Friday, 22 November 2019

REVIEW - ONE NIGHT - A JUST FRIENDS PREQUEL BY MONICA MURPHY

Title: One Night
Series: Just Friends Prequel Novella
Author: Monica Murphy
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, YA, NA
Publisher: EM Publishing
Release Date: 23rd September 2016

BLURB from Goodreads
There's a party over at Jordan Tuttle's house tonight and everyone is there. Including... 

Olivia: Who's leaving for her dad's house in Oregon tomorrow. So she plans on having the time of her life tonight with her best friends. 

Dustin: Who wishes Livvy could see just how much she means to him. 

Emily: Who's trying her to best to get with someone. Anyone. 

Cannon: Who has an encounter with Em he won't be able to forget. 

Amanda: Who's finally ready to go all the way with her boyfriend. 

Tuttle: Who discovers the girl he's always secretly liked just might like him back.


PURCHASE LINKS
Amazon UK

REVIEW
I had read quite a lot of long books and fancied a shorter read, so when I came across this one on my kindle. I thought I would give this one a go. I really like the cover and it certainly fits the book giving it a contemporary romantic feel. There is a “warning” with this book as there is adult content. To be honest with what programmes show on tv these days I don’t let the warning put you off. I would say older teens as a minimum age so I would probably remove the YA label and add NA instead.


The book is about a group of friends who each have their own problems, thoughts and romantic notions. The party at Jordan Tuttle’s house is the main venue of what goes on in the book. We meet Dustin and Olivia first as they are going to a party. Olivia immediately wants to know where their other constant friend, Emily is. When Dustin explains she is meeting them at the party she is a little shocked as the arrangement had been for them all to go to the party together. Though the three are all good friends, lately the “friend” label has been changing a little for Dustin and Olivia and they have been in Olivia’s words “messing about” a little. Olivia is worried that if they change from a friendship to a boyfriend/girlfriend relationship and things go wrong it will spoil everything. The whole is it more than a friendship relationship is further complicated by the fact Olivia sets off to her fathers home the day after the party for the rest of the summer. Olivia has grown to hate going to her fathers but her when her mum points out it will probably the last time, she will go for some time due to going to university etc. Olivia caves and agrees to go.

Everyone that’s anyone and everyone else too, is at Jordan Tuttle’s party. His parents are away a lot and his parties are somewhat famous or perhaps that should be notorious. The house is palatial inside with en suite rooms, a hot tub, swimming pool and more to be used. Jordan is a love them and leave them kind of guy but when an opportunity of something with a girl he would like more from arises should he take it or not. Can he get Amanda to trust him?

Emily is at the party when Dustin and Olivia arrive, she’s already had plenty to drink, or could she be high too? Emily tries to play up to Dustin, but he only has eyes for Olivia. Even though Emily is quite literally offering herself on a plate to anyone and everyone. Emily is becoming known as the girl that gives good “blow-jobs” to whoever shows her attention.

It’s as if there’s something weird in the air or the drinks because Cannon is also usually a love and leave them guy too, but he turns out to be a fairly sweet guy who doesn’t want to take advantage of a drunk Emily. In fact, he prevents others from taking advantage of her too.

The book is told from the different points of view of the party goers. The majority of the book deals with the party itself and what goes on and it’s fall out. There is also a smaller section that occurs when Olivia returns from her father’s home. It seems Emily has become very “popular” whilst Olivia has been away. There is also an introduction of a new character called Ryan who is a rather confident, if not over confident new pupil at their school. When Olivia meets him at Emily’s house, he is somewhat over familiar with her, and actually flirts with her despite knowing of her fledgling relationship with Dustin. Though Dustin does seem to have attracted the attention of a persistent girl whilst Olivia has been missing over the summer.

I enjoyed reading the novella. Monica Murphy created some great characters and I would like to read more and learn more about them.

My immediate thoughts upon finishing the book were
Really enjoyed reading about the different characters. Definitely adding book one to my “Want To Read” Wishlist
Hope to catch up with the characters that were at Jordan Tuttle’s party too.

To sum up the major parts of the book all happen at a party full of teens with crazy mixed up emotions and pre-fixed ideas about one another and a lot of alcohol and perhaps drugs too.
I did enjoy the book a lot and would certainly like to read more. I think this prequel novella makes a great introduction to what could be a potentially great series!


Thursday, 21 November 2019

BOOK BLITZ - BACK TO YOU THIS CHRISTMAS BY S.L. STERLING


Title: Back To You This Christmas
Author: S. L. Sterling
Genre: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Release Date: 22nd November 2019

BLURB supplied by Xpresso Book Tours
Bah-humbug!

This Christmas, all I wanted was to wallow in self-pity until the woman I thought was the love of my life could explain why she left me at the altar. Instead, my buddy, Zach forced holiday merriment on me. I thought it was going to be a tinsel-laced nightmare… until his sister, Alexa, showed up. Turns out, she grew up into a gorgeous present I was insanely tempted to unwrap. Lucky for me, she shared my desire to meet under the metaphorical mistletoe… and let things heat up from there.


For the first time in months, Laura, my ex, wasn’t haunting my thoughts like the Ghost of Christmas Past. Which, of course, is exactly why she had to pick that moment to call and say she wanted to talk. I could only hope St. Nick had a playbook in his sleigh because things were about to get complicated.

