Sunday, 1 March 2015

PROMOTIONAL SPOTLIGHT & AUTHOR INTERVIEW - HARVEST - A FRANKIE HARLOW BY BETH MARTINU

Title: Harvest
Series: Frankie Harlow
Author: Beth Martinu
Publisher: Damnation Books
Release Date: 1st March 2015

BLURB supplied by the author
Frankie Harlow is an 18 year old university student. She plays carer to her father, who never fully recovered from her mother’s death 6 years ago, and essentially had to raise herself. Her father’s incapacitation at the hands of love has her sworn off of romance, vowing to never let herself become so dependent on another. Her uneventful life revolves around her study, her
father, and her two life-long friends Alyssa and Cameron- until she finds a mysterious locket.

In her search for its rightful owner she learns more about the locket’s ancient origins, and the deeper she gets, the more it seems to embed itself in her very existence. When a man she had been dreaming about drops dead at her feet and the locket responds, it becomes clear the answer is more sinister than she ever imagined.


PURCHASE LINKS
[to follow soon]


AUTHOR INTERVIEW

What is your name, where were you born and where do you live now?
Beth Martinu, Melbourne born and raised.

Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

Being a writer has always been on my list of aspirations. In grade 2 spent about a month writing a different picture book each night as "homework". Looking back, I wish I'd kept them! Writing aside, I also wanted to be a singer, an actor, a hairdresser, a doctor and a teacher.

 When did you first consider yourself as a "writer"?
 I'll let you know when it happens! I do so many things; I am so many  things. The leap  between someone who writes and being a "writer" still seems quite grand.

Did it take a long time to get your first book published?

Not necessarily a long time, but a lot of rejection. I understood that the market is flooded with brilliant authors all wanting to be heard, and publishers only have so many chances available to hand out. So when that email came through with a yes I was stoked, and extremely grateful.

Do you work another job as well as your writing work?

Sure do. I have three beautiful children, so I work 24/7 fulfilling all the positions that come under the umbrella of "mother". I also work full-time in a customer service position at a wonderfully supportive company.

What is the name of your latest book, and if you had to summarise it in less than 20 words what would you say? 
Harvest is the title of my latest book (which also happens to be my writing debut!). Can I summarise in a tag-style? "Discovering your destiny is one thing, accepting it is a whole other kettle of souls".

How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?
 I started Harvest a long time before I really began to write it- if that makes sense. The story and the characters where there, and I had both  them and maybe half a chapter down on paper. Then I pushed it aside as life got in the way. After a while more details started evolving, the plot and story-line continuing to develop whether I was writing it down or not. I'd say it took about 9 months to complete from when I formally decided I was going to get this story down in its entirety.

Do you have plans for a new book? Is this book part of a series?

Harvest is the first book in the Frankie Harlow Trilogy. I'm about 5 chapters into writing the second at the moment- it's getting exciting!

What genre would you place your books into?
This question has plagued me from the moment I completed Harvest. From a recommended age stance it is definitely falling into New Adult over Young Adult. When considering themes explored, it could both fall into and fall short of several genres. There are supernatural elements, but perhaps not quite grounded enough to qualify for paranormal. It's romantic at times, but not a romance. There's quite a lot of personal growth, but it's not what I'd call a coming-of-age. I think I've got a slashie on my hands.

What made you decide to write that genre of book?

I write what I like to read. Although I'm quite eclectic in my reading tastes, I always come back to the same ingredients: characters who are a little bit vulnerable who start to come into themselves; sexual tension; a little bit of mystery; and a world not quite normal.

COVER REVEAL - CAGE OF DECEIT - REIGN OF SECRETS BY JENNIFER ANNE DAVIS

Jennifer Anne Davis’ best-selling True Reign series captivated readers from the very first page. Now, get ready to become entangled in the follow-up series, Reign of Secrets. In this new series, follow Allyssa, the daughter of the beloved Emperor Darmik and Empress Rema— and find out what happens after happily ever after.

Title: Cage Of Deceit
Series: Reign Of Secrets - (spin off from the True Reign series)
Author: Jennifer Anne Davis
Publisher: Clean Teen Publishing
Genre: YA, Fantasy
Release Date: 25th August 2015

BLURB supplied by Xpresso Book Tours
Seventeen-year-old Allyssa appears to be the ideal princess of Emperion—she's beautiful, elegant, and refined. She is the darling of the kingdom and, one day, will be the most powerful ruler in the world. But for her, life at court is like a suffocating cage. During the day, she manages to keep a smile on her face and play the part of the perfect princess. But at night, she sneaks out of the castle and roams the streets with a commoner who doesn't know her true identity. She keeps tabs on the shady under dealings of the city and seeks out ways to help her people firsthand.

