Saturday, 25 June 2016

PROMOTIONAL SPOTLIGHT - THE KILLING JAR - THE EXTRACTION FILES BY R.S. MCCOY

Title: The Killing Jar
Series: The Extraction Files
Author: R.S. McCoy
Release Date: 28th June 2016

BLURB supplied by the Author
Earth is dying, circling the drain on life support. The future of the human race depends on space exploration, but they’re running out of time. Parasitic insects are systematically killing the best scientific minds but no one knows why.
Mable Wilkinson is the last hope to figure it out, she just doesn’t know it yet. For years, her
resourcefulness, intelligence, and penchant for problem­solving have put her at the top of a very short list of researchers, only she doesn’t want to be part of it.
Cast out at sixteen, Mable wrote off the problems of the world long ago. Now, her focus is on
Hadley, her adopted little sister, and teaching her to survive in the cut­throat underground.
Instead, both Mable and Hadley fall into the hands of the program’s recruiter, Silas Arrenstein, and he’s determined to have one of them. Mable can join up with the man and program who killed her brother, or she can leave Hadley to the same fate.

CHARACTER PROFILE

TEASERS



ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Rachel McCoy is a Texan living in New Jersey. Between binge watching MTV reality shows and baking gluten free treats, she writes paranormal fantasy and science fiction novels. She is the self-published author of the Sparks Saga trilogy as well as numerous short stories, some of which now reside in anthologies. Back when she lived in the real world, Rachel earned a degree in marine biology, which contributed to her die-hard love of manta rays. 

AUTHOR LINKS

Friday, 24 June 2016

COVER REVEAL - DUALITY - THE ENERTIA TRIALS BY J. KOWALLIS

Title: Duality
Series: The Enertia Trials
Author: J. Kowallis
Genre: NA, Dystopian
Release Date: 18th November 2016

BLURB supplied by Xpresso Book Tours
Trust No One.

In this world, nothing is as it seems . . .

Reggie’s visions turn to horrifying hallucinations. For weeks she’s tortured with starvation and nightmares that vex her resolve. Her only companion is a mysterious shadow—a figure with no shape, no substance—that seems to have a mind of its own. It’s a presence that prickles her memories and plants a feeling of familiar dread in her mind.

Where she is, she doesn’t know, and the organization delving into her mind is more threatening than ever before.

With the help of shady contacts from his past, Nate struggles to travel half way around the world, facing his own demons and dreadful revelations. But when a stranger joins the team, the duality of this newcomer’s actions sets everyone on edge, leading them through a trial one of them . . . will not survive.


PURCHASE LINKS

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
J. Kowallis, the only girl of four children, grew up in northern Utah with a head full of wild stories (most often unreal). At the age of 9, she wrote her first poem, a dedication to E.B. White’s Charlotte’s Web. It was so intriguing, her third grade teacher requested to keep the original. Between living in various fictional worlds, and spending time on her studies, she managed to graduate from Weber State University’s creative writing program. She now lives in Utah with her Mini Schnauzer, Etta, and spends most of her time still bouncing between this world and the fantastical while enjoying delectable ├╝ber-dark chocolate and lavender baths. She enjoys dreaming about, flying to, and writing about distant lands (real or unreal).

Author links




Thursday, 23 June 2016

COVER REVEAL - THE VRAI DOMICILE - THE SIXTH DOMICILE BY COURTNEY RUGGLES

Title: The Vrai Domicile
Series: The Domicile Series
Author: Courtney Ruggles
Publisher: Elephantine Publishing
Genre: NA, Dystopian
Release Date: 24th August 2016

BLURB supplied by Elephantine Publishing
Q437B was ready to die for the Second Revolution. Then she entered the Muertre

Q and B expected death when the Elders ordered their execution. What they discover instead changes everything they thought they knew about their world. Saved by the mercy of the Elders, they awaken in the Vrai Domicile, a mysterious place hidden below the Sixth Domicile housing hundreds of former rebels.
Except these rebels have been brainwashed, conditioned to be blind followers.

Q quickly learns of the Elders’ new plan for her – she is to become their warrior, to reunite the Vrai and Sixth Domiciles with purity, love, and unwavering faith. But to Q, she’ll be undoing everything she and the rebels fought for.

Now Q and B must fight to survive once more, forced to forge new alliances with strangers who promise nothing is as it seems. But surviving comes with a choice – follow the Elders and quash the Revolution, or defy them and free the people, putting B's and Grandmother’s lives at risk.


