Saturday, 10 October 2015


Title: Broken Hearts
Author: Ioana Visan
Series: Broken People, BK#2
Genre: Science Fiction, Cyberpunk

BLURB supplied by Eyes On Books
When life breaks you, you pick up the pieces and move on.
As The Nightingale Circus begin a quest to deliver a power source that has the potential to change the outcome of the war in the Far East, their efforts are thwarted when Nicholas is apprehended by French authorities.
Meanwhile, Dale stays in Bratislava to protect Aurore and her power source. When the largest weapons manufacturer in Europe discovers her secret, the chase is on.
With a tracker hot on their heels, Dale and Aurore struggle to stay one step ahead. Their dangerous journey takes them across Europe and leads them to the only ones who can help them – The Nightingale Circus.

Amazon DE


“Don’t worry about the stones,” Aurore said in the silence that followed. “Even if someone wanted to rob me, they wouldn’t have time to plan it in advance. And if they do, it’s just stones. I can always get others.”
He wasn’t worried about the stones. He checked the rearview mirror for the hundredth time. No tail. It actually would have been a relief to know they were being followed. He couldn’t fight an enemy he didn’t see, and just knowing someone might be there consumed energy he could have otherwise used more efficiently.
The thumping coming from the back of the car put his urge to lecture her on proper planning and risk costs on hold.
“What was that?” Aurore asked. “Do we have a flat tire?”
He frowned. “No.”
The thumps repeated. They were coming from the trunk.
Dale pulled over on the side of the road. “Stay here.” He jumped out and reached for his gun.
Of course, Aurore didn’t listen and got out, as well. Instead of arguing, he signaled for her to stay back. She did … barely.
Gun in hand, Dale popped open the trunk. Given the little space left by Aurore’s and his luggage, it could only be a midget or…
“Rosie!” Aurore gasped at the sight of the girl, her big brown eyes blinking at them, bothered by the light. “What are you doing here?”
Rosie unfolded her small body from between two suitcases and climbed out of the trunk, showing no sign of being intimidated by the presence of the two adults scowling at her. “You’re going to see Uffi. I’m going with you.” The pieces of metal laced in her teeth glinted as she spoke.
“No. We’re going on a business trip. We’re not going to meet with the circus.” Dale put the gun away, although he was tempted to keep it in sight and scare her with it. It would have been for her own good. She wouldn’t end well if she kept hitching rides with people who were basically strangers.
“It’s all right. I can wait.” Unfazed, Rosie grabbed her travel bag with her left hand, walked around the car, and climbed into the back seat.
“But—” Dale said.
The door closed.

Award-winning writer Ioana Visan has always dreamed about reaching the stars, but since she can't, she writes about it.

After fighting the apocalypse aftermath in "Human Instincts", she played with shapeshifters in “Blue Moon CafĂ© Series: Where Shifters Meet for Drinks”, and then she dealt with vampires in “The Impaler Legacy” series, before tackling longer works like a fantasy trilogy and a science fiction series.

Aside from publishing short stories in various Romanian magazines and anthologies, she published a short story collection "Efectul de nautil" and the Romanian edition of "Human Instincts".

She was awarded the Encouragement Award by The European Science Fiction Society at Eurocon 2013.

Social Links

Title: The Nightingale Circus
Series: Broken People Bk#0.5
Author: Ioana Visan
Genre: Sci-Fi, Cyberpunk
Release Date: December 2014

BLURB from Goodreads
Don’t be shy and come inside! The Nightingale is waiting to take flight!

Welcome to The Nightingale Circus! Listen to the singer with an enchanting voice. Watch the knife throwers who are also prosthetic builders. Here is a tele-charger on the run and a ballerina with no lungs. There is a broken pole dancer and an Asian bot. You’ll be amazed by a regular girl who becomes exquisite and frightening at the same time. 

They’re better known as the famous Nightingale, the Blade Masters, the Magician, the Swan, the Firebird, the Rocket Girl, and the Golden Lady. 

They are all waiting to tell you their story about how they came to the circus and why they stayed.

This is a companion short story collection to Broken People.


Title: Broken People
Series: Broken People Bk#1
Author: Ioana Vasan
Genre: Sci-Fi, Cyberpunk
Release Date: November 2014

BLURB from Goodreads
You don’t always get what you want, but if you’re lucky, you might get what you need.

For one week only, an impenetrable castle is open to the public, and Dale Armstrong has come to Bratislava to rob it. When he finds his partner’s arms mangled, he desperately searches for a way to fix him before time runs out.

Because the war in the Far East is sapping all the allied nation’s resources, only The Nightingale Circus has the spare parts, the power, and the expertise to fix prosthetics and help the injured, but nothing is free.

