Sunday, 1 August 2021

SPOTLIGHT SUNDAY - BOOKS BY CHRISTINA DALCHER

 

Title: Vox
Author: Christina Dalcher
Genre: Sci-Fi, Dystopian
Publisher: HQ
Release Date: 21st August 2018

BLURB from Goodreads
Set in an America where half the population has been silenced, VOX is the harrowing, unforgettable story of what one woman will do to protect herself and her daughter.

On the day the government decrees that women are no longer allowed more than 100 words daily, Dr. Jean McClellan is in denial--this can't happen here. Not in America. Not to her.

This is just the beginning.

Soon women can no longer hold jobs. Girls are no longer taught to read or write. Females no longer have a voice. Before, the average person spoke sixteen thousand words a day, but now women only have one hundred to make themselves heard.

But this is not the end. 

For herself, her daughter, and every woman silenced, Jean will reclaim her voice.


PURCHASE LINKS
 
 
Title: Q
Author: Christina Dalcher 
Publisher: HQ
Genre: Sci-Fi, Fantasy, Mystery & Thrillers
Release Date: 30th April 2020

BLURB from Goodreads 
The future of every child is determined by one standardized measurement: their quotient (Q). Score high enough, and they attend a top tier school with a golden future ahead of them. Score low, and they are sent to a federally run boarding school with limited prospects for future employment. The purpose? Education costs are cut, teachers focus on the best students, and parents are happy.

Elena Fairchild is a teacher at one of the state's elite schools. When her nine-year old daughter fails her next monthly test, her Q score drops to a disastrously low level and she is immediately forced to leave her top school for a federal school hundreds of miles away. As a teacher, Elena knows intimately the dangers of failure in their tiered educational system, but as a mother who just lost her child, all Elena wants is to be near her daughter again. And she will do the unthinkable to make it happen.
 


PURCHASE LINK
 
Christina Dalcher also has a new book coming soon!
Featured in this weeks Wishlist Wednesday post!
 
Described as a chilling look into an alternate near future where a woman and her daughter seek refuge in a women-only colony, only to find that the safe haven they were hoping for is the most dangerous place they could be. 
Having read both VOX and Masterclass/Q and being totally engrossed with them I can't wait to read Femlandia!
Title: Femlandia
Author: Christina Dalcher
Publisher: Berkley Publishing, HQ
Genre: Sci-Fi, Fantasy, Dystopian
Release Date: 19th October 2021 
 
BLURB from Goodreads
Miranda Reynolds always thought she would rather die than live in Femlandia. But that was before the country sank into total economic collapse and her husband walked out in the harshest, most permanent way, leaving her and her sixteen-year-old daughter with nothing. The streets are full of looting, robbing, and killing, and Miranda and Emma no longer have much choice—either starve and risk getting murdered, or find safety. And so they set off to Femlandia, the women-only colony Miranda's mother, Win Somers, established decades ago.

Although Win is no longer in the spotlight, her protégé Jen Jones has taken Femlandia to new heights: The off-grid colonies are secluded, self-sufficient, and thriving—and Emma is instantly enchanted by this idea of a safe haven. But something is not right. There are no men allowed in the colony, but babies are being born—and they're all girls. Miranda discovers just how the all-women community is capable of enduring, and it leads her to question how far her mother went to create this perfect, thriving, horrifying society.

Goodreads Link

PURCHASE LINKS
Amazon US
Amazon UK 


 

 
 
 
 

Friday, 30 July 2021

REVIEW - RETURN OF THE ALPHA - MACKENZIE GREY THE CROWN BY KARINA ESPINOSA

 

Title: Return Of The Alpha
Series: Mackenzie Grey: The Crown
Author: Karina Espinosa
Genre: Urban Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance
Release Date: 30th July 2021

BLURB from Goodreads
Happily ever after … at least I hope.

When it’s come to my friends and family, I’ve been willing to sacrifice just about anything to save them, but these last few months I’ve been sidelined from the fight—not anymore.

The time has come, and Abaddon is finally coming to collect what he was promised—and he is not alone. Those who I once thought were my allies, and others who I worried would stab me in the back have now partnered up with the demon to take what I hold most dear to my heart.

Some will be hurt, some will survive, and others will die in this battle to the finish.

Will we get the happily ever after we desire? Or will it all come to an end here?