When a royal messenger arrives half dead, carrying news that an army from the northern front is amassing to destroy Emperion, Allyssa is forced to entertain an alliance with a handsome prince from a neighboring kingdom. She needs to marry him in order to secure his country's help to fight their mutual enemy. Prince Odar turns out to be rather charming, well spoken, and cultivated. In other words, he represents everything she despises about court life. To make matters worse, the prince insists that Jarvik— his nosy squire—watch Allyssa's every move, suffocating her even more. Jarvik is infuriating, bossy, and constantly looks down upon her.

When she sneaks out of the castle in disguise one evening, Allyssa comes face-to-face with an assassin who isn't from this part of the world, an assassin who was sent to murder the royal family. Stuck in an impossible bind, she allows Jarvik to help her. Together, the unlikely pair confronts the man sent to kill her so she can discover who's behind the lethal plot. Only, the more she learns, the more she understands that the invading army and the assassin are connected to an enemy she thought was long gone—an enemy with the power to destroy her family and the people of Emperion. The cage she so longs to break free from might just be the one thing she has to fight to keep intact. In order to save her kingdom, she has to sacrifice her freedom, her heart, and maybe even her life.


Learn more about the True Reign Series here 


ABOUT THE AUTHOR




Jennifer graduated from the University of San Diego with a degree in English and a teaching credential. Afterwards, she married her best friend and high school sweetheart. Jennifer is currently a full-time writer and mother of three young children. Her days are spent living in imaginary worlds and fueling her own kids' creativity. 







AUTHOR LINKS


Saturday, 28 February 2015

RELEASE DAY BLITZ - TWIN POWERS BY DAVID PEREDA

Title: Twin Powers
Author: David Pereda
Genre: Mystery/Suspense/Romance
Publisher: Second Wind Publishing
Expected Publication Date: Feb 28th, 2015

BLURB supplied by Girls Heart Book Blog Tours
While vacationing with her mother in Havana, a 10-year old American girl is taken by members of a child sex ring intent on selling her into forced prostitution. The abductors, believed to be Arabs, leave a note for the baffled mother stating that Stephanie’s kidnapping is an act of revenge. When the human traffickers avoid capture and manage to flee the island, the father of the girl, surgeon Raymond Peters, decides to take matters into his own hands and initiates a worldwide investigation. To support his efforts, the Cuban government, angered by their inability to apprehend the kidnappers, assigns Marcela, a lethal professional assassin, to help Raymond track down the culprits. The search for Stephanie takes the unlikely pair – a man who has sworn an oath to save lives and a woman who kills for a living -- to the Middle East in the hunt for the mysterious mastermind, Mohamed. As Raymond and Marcela overcome one life-threatening obstacle after another in their quest to find and rescue Stephanie, they uncover an incredible worldwide conspiracy undermining the highest political levels of the government of the United States. Working against the clock, Raymond and Marcela must pull out all stops to save Stephanie, flee Dubai, and expose the complot before Mohamed and his gang of thugs kill them.



PURCHASE LINKS
Amazon UK


ABOUT THE AUTHOR


I am an author and college instructor living in Asheville NC. My latest novel, Twin Powers, published by Second Wind Publishing, is the third installment of my popular Havana Series of thrillers featuring the handsome and peripatetic Doctor Raymond Peters and the beautiful and lethal Cuban assassin Marcela. This is what acclaimed author P.M. Terrell had to say about the book: “Pereda expertly weaves a web that becomes more intricate and mesmerizing with each suspenseful step, keeping the reader on the edge of their seat. The twists and turns are enough to keep you guessing and yet everything comes together seamlessly in a series of heart-pounding climaxes.”
My last romantic suspense novel, However Long the Night, published in 2012, won three awards. My previous novels include the thrillers, Killing Castro, also a winner of three awards, published in 2010, and Top Secret, published in 2009. Together with my daughter Sophia, I am now hard at work on a Young Adult novel titled Freaking Fast, with estimated publication in 2016.
A member of MENSA, I am the ex-regional director of Florida Writers Association’s Western North Carolina division and the founder of AWE (Asheville Writing Enthusiasts). I love sports and have competed for years in track and show-jumping equestrian events. Currently, I teach math and English at the Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College.