In a place where the fire of rebellion is extinguished at every turn, can Q continue to be the spark that fuels the Revolution?

Goodreads Link (no link yet)

PURCHASE LINKS

TEASERS



REST OF SERIES SO FAR. . .
Title: The Sixth Domicile
Series: The Domicile Series
Author: Courtney Ruggles
Publisher: Elephantine Publishing
Release Date: 20th January 2016

BLURB from Goodreads
In a future ravaged by greed and war, The Domicile has emerged. A new civilization governed by clandestine Elders where citizens are united by white masks and uniform identities. To remove one’s mask, to go outside the Domicile, to show defiance, means being sent to the Meurtre, a horrifying death sentence. 

Q437B doesn’t follow the rules. She craves sunlight, dares to love her childhood friend B116A, and–the most forbidden of all–has seen the true face of her beloved beneath his mask. 

But when Q becomes an Adulte, The Domicile threatens to take away everything that makes her happy. She is forced to marry an abusive soldier who demands she conform. 

Whispers spread about the unconventional lessons she teaches her new students. And when Q openly disobeys the Elders, the people become restless, questioning the truth of the world in the wake of such defiance. 

Rumblings of discontent stir as others begin to follow the path toward their freedom. The Revolution has begun, and Q is the spark that ignited the flames.


Goodreads Link

PURCHASE LINKS
Amazon US
Amazon UK

Wow! How did I miss The Sixth Domicile becoming available? I'll be checking that one out on Amazon UK, as well as adding The Vrai Domicile to my Want To Read Wishlist! ~Jeanz


COVER REVEAL - THE SHATTERED SEAM & SILENCING THE SUN - SEAM STALKERS BY KATHLEEN GROGER

Title: The Shattered Seam
Series: Seam Stalkers
Author: Kathleen Groger
Cover Design: Deranged Doctor Designs
Release Date: Late Summer/Early Fall 2016

BLURB supplied by Xpresso Book Tours
Spending spring break on an isolated island rumored to be haunted is not sixteen-year-old Sam’s idea of fun. Spending spring break with her uncle and his ghost-hunting film crew on an isolated island is even worse.

Way worse.

Her family’s secrets—and a genetic ability she can no longer deny—surface, along with the ghost of a rich serial killer who left behind a trail of trapped souls.

And he’s not through yet.

With only one chance for escape, Sam must embrace her family’s curse and close the Seam between the living and the dead. Or be lost, forever.

Title: Silencing the Seam
Series: Seam Stalkers
Author: Kathleen Groger
Cover Design: Deranged Doctor Designs
Release Date: Late Summer/ Early Fall 2016

BLURB supplied by Xpresso Book Tours
Sixteen-year-old Sam Drake thought she’d left the horrors of spring break and Defiance Castle behind her. But back home, the spirits swirling around her are more demanding, more aggressive.

Fear of being institutionalized by her skeptical mother drives Sam to follow her dad to New Orleans. There she hopes to take back control of her life. But the French Quarter and the cities of the dead have other plans. Hour by hour they drain her, making it next-to-impossible to fight off a ghost who is determined to use her for its own revenge. 

Ensnared in an ancient power struggle where Voodoo rituals, betrayal and murder rule, Sam must determine who to trust. One step in the wrong direction will lock her inside the Seam to walk among the dead for eternity.


Goodreads Link


ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Kathleen wrote her first story in elementary school about a pegasus named Sir Lancelot. It had no plot or conflict, but it sparked a dream. After serving a fifteen-year sentence in retail management, the bulk in big box bookstores, she turned her love of reading into a full-time career writing dark and haunting characters and stories. She writes paranormal, fantasy, suspense, horror YA books. She is a contributing member of READerlicious, writers who love readers. Check out her blogs here.

She lives by the mantra that a day is not complete without tea. Lots of tea. Kathleen lives in Ohio with her husband, two boys, and two attention-demanding dogs. When not writing or editing or revising, you can find her reading, cooking, spending time with her family, or photographing abandoned buildings.

AUTHOR INTERVIEW





Wednesday, 22 June 2016

PROMOTION & REVIEW - THE GIRL FROM THE SEA BY SHALINI BOLAND

Title: The Girl From The Sea
Author: Shalini Boland
Genre: Suspense
Release Date: 9th June

BLURB from Goodreads
A chilling suspense story of wounded hearts and dark secrets. 