Goodreads Link

PURCHASE LINKS
Amazon US
Amazon UK

REVIEW
I have seen a few different cover styles for this book series, but I do honestly love the style of the covers. I think the female on the cover fits the imagery created in the book for Mackenzie Grey very well. It projects Mackenzie’s strong, determined, kick butt character well. The cover is quite dark to look at and that fits really well as Mackenzie has some dark forces to face and defeat in this final book.

I have read and truly loved this series from the very first book, Shift which was published back in early 2015, right up until this book. I honestly didn’t really want the series to end as I loved the characters, world building and everything about it really. So, I was approaching reading the book with a bit of apprehension about how things would end, and whether I would be left happy and satisfied with it, or if I would feel there should have been more or perhaps a different ending.

It’s difficult to say a great deal about the plot and exactly what happens without revealing anything major. I wouldn’t want to spoil the reading of the book and the events in it unfolding for anyone else.

I have loved the ups and downs in Mackenzie and Sebastian’s relationship and there’s been plenty. There are still issues in this book too. They both clearly adore each other and would do anything for the other. The problem is they come up with ideas and possible solutions without speaking to each other first, thinking they are not worrying each other which ends up causing them each more problems. Bash ends up coming across distant and uncaring which then irritates and upsets Mackenzie pushing her into rash decisions and making her push back and leave Bash out of her life.

I adored the scenes of the Brooklyn Pack fights for the position of Captain. The inner turmoil Mackenzie has not been able to help, and be seen to be biased in favour or even support of her brother Ollie. Naturally her enemies are determined to interfere and use anything or anyone they can to upset or even attempt to control Kenz. It’s so important that Ollie wins the fights and becomes the new Captain in the Brooklyn Pack. After speaking with Jackson who informs her, he has set up a live feed so she can watch the Captaincy fights from her castle in Scotland, Kenz has cross words with Bash and on a sudden whim decides to go to New York herself to watch the fights in person and to visit her best friend, Amy. As Kenzie’s pregnancy is still not widely known about, she attempts to hide her growing figure wearing baggy clothes. However as soon as Amy hugs her best friend the “cat is out of the bag”. Of course, Amy is overjoyed at the news and eager to be an Auntie!

I laughed out loud at the scene where Kenz knocks on Ollie’s bedroom door and barges in only to find him in bed with a Luna! Her guard puts his hands over her eyes and guides her out of the room, whilst an equally embarrassed and irritated Ollie hastily puts on some clothes to hug his sister. Kenz isn’t impressed at finding Ollie in bed, when in her opinion he should be training, so she sends him off with William her own guard, and royal guard trainer to put him through his paces. Later she talks to her brother, telling him he needs to think like the animal he now is and he must fight the Luna in the Captaincy battle just as hard as he will fight the male opponents. There’s a lot hanging in the balance, though Kenz doesn’t reveal Ollie’s possible fate if he doesn’t win and become Captain as she doesn’t want to put anymore pressure on him than he already feels.

As I think I have said before about these books, I love all the characters. The good, amazing ones like Kenz, Bash, Ollie, Jackson and Amy. The bad, evil one’s like the demon Abaddon, the tricky, sneaky fae Angus, and council & summit members Jacob and Lucas. Then there’s the what I’d describe as the “grey area” ones, the God, Fenrir, the Warlock, Bobby Wu and German Alpha Stefan.

What I also really thought amazing were the array of kick butt female characters, from Kenz who has been fighting for her rights and her life from the first book all the way through the series. I loved the way the female characters were as tough, if not at time tougher than the male characters. Kenzie’s best friend Amy is a fantastic example, the human who was first to know about what and who Kenzie was and helped her in the face of increasing danger to herself. Then when fatally injured and a rash decision from Kenz sees her friend becoming a vampire then back to human when Kenz manages to obtain a “cure” for vampirism. This final book in the series sees Amy living within the Brooklyn pack with the love of her life, Alpha Jackon, toughing it out and carving out her place amongst the pack, with not just the males being wary of her but also the Luna’s of the pack too. Another two great Luna’s are Rowan who is putting herself in increasing danger by acting as a spy for her Queen, Mackenzie. Then the Luna that lost her life but her character has lived on, inspiring Mackenzie to continue her fight for Lunas rights within all the Lycan packs in the world.

