denial, and  then the awkwardness, then finally their acceptance and realisation they were in love. The last book was the hardest to read in terms of their relationship and where it travels. I can't say much more as it would become "spoilerish".]

Do you have a favourite character from your “The End Of All Things” series? And why are they your favourite?
Its hard to pick a favorite character, because its like picking a favorite child. You love them all, for different reasons. But if I had to choose, Id probably say Carly, because I admire her spirit and strength so much. She has this unshakable optimism and dedication to doing what she believes is right. Shes compassionate and strong stronger than she knows.
[I love Carly and Justin too, though I also love the character of Kaden their "adopted" son too. . . . and I also love Kross. There's just so many great characters within this series! I do think every woman should have/needs their very own "Justin"]

If you had to choose to be one of your characters from “The End Of All Things” series which would you be and why?
I think Im going to have to go with Carly again. She has a lot of qualities I admire. If I was Carly in a post-apocalyptic scenario, I would probably survive, but not as Lissa.

How did you come up with the Title and Cover Designs for “The End Of All Things”? Who designed the covers of your books?
The first cover was so difficult. I kept going through stock photography sites, trying to find images. However, if you search for post-apocalyptic photos with women in them, youre most likely going to be given a lot of images of girls in bikinis wearing gas masks, or wearing miniskirts and holding large guns. That wasnt really what I was going for. But the clock was ticking and my publisher kept nudging me to pick something. One evening, a friend posted her vacation photos and I gasped out loud at one of the images. It was a picture shed shot as her car was entering a tunnel, and it was exactly what I was looking for. I was delighted when she gave me permission to use it.
The second cover shows Carly and Justin in a slightly strange looking street under a stormy sky. Carly is taking the lead in this image, showing that shes starting to emerge as a leader.
The third cover Well, we havent had the reveal yet, so Ill stay mum for the moment.

Is there anything in your “The End Of All Things” series that you would change now if you could? And what would it be?
I didnt originally plan it as a series. I thought it would be one book, but it turned out to be much longer than I anticipated once I started typing it out. My publisher and I decided to split it into two books, and I ended it where it seemed like a natural stopping point. Once I reached the end of the second book, I realized I wasnt done with these characters. I needed a little more time to bring them full circle and show how they had grown, both as individuals and as a couple. I see how that if I had planned it from the beginning as a three-part series, the transition between the books might be a little better, and the arcs might be more clearly defined.
All I can say is that Im still relatively new at this and Im learning on the job as I go.

How many more books can we expect in “The End Of All Things” series?
This is the last one in this series. Carly and Justins tale has been told. I feel like I could go on forever with them because theyre always going to face new challenges in the wasteland, but I think its time to let them go.

Would you ever consider doing a spin off series from “The End Of All Things?
Thats a possibility. Ive been working on a story with different characters, set in the same world, about twenty-five years later. Im not sure yet if its going to work out, but its something Ive been working on.
[I really hope Carly and Justin get a mention! maybe the new central characters could be Dagny and Kaden? I'm already looking forward to reading it, so I hope it works and I get to read it!]

I'd like to say thank-you very much for taking the time to complete these questions for me, my blog, and it's followers.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Lissa Bryan is an astronaut, renowned Kabuki actress, Olympic pole vault gold medalist, Iron Chef champion, and scientist who recently discovered the cure for athlete's foot...though only in her head. Real life isn't so interesting, which is why she spends most of her time writing.
She is the author of four other novels, Ghostwriter, The End of All Things, its sequel, The Land of the Shadows, and Under These Restless Skies.