Unfortunately, Dale doesn't know about The Nightingale Circus’s side job, but a forced encounter with the most dangerous woman in the city, the Golden Lady, sends him their way. On this roller coaster of crazy twists and flips, schemes and deceit, wishes and dreams, no one can foresee how the aerialist will land.

Anything is possible in a world of Broken People.

Amazon US
Amazon UK 


Prizes: 3 ecopies of Broken People and 2 ecopies of The Nightingale Circus

Friday, 9 October 2015


Title: Somewhere in Between 
Author: Samatha Harris 
Publisher: Limitless Publishing
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance
Publication date: November 10th 2015

BLURB supplied by Xpresso Book Tours
Alexandra McCabe is disconnected from the world, grieving the loss of her parents…
Content with studying and keeping to herself, Alex has no interest in the campus playboy, Drew Collins, trying to get close to her. But even dousing him with beer doesn’t deter the easy-going charmer, and against her better judgment, the pair fall into a reluctant friendship.
Drew is bored with college life, and Alex’s romantic rejection intrigues him…
Their friendship is good for both of them, but Drew is used to getting what he wants, and he’s tired of shallow sorority girls. He’s much more interested in the feisty redhead, but despite his growing feeling, Alex keeps him firmly in the friend zone.
Old heartaches and new tragedies deepen a complicated relationship…
Whatever life throws their way, Alex and Drew remain best friends with their own traditions. Drew is Alex’s family, her rock, and Alex keeps Drew grounded, always challenging him to better himself.
When years of buried feelings rush to the surface, they threaten to change everything…
Drew promised his mother he’d tell Alex how he feels, when the time is right-but how will he know when that is? Alex is terrified to reveal those ‘three little words’ certain Drew doesn’t feel the same, and she’ll lose the only family she has.
Should Alex and Drew open their hearts, and risk being crushed? Should they be satisfied with a deep, lifelong friendship? Or does the only chance for happiness lie…
Somewhere In Between?

Samatha “Sam” Harris lives near Baltimore, Maryland with her husband David and daughter Ava. Born in Florida, she migrated north which most people agree was a little backwards. She has been an artist all of her life, a Tattoo Artist for more than ten years, and a storyteller since she was a kid. 

Sam has a slightly unhealthy love for Frank Sinatra, classic movies, and Jazz and Blues music, but her first love will always be reading. From Romance, to Thrillers, to Historical Fiction and everything in between, she loves to become a part of the story. As a writer she tells the stories that she would want to read.



Title: Every Big & Little Wish 
Author: E.C. Moore 
Genres: Romance, Young Adult
Publisher: Booktrope Publishing
Publication date: October 20th 2015

BLURB supplied by Xpresso Book Tours
E.C. Moore’s young adult novel, Every Big and Little Wish, opens in late spring 1970. Sixteen-year-old Jacy Wilbert’s Mom got promoted, so her parents sold their Victorian home in California and moved to a townhouse in Oregon.
Torn away from the only home she’s ever known, forced to leave her beloved German shepherd behind, Jacy feels misplaced. Exacerbating an already terrible situation, her dad runs off with the bombshell real estate agent who sold them their townhouse. And, just when it seems things can’t get any worse, her mom loses the stupid job they left California for in the first place and begins to drown her sorrows with pink wine, night after night. Jacy’s caught in the middle, struggling to maintain a relationship with her AWOL dad while tolerating his annoying, much-younger girlfriend.
Missing old friends back in California, and feeling like an outsider, Jacy needs to build a new social life in a new school. Not the sort of girl to wait around for what she wants to come her way, she sets her sights on Neil Wilder, the best-looking boy around.
Everything changes when Jacy Wilbert knocks on the wrong door.

EC Moore was born in Seattle, Washington, spent her childhood in Eastern Washington and Portland, Oregon, finished high school in Northern British Columbia, and moved to Southern California at eighteen to attend college. She perpetually misses evergreens and rain.

Although she has made her living as an interior designer and coffee house proprietor, writing has always been her passion. EC Moore writes media scripts and treatments freelance, but has focused her love of writing towards fiction, penning INCURABLE and soon to be released EVERY BIG & LITTLE WISH.

When EC Moore's not writing feverishly, you will find her out walking or sightseeing. She's wild about coffee, books, cooking, good wine, cairn terriers, miniature ponies, historical houses, and witty people.

She resides in a fifties bungalow in Southern California, with her creative-director husband, a yappy blonde dog, and one feisty Chihuahua.