I also discovered the character of Raven, a Valkyrie in this series. Though Raven actually has her own series, The Last Valkyrie, which has been firmly put on my “to read” list after becoming acquainted Raven in this series!

Another character I cannot finish this review without mentioning is Bobby Wu, there are those who think he is bad through and through. When he disappears it appears, and some say he has abandoned Kenz to her fate. Mackenzie has more faith in Bobby Wu though, sure there’s been times when he used her for her powers, but when he is really needed he hasn’t let her down.

Mackenzie has a lot to face and fight for in this book. There’s Abaddon who wants her unborn child, which of course both Kenz and Bash say will only happen over their dead bodies. The Fae, are also determined to take the baby, putting themselves forward as a better option than the demon Abaddon. There are quite a few times you wonder who Kenz can really rely on in this book with council members, summit members and even Queens guard members working against her. Mackenzie also has to come to terms with the fact she honestly isn’t as strong without the full power of her inner wolf. In fact, Kenz has to suffer three months of bed rest which she hates with a passion. Even when she reveals she is pregnant, the problems keep on cropping up for her. Then when the baby is born, things become even more dangerous, so much so, the baby cannot stay with Kenzie until all threats to her and the baby are faced. Another thing Kenzie discovers in this book is that everyone has their weakness, such as Angus and his arrogance, Jacob and his greed for control of the throne. In fact, she even discovers Fenrir has a weakness. In this last book it’s clear that Mackenzie has matured, sure she can still make rash decision, but she is clever and has learnt to use her mind, and think strategy as well as using her brute force too!

My immediate thoughts upon finishing this book were that I honestly hated having to put this book down. I think if not for a migraine I could have sat and read this book in just one sitting! I still can’t quite believe that this is the end, no more Kenz & Bash! Where will I get my kick-butt female fix from now?

Summing up, I have thoroughly enjoyed the final book and I have loved the series from the beginning to the very end. Part of me wanted to read the book really slowly, so it would take longer to end but I was soon hooked and flying through reading the book, desperate to know what was going to happen. I will miss the characters, maybe they will pop up in a different series by Karina Espinosa, like Raven from The Last Valkyrie featured in this series as well as her own. I definitely think the end was all I imagined, wanted and even more. The books in this series will always remain in my top favourite series, my top favourite characters and of course Karina will always be in my top favourite authors!


Wednesday, 28 July 2021

WISHLIST WEDNESDAY - FEMLANDIA BY CHRISTINA DALCHER

This weeks Wishlist Wednesday book is
Femlandia by Christina Dalcher
Described as a chilling look into an alternate near future where a woman and her daughter seek refuge in a women-only colony, only to find that the safe haven they were hoping for is the most dangerous place they could be. Having read both VOX and Masterclass/Q and being totally engrossed with them I can't wait to read Femlandia.
Title: Femlandia
Author: Christina Dalcher
Publisher: Berkley Publishing, HQ
Genre: Sci-Fi, Fantasy, Dystopian
Release Date: 19th October 2021 
 
BLURB from Goodreads
Miranda Reynolds always thought she would rather die than live in Femlandia. But that was before the country sank into total economic collapse and her husband walked out in the harshest, most permanent way, leaving her and her sixteen-year-old daughter with nothing. The streets are full of looting, robbing, and killing, and Miranda and Emma no longer have much choice—either starve and risk getting murdered, or find safety. And so they set off to Femlandia, the women-only colony Miranda's mother, Win Somers, established decades ago.

Although Win is no longer in the spotlight, her protégé Jen Jones has taken Femlandia to new heights: The off-grid colonies are secluded, self-sufficient, and thriving—and Emma is instantly enchanted by this idea of a safe haven. But something is not right. There are no men allowed in the colony, but babies are being born—and they're all girls. Miranda discovers just how the all-women community is capable of enduring, and it leads her to question how far her mother went to create this perfect, thriving, horrifying society.

Goodreads Link

PURCHASE LINKS
Amazon US
Amazon UK

I honestly love both covers that I have seen for this book, I just can't choose a favourite, maybe I will once I hopefully get to read it?
Here's the other cover I have seen, do you have a favourite cover?
 