AUTHOR LINKS


Friday, 27 February 2015

COVER REVEAL - DRAWN BY CHRIS LEDBETTER

Title: Drawn
Author: Chris Ledbetter 
Publisher:Evernight Teen
Cover Artist: Jay Aheer Jays Book Covers By Design
Release Date: 06/08/15

BLURB from Goodreads:
Caught between the sweltering fall landscape of Wilmington, NC beaches and southern illusions and expectations, all sixteen year-old Cameron Shade thinks about is art. That, and for Farrah Spangled to view him as more than just a friend. Cameron longs to win her heart through art.


After several warm interactions with Farrah, including painting together at the beach, Cameron discovers just how complex Farrah’s life is with her boyfriend and her family. Following a tense run-in with Farrah’s father, she forbids Cameron to ever speak to her again, but Cameron’s convinced there’s more behind the request.



To impress Farrah with a last-ditch effort, Cameron sketches her portrait. But the sketchbook he uses hides a dark secret. Farrah’s now in grave danger because the sketch he drew of her siphons her real-life’s soul into the sketchbook. Cameron now has twenty days to extract Farrah. To save her, he must draw himself into the book.



If he fails… they both die.



ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Chris Ledbetter grew up in Durham, NC before moving to Charlottesville, VA in 11th grade. After high school, he attended Hampton University where he promptly "walked-on" to the best drum line in the CIAA. And, without any prior percussion experience. He carried the bass drum for four years, something his back is not very happy about now.

After a change of heart and major, he enrolled in Old Dominion University and earned his degree in Business Administration. He's worked in various managerial and marketing capacities throughout his life. While teaching high school for six years in Culpeper, VA, he taught business management, business law, marketing, and sports marketing, and also coached football.

He has walked the streets of Los Angeles and New York City, waded in the waters of the Atlantic and Pacific oceans, and climbed Diamond Head crater on Hawaii and rang in the New Year in Tokyo, Japan. But he dreams of one day visiting Greece and Italy.

He's a proud member of SCBWI (Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators) and a strong supporter of the Need for Diverse Books. As a self-described, young reluctant reader, he writes young adult stories specifically to reach other reluctant readers. As a participant in the prestigious Nevada SCBWI Mentor Program, he was blessed to be mentored by Suzanne Morgan Williams, 2012 SCBWI member of the year.

He now lives in Wilmington, NC with his family, including three cats.

AUTHOR LINKS
 photo iconwebsite-32x32_zps1f477f69.png  photo icongoodreads32_zps60f83491.png  photo icontwitter-32x32_zpsae13e2b2.png  photo iconfacebook-32x32_zps64a79d4a.png


***GIVEAWAY***


Cover Reveal organised by:

BOOK TOUR - FAKE BOOBS BY RYAN RINGBLOOM

Title: Fake Boobs
Author: Ryan Ringbloom
Release Date: 4th February 2015

**Be aware mature content**

BLURB from Goodreads
Tori Albert is eighteen, her confidence level is zero. Her life experience…also zero. She’s a girl lost in the shuffle, hiding in the shadows, craving attention. If only someone, anyone, would notice her, maybe life would improve. 

Grant Donovan can’t stop noticing Tori, but she is young, inexperienced and na├»ve. She is also his best friend’s younger sister. Grant knows the best thing he can do is just walk away. So why the hell isn’t he walking away?

When a late night knock lands across her bedroom door, Tori knows what stands behind it could end in disaster…but how many time does opportunity come knocking?

Just when she thinks her luck is finally changing, the assurance Tori believes she has finally found is taken away. With new assets and a new goal in sight, Tori will soon learn her new found confidence isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. Unfortunately, some things you just have to learn the hard way. 