Washed up on the beach, she can’t remember who she is. She can’t even remember her name. Turns out, she has a perfect life – friends and family eager to fill in the blanks. 

But why are they lying to her? What don’t they want her to remember? 

When you don't even know who you are, how do you know who to trust?


ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Hello :) I write suspense thrillers for adults, and dark adventures for young adults. I live in Dorset, England with my husband and two noisy boys. Before children, I was signed to Universal Music as a singer songwriter. As well as writing novels, I also run eBookSoda - a place for readers to get FREE and bargain ebooks - yay!


AUTHOR LINKS


REVIEW
Title: The Girl From The Sea
Author: Shalini Boland
Genre: Suspense
Release Date: 9th June

BLURB from Goodreads
A chilling suspense story of wounded hearts and dark secrets. 

Washed up on the beach, she can’t remember who she is. She can’t even remember her name. Turns out, she has a perfect life – friends and family eager to fill in the blanks. 

But why are they lying to her? What don’t they want her to remember? 

When you don't even know who you are, how do you know who to trust?

Amazon UK

INITIAL THOUGHTS
I loved Shalini's Outside series and really enjoyed her writing style, but that was my favourite genre. This one is described as a chilling suspense, not the type of genre I would usually choose. Still looking forward to reading as I consider myself a Shalini Boland fan"

THOUGHTS WHILST READING

8.0%
"How will the missing young woman know who she really is? How can she go "back to her life" when she doesn't remember who she is."
8.0%
"So her boyfriend has come forward to "claim her" like a lost umbrella?"
38.0%
"As more about her and her life is revealed Mia seems to dislike herself and her life even more"
75.0%
"So maybe Mia's "accident" wasn't actually an accident at all?"
83.0%
"Wow I didn't see that one coming!"

REVIEW
I received a free e-arc copy of this book directly from the author in exchange for my honest review.
The cover is a view underwater, there is a female deep under the surface. I love the mushy blue colour used on the cover and the fact the title and the authors name are in varying shades of the same colour. There's a great byline on the cover too, which says "The more she remembers, The less she wants to know". It really fits the book well. 
Would the cover make me pick this one up from a bookstore shelf? Yes, I think the cover catches your attention and encourages you to think about the girl, why she is under the water etc.
So the main character is. . . well to begin with we don't really know who she is and neither does she either! hence the title "The Girl From The Sea". The main character is female and has quite literally been washed up on the beach and she is almost chanting "keep moving forward, stay alive" to herself. The girl is finally discovered by a woman walking her dog. The girl is taken to the hospital and it is soon revealed that her name is Mia. Her boyfriend, the rather upper class sounding Pier Bevan-Price is very eager to be at his well off girlfriend's side to fill in any blanks she may have in her memory. When Mia is released from hospital, she return's to her home in Christchurch. Pier hangs around her presumably continuing their relationship as it was prior to her "accident". The more time Mia spends with Pier, the more he irritates her, so do his posh friends. Mia eagerly reaches out to her mother and sister, but their relationship cannot be relied upon, as they seem to have had a large argument and there is a lot of bitterness still remaining between them. The only person Mia feels she can talk to is Jack, a rowing coach. She relies more and more on him, causing Pier to become increasingly irritated by this "new Mia" rather than the Mia she was prior to the accident. Mia learns to accept that she may never regain her lost memories at all, when another body is found, along with an abandoned rowing boat. . . so maybe the "accident" was not an accident at all! Then Mia racks her brain to think of who would have attempted to hurt her, but still her memories evade her.
I totally adored this book, it had mystery, suspense, betrayal and intrigue in bucket loads! I admit I am not a big fan of the mystery genre but I loved this book. I both loved the character Mia and yet at the same time thoroughly enjoyed hating/disliking her. I also became fond of the more minor character of DS Wright, she was professional, yet genuinely seemed concerned about Mia's welfare.
I won't go into more details about the book other than to say be prepared for a really inventive twist that will leave you gaping in shock! I certainly did not see "that" coming at all! (You'll know what I mean when you read it.) The pace of the book is fairly steady but quick enough to keep you reading and being irritated by any interruptions whilst you're reading the book!
Did I enjoy the book? I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Would I recommend the book? Yes, I completely agree with the description of "chilling thriller". I think this will appeal to a wide audience and age range of readers.
Would I read more books by Shalini Boland? I already have read more titles by Shalini and intend to continue to do so.