 
 

 

 

Monday, 26 July 2021

BLOG TOUR - RADAR GIRLS BY SARA ACKERMAN

 

WWII historical fiction inspired by the real women of the Women’s Air Raid Defense, RADAR GIRLS follows one unlikely recruit as she trains and serves in secrecy as a radar plotter on Hawaii. A tale of resilience and sisterhood, it sees the battles of the Pacific through the eyes of these pioneering women, and will appeal to fans of Kate Quinn and Pam Jenoff.

Title: Radar Girls
Author: Sara Ackerman
Publisher: General Fiction (Adult), Historical Fiction, Womens Fiction
Genre: MIRA
Release Date: 27th July 2021

BLURB supplied by Harlequin Trade Publishing
An extraordinary story inspired by the real Women’s Air Raid Defense, where an unlikely recruit and her sisters-in-arms forge their place in WWII history.

Daisy Wilder prefers the company of horses to people, bare feet and saltwater to high heels and society parties. Then, in the dizzying aftermath of the attack on Pearl Harbor, Daisy enlists in a top-secret program, replacing male soldiers in a war zone for the first time. Under fear of imminent invasion, the WARDs guide pilots into blacked-out air strips and track unidentified planes across Pacific skies.

But not everyone thinks the women are up to the job, and the new recruits must rise above their differences and work side-by-side despite the resistance and heartache they meet along the way. With America’s future on the line, Daisy is determined to prove herself worthy. And with the man she’s falling in love with out on the front lines, she cannot fail. From radar towers on remote mountaintops to flooded bomb shelters, she’ll need her new team when the stakes are highest. Because the most important battles are fought—and won—together.

This inspiring and uplifting tale of pioneering, unsung heroines vividly transports the reader to wartime Hawaii, where one woman’s call to duty leads her to find courage, strength and sisterhood.
 
 

PURCHASE LINKS
Bookshop.org
Amazon 
Barnes & Noble 
Indie Bound 
Apple Books 
Books A Million 
Target 
Kobo
Google Play

EXCERPT 

2

The Bust

Their shack, as Daisy referred to the house, was nestled in a cluster of bent ironwood trees, all by its lonesome. Set back far from the beach to protect it from a direct blast of onshore winds, it still took a constant battering and the salty air and elements had done a fine job reclaiming it. Windowpanes had been blasted opaque, you could see through the back wall, and flowers had taken up residence in the gutters. The siding had gone from forest green to pale green to peeling gray, the roof turned to rust.

            When he had first started working up at the ranch, Daisy’s father had somehow persuaded Mr. Montgomery to sell him the small parcel of beachfront property for the price of a bag of sand. Most likely because it was in no-man’s-land between Waialua and the ranch. And because her father had been the best horse trainer in Hawai’i and everyone knew it.

            She flung open the front door and ran inside. “Mom?” she called.

            All quiet. She tiptoed across the lauhala mat in the living room, avoiding the creaking floorboards. Her mother spent much of her life in one of two states—sleeping or staring out to sea. The bedroom door was cracked and a lump lay under the blankets, pillow over her head. There was no point in trying to wake her, so Daisy ran back outside, hopped on her bike and rode for the stables.

            The air was ripe with burnt sugarcane and a scratchy feeling of dread. She bumped along a dirt road as fast as her old bike would carry her. That plume of black smoke above Schofield caused her heart to sink. So many Japanese planes could mean only one thing. An attack or invasion of some kind was happening. But the sky remained empty and she saw no signs of ships on the horizon.

            By the time she reached the stables, she had worked out what to tell Mr. Silva—the only person at the ranch who was even close to being a friend—and beg that he help her find Moon. Whether or not he would risk his job was another story. Jobs were not easy to come by, especially on this side of the island. Daisy counted herself lucky to have one. When she rounded the corner by the entrance, she about fell over on her bike. Mr. Silva’s rusted truck was gone and in its place sat Mr. Montgomery’s shiny new Ford, motor running and door open.

            As far as old Hal Montgomery was concerned, Daisy was mostly invisible. She had worked for him going on seven years now—since she was sixteen—but she was a girl and girls were fluffy, pretty things who wore fancy dresses and attended parties. Not short-haired, trouser-wearing, outdoorsy misfits. And certainly not horse trainers and skin divers. Nope, those jobs belonged to men. There was also the matter of her father’s death, but she preferred not to think about that.