Title: Life It Is What It Is
Author: Lisa Sugarman
Genre: Selp Help/ Advice
Release Date: 13th February 2014

BLURB supplied by the Author
We expend massive amounts of energy in pursuit of perfection. If only we never made mistakes. Wouldn't life be just perfect? Maybe, but it would also be static, unfulfilling, and really, really boring.
Nationally syndicated humor columnist, author, and mom, Lisa Sugarman, knows that life is a work in progress. She knows what we all suspect—life is at its best when it's fluid, unpredictable, and gloriously imperfect. And if this means life sometimes turns ugly and unpleasant, it only makes the good times that much sweeter.
Author of opinion column It Is What It Is, Lisa embraces reality, not perfection. “We're meant to screw up, make bad decisions, and lose our way. We can't control everything that life throws at us, but we can control how we react to it.”

With the right attitude and a little guidance from Lisa, anyone can be happy and fulfilled most of the time. Her collection of funny, inspiring, and sometimes poignant opinion columns reminds us that life just isn’t a straight line, even on the best of days, and it's the bumps in the road which make the journey so beautiful.


Lisa Sugarman works, lives, and writes in Marblehead, Massachusetts, a small town of twenty thousand people crammed onto a small peninsula just north of Boston. Lisa received her bachelor of arts with honors from Salem State University in 1991 and attended Emerson College’s MA in Writing, Literature & Publishing program. Since 1991 she has written for a number of Boston-area newspapers, including: the Canton Journal, the Randolph Herald, the Hingham Journal, the Cohasset Mariner, the Swampscott Reporter, the Jewish Journal, the Sharon Advocate, and the Stoughton Journal. Her nationally syndicated weekly opinion column, It Is What It Is, appears in over 400 daily and weekly GateHouse Media, Inc. newspapers and websites.

Thursday, 8 October 2015


Title: Nightwish
Series: An Echoes Of Eternity 
Author: Sydney Bristow
Release Date: 9th August 2015

BLURB from Goodreads
Serena Sykes just discovered that the mother, identical twin sister, and niece she never knew existed…are the last remaining witches on the planet. That is, except for Serena, who recently received her own limited, albeit wildly erratic supernatural abilities. 

But her newfound family isn’t interested in helping her master those gifts. After all, Serena’s mother has been communicating beyond the veil with the first witch in their line, a sorceress named Zephora who hopes to return to this dimension and destroy an ancient curse that would unleash paranormal creatures across the globe. 

To help guide her in this new landscape, Serena turns to her grandmother, an elderly woman suffering from dementia and the only vampire in existence, a man who has his own mysterious agenda. With less than 48 hours to prevent her family from triggering a supernatural wasteland, Serena must learn to control her abilities…if she hopes to save the world

Amazon US
Amazon UK


I’ve always wanted to write paranormal fiction, but it took me 15 years to finally doing it for one reason: I needed to be as enthusiastic about the world I’d create as my favorite TV show, Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Now, I knew I’d never write anything as great as that show, but I wanted to include the depth, humor, action, suspense, witty dialogue, etc. that Joss Whedon, the creator of Buffy, had added to his show.
Not only that, I had to devise a plot line that few writers are doing nowadays…something that was unique, while still seeming familiar. I’m glad (and relieved!) to say I succeeded.
So what is this mysterious plot that I consider so unique? My new novel, Nightwish, takes place in the real world. You see, many urban fantasy and paranormal authors have done a fantastic job of world building: alternate dimensions, paranormal creatures are divided into political factions in our world, etc. But of all the well-known paranormal series’ on the market, I haven’t been able to find any that began…in the real world: you know, before things started to change.
And that’s what I bring into the fold with Nightwish, the first book in my Echoes of Eternity series. The first sentence of the novel begins: “I’m going to savor each moment I spend…tearing every limb from your body.” First of all, yuck! But in the real world, you don’t tend to hear that every day. Unless you’re next door neighbors with a serial killer.
So when our heroine, Serena Sykes, turns around in a Chicago alley to find a man intent on killing her, she figures a friend is playing a prank on her. Only he’s not. To make matters worse, the man is determined to follow up on his threat. Did I mention he has superhuman speed and strength? So yeah, even though Serena has spent over 15 years training in martial arts, she’s unprepared for someone with inhuman skills.
Soon enough, upon hearing that supernatural creatures exist, she’s incredibly sarcastic because…well, wouldn’t you be if someone told you that vampires and demons existed before being told that…you just kinda happen to be a witch? Who wouldn’t have a snarkathon with that one?

Thus begins the first of a projected 5-book series…with the likelihood of a prequel trilogy focusing on all the backstory details (covering centuries) that I allude to in Nightwish. I’m glad I finally got the nerve to write an urban fantasy. And I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it!