FINAL THOUGHTS
Wow, I did not expect that brilliant twist at all! I highly recommend you read this one! I could actually imagine it being made into a film, it's really that good. Move over Murder She Wrote, Miss Marples and Poirot!




Tuesday, 21 June 2016

PROMOTION - THE SPARKS SAGA & OTHER TITLES BY R.S. MCCOY

THE SPARKS SAGA

“Everyone in the world has a Spark, a light inside that guides them, keeps them alive.”
Title: Sparks
Series: Sparks Saga
Author: R.S. McCoy
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance
Release Date: 4th December 2013

BLURB from Goodreads
Starting school is supposed to be a fun and exciting time for any new student. But for Lark, a skilled archer and fledgling mind-reader, it’s a creative form of torture. Locked in rooms and hallways with both friends and enemies, bombarded by the thoughts and feelings of his peers, Lark is a prisoner. 

On a quest to master his Spark, Lark’s mentor–his one ally–is anything but helpful. What Lark fails to realize is the value of his rare ability, and just how far some are willing to go to have control of him. 


"Loving her was easier when I thought we were going to die." 
Title: Spirits
Series: Sparks Saga
Author: R.S. McCoy
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance
Release Date: 20th July 2014

BLURB from Goodreads
With a new home on an island that prizes human sacrifice, Lark finds that reading minds is not enough. As he battles the tragedies that haunt him, his queen insists on the continuation of the violent practice, and he is powerless against her unrivaled Spark and uncompromising authority.

In order to stop her, Lark needs to learn the secrets of the spirits of the world. Only there isn't much time. War looms just over the horizon.


“Keeping them alive was harder than I ever thought possible.” 
Title: Schism
Series: Sparks Saga
Author: R.S. McCoy
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance
Release Date: 14th September 2014

BLURB from Goodreads
The devoted lover and proud father Lark is on the verge of losing it all. His abilities are slowly fading without reason and his enemies are looming ever closer. He has mere days to prepare for war and earn the allegiance of the Nakben tribes, none of which are eager to fight for a foreign queen. 

With his life and family hanging in the balance, Lark enters enemy territory, but he doesn’t realize just how weak he’s become.

Amazon UK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Rachel McCoy is a Texan living in New Jersey. Between binge watching MTV reality shows and baking gluten free treats, she writes paranormal fantasy and science fiction novels. She is the self-published author of the Sparks Saga trilogy as well as numerous short stories, some of which now reside in anthologies. Back when she lived in the real world, Rachel earned a degree in marine biology, which contributed to her die-hard love of manta rays.

To connect with RS McCoy (or swap recipes), 
visit her on her website (www.rsmccoyauthor.com

or check out her Facebook page (https://www.facebook.com/AuthorRSMcCoy). 

You can also join her newsletter to receive release updates, free stories, and bonus extras (http://eepurl.com/YItp1)

OTHER TITLES BY R.S. MCCOY
Title: Ashes Of East End: A Gaslamp Cinderella (short story)
Author: R.S. McCoy
Genre: Fairy-tale Re-Tellings
Release Date: 7th January 2016

BLURB from Goodreads
In the depths of Victorian London, Ashton is a girl on the run. She's one of the city's best thieves and tonight, she's going to pull her biggest job. With the help of a back alley mechanic, Ashton plans to infiltrate the upper class and rob them blind. Only she has no idea who'll she meet while in disguise. 

Goodreads Link
Amazon US
Amazon UK


Title: Magdalena
Author: R.S. McCoy
Genre: Fairy-tale Re-Tellings
Release Date: 5th January 2016

BLURB from Goodreads
Brandon wants to be left alone. He failed all his classes, his social life is in ruin, his mom is about to find out everything. He has nothing left. Intent on spending the holiday break at home by himself, Brandon is less than thrilled when his quirky classmate Magdalena shows up and won't go away.

Goodreads Link
Amazon US
Amazon UK

Don't forget R.S. McCoy has a brand new series beginning soon! It's a dystopian/post apocalyptic series. . . book one is out very soon (only    and is called The Killing Jar. Checkout a small pic of the gorgeous cover below! I love the cover and it's my favourite genre too, so it's firmly on my Want To Read Wishlist.