PURCHASE LINKS


EXCERPT

Prologue:

Grant

“Look around the bar, Grant. Give us an idea of what your type is. We’ll help hook you up with the perfect girl.” My sister’s friend, Gabby, tossed a pretzel into her mouth, and chewed while talking. 
I scanned a few of the girls seated closest to us. Fair skin, red hair, casually sipping a beer and chatting with her friends. She was pretty, but not for me. Moving along. Dark hair, exotic, confident, drinking a Martini. Her eyes connected with mine and she rolled them uninterestedly. Not a problem, the feeling was mutual. Next. Ponytail and glasses picking at the label on her bottle of beer. Cute, but once again, I wasn’t interested. 
“Doesn’t look like you see anyone,” Gabby said, exchanging glances with my sister, Julie.
I gave another glance around the room at the pretty faces surrounding us, but still no one held my attention. All of the girls were attractive. Just none of them seemed to do it for me.
Not like her.
The dull ache forming in my chest stopped me from going down that road again.
Crowds and drinking were never my scene. I was eager to leave even though we hadn’t been there very long. No matter what part of Jersey you were in, the bars were always mobbed. I’d almost forgotten how crowded it could get; it’d been so long since I was home. Not that Jersey was my home anymore. We paid the tab and the three stools we vacated were immediately snatched up in the packed bar.
As we made our way through the hoard of people, my eyes fell on a girl with the most unnatural looking blonde hair I’d ever seen. Platinum locks so light her hair actually bordered on white and eyes an odd shade of blue that just didn’t look right. Even in the poor lighting of the bar, I could see her make-up was piled on thick. Her jeans were tight and her blouse was low cut. The heels on her boots were high and her boobs were…ginormous. Way too large for her small frame. She stood in a circle of laughing girls, but there was something familiar about the sweet sound of her laugh that stood out. 
After passing the group of girls, I turned my head to catch one last glimpse of the busty blonde before being tugged from the bar into the fresh night air.
What was it about that girl? Did I know her? What was on her wrist?
“No. Way!” Julie and Gabby both stated dramatically in unison.
“No way what?” I asked, turning to face them.
“There is no way in hell we would ever let you go for a girl like that.” Julie laughed, patting me on the back.
“Like what?” I questioned, lifting my brow.
Gabby shook her head giggling and Julie answered for both of them.

“A desperate girl with big, fake boobs.”

TEASER


MEET THE AUTHOR & INTERVIEW

Ryan Ringbloom is a YA/NA author who lives for anything Romance.  The passion, love, angst, awkwardness… she loves all of it.  When Ryan needs a break from reality she sneaks off to read a romantic story or write one of her own.   Drinking coffee, reading Tweets and hugs from her six year old are the best part of her day.
You can follow her on Twitter: @RyanRingbloom or visit her website at www.RyanRingbloom.com . Feel free to contact her, she would love it!

What is your name, where were you born and where do you live now?
My name is Ryan Ringbloom. I was born in New York and I now live with my husband and son in New Jersey.

Do you have a favourite out of the books you have written? If so why is it your favourite? 
Of course all of the books hold a special place in my heart, but my fav of the bunch is Books, Blogs, & Reality. It focuses on the online friendships we make, getting lost in the fantasy of books and setting high expectations for reality.

Do you have a favourite character from your books? And why are they your favourite?
My fav is Lizzie from BBR. She’s married. She’s bored. A bad combination. Can that situation get turned around?
I’ve had a lot of people privately message me regarding Lizzie being their favorite character. She’s extremely relatable.

If you had to choose to be one of your characters in your book/books which would you be? And why?
Tessa, from the Fast Series. I’d kill for her problems.
              
Do you read all the reviews of your book/books?
Yes, every single one. Even the bad ones where I have to close one eye and remember to breathe.

What was the toughest/best review you have ever had?
The toughest reviews are when a reader gives a low rating but does not leave an actual review. Trust me, it sucks to hear people criticize your work, yet at the same time you just want to know…why did you hate it???? The best review…way too many to count. And let me tell you there is no better feeling than reading a review from someone who loved your book.

Would you ever ask a reviewer to change their review if it was not all positive about your book/books?
Never. Everyone has different opinions, prefers different genre’s, has a style of book they prefer. I always prefer honesty…even if it hurts like hell.

Have you ever suffered from a "writer's block"? What did you do to get past the "block"? 
Yes, I admit, I am suffering from it right now. My creative juices have stopped flowing, they are down to a trickle. I am working on getting past the block by reading, listening to music, just soaking up art in any form I can.

Do you think children at schools these days are encouraged enough to read?
Yes, I really do. My son is in Kindergarten and they have so many reading programs. They go to the library regularly and take home books. They have a book buddy program where they read with their book buddy in class. Every month a chart is sent home to fill in with the names of the books they read. I couldn’t be happier.

Did you read a lot at school and write lots of stories or is being a writer something newer in your life?
I loved to read as a kid. LOVED IT! And I did dabble in some short stories. I remember writing one about me, the boy next door and a magic worm.