“In my hometown, the restoration of a former movie theater on the town square provided the genesis for my new YA novel, SPARK. Who among us hasn’t dreamed of seeing their name in blazing neon across a gigantic marquee? Let me invite you to dim the lights and draw back the velvet curtains—let your imagination run wild as you enter my fictional Avery Theater, where literally anything goes…”  ~ Holly Schindler

Title: Sparks
Author: Holly Schindler
Publisher: Harperteen
Release Date: 17th May 2016

BLURB supplied by the author
When the right hearts come to the Avery Theater—at the right time—the magic will return. The Avery will come back from the dead.

Or so Quin’s great-grandmother predicted many years ago on Verona, Missouri’s most tragic night, when Nick and Emma, two star-crossed teenage lovers, died on the stage. It was the night that the Avery’s marquee lights went out forever.
It sounds like urban legend, but one that high school senior Quin is now starting to believe, especially when her best friend, Cass, and their classmate Dylan step onto the stage and sparks fly. It seems that magic can still unfold at the old Avery Theater and a happier ending can still be had—one that will align the stars and revive not only the decrepit theater, but also the decaying town. However, it hinges on one thing—that Quin gets the story right this time around.

Holly Schindler brings the magic of the theater to life in this tale of family ties, fate, love, and one girl’s quest to rewrite history.

(Both myself and my daughter have immediately fallen in love with this cover and are adding Sparks to our "MUST READ" lists right now!)

Spark “Premieres” May 17, 2016, but you can buy your “tickets” now.

Pre-Order Links

Holly Schindler is the author of three previous YA novels: PLAYING HURT as well as the critically acclaimed FERAL (starred PW review) and A BLUE SO DARK (starred Booklist review, ForeWord Book of the Year silver medal, IPPY gold medal). A writer of books for all ages, Schindler’s MG, THE JUNCTION OF SUNSHINE AND LUCKY, has made the master list for children’s book awards in Illinois, South Carolina, and Alabama. She is also a hybrid author, having independently released comedic women’s fiction (FIFTH AVENUE FIDOS) and the forthcoming PLAY IT AGAIN, her adult follow-up to her YA PLAYING HURT
She can be reached through her author site:, and hosts special sneak peeks and giveaways for subscribers of her newsletter:


Title: Impervious
Series: Ascension #1
Author: Heather Letto
Genres: Dystopia, Young Adult
Publication date: 29th April 2014

BLURB from Goodreads
The residents of Impervious are the remnant—the survivors of the War of Annihilation. And though the city is chockfull of pleasures to tantalize and entertain, a beast lurks in the corners, haunting the residents with its presence. 

The Beast—a mysterious and terminal illness killed off most of Generations One, Two, and Three. And as Gen-Four prepares to take the stage, a provocative, yet questionable, new method to avoid an untimely death incites a cultural rage.

But Fran lives counter-culture, off the grid in true rebel fashion. With a life far from opulent, she scurries through dark tunnels, searching for hot meals with Pete while ditching the holographic security team. To her, it’s a healthy trade-off. Unaccountability means The Council can’t steal her sliver of hope―a belief that she’ll see The Epoch arrive before The Beast can pull her into its fetid embrace.

After losing her mother and then her Rebel mentor, Fran stumbles upon a miraculous discovery that may save the residents of Impervious. That is, if she can outrun The Beast…


Title: Implanted  
Series: Ascension #2
Author: Heather Letto
Genres: Dystopia, Young Adult
Publication date: June 2015

BLURB supplied by Xpresso Book Tours
After a narrow escape from the city of Impervious, Fran’s heart aches for the ones she left behind. Will her brother ever connect the dots? And, what about Pete? Could he, along with the remaining Rebels, have survived the Council’s violent oppression?
As Fran ponders the fate of her friends, an even more disturbing revelation drops into her world—the knowledge that she, along with anyone who had lived underground remains implanted with the sinister presence of the Council. A fate rendering her powerless to save.
Yet one with pure blood, untouched by the Council’s defiling, lives among them. Could he be the new lifeline of hope? Is salvation of the city worth risking the life of this one-and-only?


I’m a book-writing, selfie-taking, latte-drinking, social media gal. I’m living a good life on the road as a full-fledged Bedouin (Well, except, my tent is actually a fully-equipped RV.) Me and my partner-in-crime (Benj) tend to hunker down wherever the skies are clear and the temps stay in the 70’s. We call ourselves Gypsy Nerds because we aimlessly wander the U.S. with glasses perched upon our noses and faces jammed into computer screens (for the first half the day... The second half of the day is typically devoted to playing because we’re also somewhat immature.)

Like most authors, the characters I create are my extended family.  And like most readers, when the story ends, I get a little sad. In real life, I have two handsome, hardworking, grown-up boys who know how to make their Mama proud! *Waves to Joey and Mike!*

The Ascension Series is my debut into the world of YA fiction.

I’m living what I love and loving what I live!