            Should she turn around and hightail it out of there before he caught sight of her? He’d find out eventually, and he would be livid. Daisy pulled her bike behind the toolshed and slipped around the back side of the stables, peering in through a cloudy window. The tension in the air from earlier had dissipated and the horses were all quiet. A tall form stood in front of the old horse—Ka‘ena—she was supposed to ride. It was hard to tell through the foggy pane, but the man looked too tall and too thin to be Hal Montgomery.

            Horsefeathers! It was Walker, Montgomery’s son. A line of perspiration formed on the back of her neck and she had the strong urge to flee. Not that Daisy had had much interaction with Walker in recent years. He was aloof and intimidating and the kind of person who made her forget how to speak, but he loved Moon fiercely. Of that she was sure. Just then, he turned and started jogging toward the door. His face was in shadow but it felt like he was looking right at her. She froze. If she ducked away now, he would surely catch the movement. She did it anyway.

            She had just made it to her bike when Walker tore out of the tack room with a wild look in his eye. He had a rifle hanging across his chest, and he was carrying two others. He stopped when he saw her. “Hey!” he said.

            “Oh, hello, Mr. Montgomery.”

            He wore his flight suit, which was only halfway buttoned, like he’d been interrupted either trying to get in it or trying to get out of it. His face was flushed and lined with sweat. “Don’t you know we’ve been attacked? You ought to head for cover, somewhere inland.”

He was visibly shaken.

“I saw the planes. What do you know?” she said.

“Wheeler and Schofield are all shot up, and they did a number on Pearl. Battleships down, bay on fire. God knows how many dead.” His gaze dropped to her body for a moment and she felt her skin burn. There had been no time to change or even think about changing, and she was still in her half-wet swimsuit, hair probably sticking out in eleven directions. “What are you doing here?” he asked.

“I was worried about the horses,” she said.

“That makes two of us. And goddamn Moon is not in his stall. You know anything about that?”

Taking Moon had been about the dumbest thing she could have done. But at the time, it seemed a perfectly sane idea. The kind of thinking that got her into plenty of trouble over the years. Why hadn’t she learned? She looked at the coconut tree just past him as she spoke. “I have no idea. Perhaps Mr. Silva has him?”

“Mr. Silva went to town last night to see his sister,” he said.

She forced herself to look at him, feeling like she had the word guilty inked onto her forehead. “Looks like you have somewhere to be. You go on, I’ll find Moon. I promise.”

Her next order of business would be scouring the coast and finding that horse before Walker returned. There would be no sleeping until Moon was safely back at the stables.

“I sure hope so. That horse is mighty important to me,” he said.

Tell him!

She was about to come clean, when he moved around her, hopped in the car and slammed the door. He leaned out the window and said, “Something tells me you know more than you’re letting on, Wilder.”

With that, he sped off, leaving her standing in a cloud of red dirt and sand.

In the stables, the horses knew the sound of her footsteps, or maybe they smelled the salt on her hair. A concert of nickers and snorts erupted in the stalls. Daisy went to the coatrack first, and slid on an oversize button-up that she kept there for chilly days. It smelled of hay.

“How is everyone?” she said, stopping at each one to rub their necks or kiss their noses. “Quite a morning, hasn’t it been?”

Peanut was pacing with nostrils flared, and she spent a few minutes stroking his long neck before moving on. Horses were her lifeblood. Feeding, grooming, riding, loving. She only wished that Mr. Montgomery would let her train them—officially, that was. Without being asked as a last resort by Mr. Silva when everyone else had tried. Lord knew she was better than the rest of the guys. When she got to Moon’s stall, all the blood rushed from her head. The door had been left open and two Japanese slippers hung from the knob. She had hidden them in the corner under some straw—apparently not well enough.

Damn.

Just then she heard another car pull up. The ranch truck. A couple of the ranch hands poured out, making a beeline to the stables. Mr. Montgomery followed on their heels with a machete in his hand and a gun on his hip. Daisy felt the skin tighten on the back of her neck. His ever-present limp seemed even more pronounced.

When he saw her, he said, “Where’s Silva?”

No mention that they were under attack.

“In town,” she answered.

“What about Walker?”

“Walker just left in a big hurry,” she answered.