Have you ever based characters on people you know or based events on things that have happened to you?
Yes, each character has a little of me in them. In one of my books, Panic, I tell a story dealing with both sides of adoption. I am an adoptive parent. There is a lot of my heart in that book. At times it was very difficult to write. And I hope all the love I set out to show in that book came through.                                                                                        
                                                                                                           ***GIVEAWAY***
                                                             
a Rafflecopter giveaway

                          

                                                                                        

COVER REVEAL - ORIGINS - FROM GODS BY MARY TING


Title: Origins
Series: From Gods
Author: Mary Ting
Release Date: 27th March 2015


BLURB supplied by Good Choice Reading
Skylar, Mason, and the other descendants embark a deadly quest to the underworld to confront the evil Hades, who has been plotting to kill off the descendants of all the gods.

On this journey, they soon discover that the ancient gods are not dead as once believed but are held captive in a secret location. In order to save the world from destruction at the hands of Hephaestus, the descendants must set out on a crusade to rescue the gods.

In the process, Skylar learns more about her bloodline and her powers, but there is also a heavy price to pay. The darkest forces known to man are about to return to reclaim their stolen kingdom

TEASER

Seeing nothing but darkness through door one heightened my awareness, and the mist that slowly crept out like thin layer of clouds, spreading and covering our feet, brought another level of fright. The ground started to shake, then a sound like thunder boomed, getting louder…louder…until it sounded more like a stampede.

My imagination got the best of me as I envision buffaloes charging for us. Roaring sounds burst in the air when a dozen of the Cerberuses tried to charge through at once. I would have preferred the buffaloes, but instead, we got Hades’s guard dogs.

Their glowing red eyes were what I saw first, then their vampire like teeth, and last three heads to a body. With serpent’s heads on the tips of their tales and lion like claws, they looked like they could rip us to shreds as they dashed for us as if we were a gourmet meal.

“Cerberus. I should have guessed.” Zara quaked, standing next to Tara. Extending both of their arms up, they were creating a shied. Blazing light engulfed us.

“You should have guessed sooner, but I don’t think it would have mattered.” Nick’s eyes glowed, ready to fight. “Here puppy, puppy. Let’s play.”





Mary Ting resides in Southern California with her husband and two children. She enjoys oil painting and making jewelry. Writing her first novel, Crossroads Saga, happened by chance. It was a way to grieve the death of her beloved grandmother, and inspired by a dream she once had as a young girl. When she started reading new adult novels, she fell in love with the genre. It was the reason she had to write one-Something Great. Why the pen name, M Clarke? She tours with Magic Johnson Foundation to promote literacy and her children’s chapter book-No Bullies Allowed.


Website | Facebook | GoodReads | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest 


Thursday, 26 February 2015

TRAILER REVEAL - I HEART ROBOT BY SUZANNE VAN ROOYEN

Title: I Heart Robot 
Author: Suzanne van Rooyen 
Published by: Month9Books
Cover Design: Cronje Design
Genres: Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Publication date: March 31st 2015


BLURB supplied by Xpresso Tours
Sixteen-year-old Tyri wants to be a musician and wants to be with someone who won’t belittle her musical aspirations.

Q-I-99 aka ‘Quinn’ lives in a scrap metal sanctuary with other rogue droids. While some use violence to make their voices heard, demanding equal rights for AI enhanced robots, Quinn just wants a moment on stage with his violin to show the humans that androids like him have more to offer than their processing power.

Tyri and Quinn’s worlds collide when they’re accepted by the Baldur Junior Philharmonic Orchestra. As the rift between robots and humans deepens, Tyri and Quinn’s love of music brings them closer together, making Tyri question where her loyalties lie and Quinn question his place in the world. With the city on the brink of civil war, Tyri and Quinn make a shocking discovery that turns their world inside out. Will their passion for music be enough to hold them together while everything else crumbles down around them, or will the truth of who they are tear them apart?


PURCHASE LINKS

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
I'm a YA author with a penchant for the dark and strange. I primarily write speculative fiction but enjoy literary writing as well. I occasionally delve into adult genres too.

I'm a musician and have a Master's degree in music, but I prefer writing strange stories, baking peanut butter cupcakes and playing with my shiba inu.

I'm repped by Jordy Albert of the Booker Albert Agency.

Publicity manager for Anaiah Press.

AUTHOR LINKS

TRAILER