AUTHOR LINKS




***GIVEAWAY***






Monday, 30 March 2015

BOOK BLITZ - SCARRED BY MARIE LONG

Title: Scarred
Author: Marie Long 
Genres: New Adult, Romance
Publication date: March 3rd 2015

BLURB supplied by Xpresso Tours
Sometimes, love comes with a price…
The past is always gonna try and bring you down, but you gotta fight. Fight hard for what you love. Fight to win is what twenty-two-year-old Dominick Anderson believes, but his life is a struggle. Growing up with an abusive father has made Dominick slow to love and trust, and he relies on his brother Kevin to keep him on a straight path. Dominick fights his demons every day, every night. Now a sophomore at the University of Washington and working a steady job at a mechanic’s shop, Dominick wants to create a better life and find the future his father never wanted him to have.
Dominick suppresses his identity and feelings until he meets Denise Ramsey. Smart, stunningly gorgeous, and sharing his love for motorcycles, Denise is everything Dominick longs for in a girl but knows he can never have. When a past love threatens her life and brings out Dominick’s suppressed dark side, he must decide if she’s worth the risk.


PURCHASE LINKS


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Marie Long is a novelist who enjoys the snowy weather, the mountains, and a cup of hot white chocolate. She's an avid supporter of literacy movements like We Need Diverse Books (WNDB) and National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo).


AUTHOR LINKS
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3134057.Marie_Long

TEASER

EXCERPT
Chauncey’s is pretty busy by the time we arrive. With the place being only blocks away from campus, it’s one of the most popular bars, and our favorite hangout spot. Kevin finds a space across the street to park, and we get out, hustling across the street as rain pelts us.
“You know, you look ridiculous wearing those at night.” I point at his sunglasses.
Kevin adjusts his ball cap and stuffs his hands in the pockets of his brown hoodie. “I don’t give a fuck. I’m not in the mood to deal with fans right now.”
Dim lights and the smell of stale beer welcome us as we enter. The groups of college students that frequent here are standing or sitting around in their usual spots. Kevin and I find two empty stools at the bar, near where a bunch of frat guys are playing darts.
“You’re Miss Dee Dee tonight, li’l bro,” Kevin says with a smirk, and then points out the vodka to Olivia, the bartender.
I roll my eyes. It’s an inside joke Kevin and I have whenever we go out and drink. The one who’s named “Miss Dee Dee” first is responsible for driving, so they’re not allowed to get hammered.
“Whatever you say, Miss Daisy,” I say, and order my usual.
Olivia fills three shots and slides them in front of Kevin. He downs the first one in a single gulp, and then winces and hisses through his teeth.
I spin around in my stool so my back’s against the counter and watch the crowd at the dartboard. I recognize a few guys from Xi Rho Nu. The girls watch each guy who takes aim like predators assessing their prey. I look sidelong at Kevin, who quaffs his second shot. “Hey, Kev. You still single?”
Kevin looks up. “What the hell kinda question’s that?”
“An important one, ’cause . . . well, I met this girl at the club the other night, right? Name’s Trinity. Pretty sexy. Thing is, she’s one of Denise’s friends. She knows you and I are brothers.”
“Mmhmm.” Kevin downs his third shot and then signals Olivia to fill up three more.
“She’s cool,” I say. “But I don’t think we’d make a pair, y’know?”
“What? You can’t like her?”
“Not anything more than friends. I mean she already knows I have a thing for Denise. But the moment I mention your name her panties practically drop.”
Kevin smirks. “I tend to have that effect on the honeys.” Three more shots slide his way. He picks one up and tips his head back, emptying shot number four.
“She’s a good girl who’s looking for love, bro. You should talk to her.”
“Naw. I’m done with relationships for a while. Not after the shit I went through with the last one.”
I shake my head. “Seriously, I don’t think she’s anything like that. She’s Denise’s best friend, and from what I’ve seen, Denise doesn’t hang out with skanks like Justine.”
“Justine was worse than a skank.” Shot number five disappears quicker than I can blink.
“Trinity loves the fact that you play basketball,” I say.
“You told her that?”
“Yeah. And she thinks it’s hot.”
“Does she, now?” He traces his thumb across his smiling lips.
“Yup, and she said she wants to watch you play sometime.”
“Play what?”
Basketball!”
He nods absently. Has the vodka already started to kick in?