One of the guys had his hunting dog with him. It was a big mutt that enjoyed staring down the horses and making them nervous, as if they needed to be any more nervous right now. Daisy wanted to tell him to get the dog out of there, but knew it would be pointless.

“The hosses in the pasture need to be secured,” Mr. M said.

“Do you need my help?” she offered.

“Nah, you should get out of here. Get home. Fuckers blew up all our planes and now paratroopers are coming down in the pineapple fields. Ain’t no place for a woman right now.”

Daisy wanted to stay and help, but also wanted to get the hell away before he noticed that Moon was not here. “Yes, sir.”

He stopped and sized her up for a moment, his thick brows pinched. “You still got that shotgun of your old man’s?”

“I do.”

“Make sure it’s loaded.”

 

On her way home, Daisy passed through Japanese camp, hoping to get more information from Mr. Sasaki, who always knew the latest happenings. A long row of cottages lined the road, every rock and leaf in its place. The houses were painted barn red with crisp, white trim. On any given Sunday, there would have been gangs of kids roaming the area, but now the place was eerily empty.

“Hello?” she called, letting her bike fall into the naupaka hedge.

When she knocked and no one answered, she started pounding. A curtain pulled aside and a small face peered out at her and waved her away. Mrs. Sasaki. She was torn, but chose to leave them be. With the whispers of paranoia lately, all the local Japanese folks were bound to be nervous. She didn’t blame them.

This time when Daisy ran up to the shack, her mother was sitting on the porch drinking coffee from her chipped mug.

She was still in her nightgown, staring out beyond the ocean. When she was in this state, a person could have walked into their house and made off with all of their belongings and her mother would not even bat an eye.

Daisy sat down next to her. “Mom, the Japanese Army attacked Pearl Harbor and Wheeler and who knows where else.”

Her mother clenched her jaw slightly, took a sip of her coffee, then set it down on the mango stump next to her chair. “They said it would happen,” she said flatly.


            “This is serious, mom. People are dead. Civilians, too. I don’t know how many, but the islands are in danger of being invaded and there are Japanese ships and planes all around. They’re telling us to stay inside.”

A look of worry came over her mom’s face. “You should go find a safer place to stay, away from the coast.”

“And leave you here?”

“I’ll be fine.”

“I’m not leaving you.”

Her mom shrugged.

She knew Louise couldn’t help it, but a tiny part of Daisy was waiting for that day her mother would wake up and be the old Louise Wilder. The mother of red lipstick and coconut macaroons, of beach bonfires and salty hugs. The one who rode bikes with her daughter to school every day, singing with the birds along the way. The highs and lows had been there before, but now there were only lows and deeper lows.

After some time, her mother finally spoke. “Men, they do the dumbest things.”

“That may be true, but we’re at war. Does that mean anything to you?” Daisy said, her voice rising in frustration.

“Course it does, but what can we do?”

She had a point. Aside from hiding in the house or running away, what other options were there? Used to doing things, Daisy was desperate to help, but how? Their home was under attack and she felt as useful as a sack of dirt.

Louise leaned back. On days like these, she retreated so far into herself that she was unreachable. You could tell by looking in her eyes. Blank and bottomless. Mr. Silva always said that you could see the spirit in the eyes. Dull eyes, dull spirit. That Louise looked this way always made Daisy feel deeply alone. The onshore winds kicked up a notch and ruffled the surface of the ocean. She knew she should stay with her mom, but more than anything, she wanted to go in search of the horse. Moon meant more to her than just the job. She loved him something fierce.

Only one thing was clear: their lives would never be the same.

Excerpted from Radar Girls by Sara Ackerman, Copyright © 2021 by Sara Ackerman. Published by MIRA Books. 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR


USA Today bestselling author Sara Ackerman was born and raised in Hawaii. She studied journalism and earned graduate degrees in psychology and Chinese medicine. She blames Hawaii for her addiction to writing, and sees no end to its untapped stories. When she's not writing or teaching, you'll find her in the mountains or in the ocean. She currently lives on the Big Island with her boyfriend and a houseful of bossy animals. Find out more about Sara and her books at www.ackermanbooks.com and follow her on Instagram @saraackermanbooks and on FB @ackermanbooks.

AUTHOR LINKS
Author Website
Facebook: @ackermanbooks
Twitter: @AckermanBooks
Instagram: @saraackermanbooks
Pinterest