***GIVEAWAY***
Blitz Wide International Giveaway
Swag bag incl. necklaces, themed drink coasters, wine glasses & more

a Rafflecopter giveaway





BOOK BLITZ - BONE DRY BY CADY VANCE

Check out the promo event for the first book in Cady Vance's paranormal series. 


24466321
Series: Soul Shamans #1
Release date: February 3rd 2015
Publisher: Sagan Press

Purchase: Amazon

Synopsis via Goodreads:

Sometimes it isn’t as easy as choosing right or wrong.

Sixteen-year-old Holly Bennett is a comic book nerd, a con artist, and a shaman. Most days Holly wishes she could trade in her power of spirit communication for something more useful--like fireballs or Wolverine claws. She knows spirits aren't exactly Casper the Friendly Ghosts. They're dangerous beings from Lower World who snack on human life, and messing with the magic from their world is an express ticket to big trouble. But when a shaman sticks her mom's mind between their world and ours, Holly becomes the unexpected breadwinner in the family. She uses her burgeoning shaman powers to set up fake hauntings and "banish" the so-called ghosts from her wealthy classmates' bedrooms. For a fee, of course.

When actual spirits start manifesting, Holly discovers that other shamans have come to town, summoning life-sucking spirits for their own ends. And the newcomers may just hold the clue Holly's been looking for--the one that can release her mom's mind from its Lower World prison. With the help of both a cute web comic artist and her partner-in-con, Holly plots to take them down, throwing her into a whirlwind of speedboat getaways, breaking and entering, and astral projections into the spirit world. And as her mom's mind slips further away, Holly has to fight to save her, and the rest of the town, before they get sucked into Lower World permanently.




EXCERPT


There are times when I listen to the moralistic words of the angel on my right shoulder rather than the wicked whispers of the demon on my left. With Kylie Wilkinson leaning across the cafeteria table, eager to hand over cash I so desperately needed, I couldn’t help but smack the halo off that perfect little angel.

“Two hundred bucks,” I said, holding my hand palm up. The eagerness on Kylie’s heart-shaped face fell into a scowl. She tucked a stray strand of glossy hair behind her polka-dotted headband and shifted in her seat.

“You’ve got to be kidding me, Holly.”
I pulled back my hand, closed my fingers into a fist and pretended to be interested in my bologna sandwich. That move got them every time. The din of cafeteria chatter rose up around us as we sat in silence. Girls laughed, plates clattered and sneakers squeaked. Five seconds passed before Kylie cleared her throat.

“Okay, wait.” She reached into her Eddie Bauer backpack and pulled out her wallet. 

I kept my attention on my sandwich, nibbling away while she anxiously counted the cash. She had exactly four fifties which made me think she already knew what I charged and had been playing me to see if I’d go lower.

A guy walking by our table stopped to watch the transaction. I turned to raise my eyebrows at the tall, thin figure towering over us. Nathan Whitman, Kylie’s ex-boyfriend. He flashed a grin at me, his dark, wavy hair curling on his forehead, his high cheekbones carving a V on his otherwise boyish face. I smiled around my sandwich and hoped I didn’t have bits of meat stuck between my teeth.

“Is our friendly, neighborhood ghostbuster in action again?”

I’d taken a case for Nathan last year. He’d thought he was being haunted—they all did. Before that day, I’d considered Nathan just another bland guy navigating the Seaport High popular crowd. A preppy sailor only interested in country clubs and stock points. But after seeing the stacks of comic books in his room, I decided there might be an interesting guy hiding behind the polo shirts.

Not that I’d ever had the time to find out.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Cady Vance

Cady Vance is the author of YA and NA speculative fiction. After growing up in small-town Tennessee, she decided to embark on a grand adventure by packing up her bags and moving to NYC. Now, she studies for her PhD in the UK and dreams of seeing the world.