From author S.L. Sterling comes a sizzling holiday romance hot enough to roast your chestnuts!


EXCERPT
I was still awake at two in the morning. I was now lying in the dark, staring up at the ceiling. I had heard Zach come in around twelve-thirty and heard Mom and Dad come up to bed shortly after that. The house was now quiet, except for the sound of Dad snoring off in the distance. I lay in the warmth of my bed, my mind still reeling with thoughts of Drew, alone, across the hall. Drew had everything: good looks, a great job, he was successful, and for the life of me I couldn't figure out why some girl who'd had him would ever let him go. I'd give anything for a chance with a guy like him. Well, not just any guy, and here she was just throwing him away as if he were last night’s trash.


I rolled over onto my side and let out a sigh. I needed to get my mind off him, and knowing he was right across the hall wasn't helping. The first thought that came to my mind as I rolled back over and stared up at the ceiling was cake. Mom had a coconut cream cake downstairs in the fridge, and the more I thought of it, the more I wanted a piece.

Finally, the craving won and I got up, threw on a pair of socks, and slipped out of my room. The house was silent, and I tiptoed down the stairs, carefully avoiding the creaky steps. I could see a tiny light that we always left on in the kitchen. I came around the corner to see Drew, shirtless, his sleep pants hung low on his hips, standing with his back to me. He hadn't seen me, or so I thought, and I was about to scurry back up the steps when he spoke.

"Hey, you want some cake?" he asked, holding out a plate with a slice on it. I came slowly around the corner, my eyes firmly planted on his chest and abs. Fuck. The man looked like one of the lingerie models I had photographed. He was so cut and well-defined. When my eyes met his, I saw him take a quick glance down my body, and that was when I realized I was in nothing but a short T-shirt and panties.

"Couldn't sleep?" I asked, taking the plate from his hand. My fingers brushed his, the contact sending a jolt through my body.  

"No, and I couldn't get the thought of cake out of my mind either. Your mom makes damn good cake, and this one just happens to be my favorite," Drew said, watching as I tried to hide my half-naked body behind the counter, a half-smile coming to his lips.

"What's so funny?" I asked as he turned and cut another slice of cake, placing it on another plate.

He turned around with fork in hand and dug into the soft, moist cake. He leaned up against the counter, his eyes roaming what he could see of my body as he ate. "I just think that it's cute that you are trying to hide from me. Especially when you don't need to hide from me, Lexi. I've known you pretty much your entire life. I've seen you in less clothing than that. We spent many summers all together by the pool."

I felt a blush rise to my cheeks. "I'm not hiding. I just wasn't expecting anybody to be up at this time. Besides, I'm not exactly dressed for a friendly chat. You've known me all your life, with clothes on," I said, nervously laughing, and stepped around the corner of the island, setting my plate down.

"So, look at me!" he exclaimed, holding his hands out to the side like he was putting himself on display. "Do I look like I'm dressed for a friendly chat?"

"Yeah, look at you, Mr. Eight-Pack." I rolled my eyes. "Do you want some milk?" I asked, holding the corner of my shirt down and raising my arm up into the cupboard for a glass.

"Sure."

I could feel his eyes burning into me as I reached for another glass and got the milk out of the fridge. I quickly poured two glasses and turned around, only to see him still staring at me. I did my best to ignore it and slid his glass over to him, returning to my slice of cake. I tried hard to avoid eye contact with him, but it was almost impossible, and when I checked him out again, I could see the outline of his semi-rigid cock through his sleep pants. I bit my lower lip and ate the last bite of the cake on my plate. Drew was already done with his and had put his plate into the sink. I walked over and put my plate in the sink on top of his while he put the cake back into the fridge.

I was about to turn around to grab his glass when I felt the heat of his body against my back. I could barely breathe and was afraid to move, so I grabbed the dishcloth, preparing to wash up the dishes we had used. I turned toward the sink and was just about to turn the water on when I felt his fingers dance along the edge of my panty-line. Drew was touching me. Drew, the same boy who used to pick on me, was now standing behind me, a man, running his fingers against my bare skin. His touch was almost paralyzing as I struggled to breathe.  He was so close to me that I could feel the light puff of his breath on the back of my neck. I could feel myself get instantly wet, and I bit my lower lip and closed my eyes as his fingers tickled along the side of my belly to grip the edge of my T-shirt and pull it down to cover over my ass.

As soon as I was covered, he leaned in, his scent intoxicating, and whispered in my ear, "Thanks for the cake. Good night, Lexi."

I closed my eyes. His hands were still grazing my skin, and I stood there allowing the room to spin around me. His hands then went to my hips and rested there for a couple of seconds, his warm touch searing into my skin, and then, as quickly as he was there, he was gone. The heat from his touch was gone. I turned around. He hadn't gone far; he was leaning against the other counter across from me, intensely watching me. I looked into his eyes and caught a glimpse of what I was sure was want.

At first, the look scared me a little because, well, this was Drew. He then stepped closer to me, the closeness of his body making my nipples harden. I watched his eyes leave mine and look down at my lips, the silence around us almost deafening. I was almost sure he was going to lean in and kiss me, but the sound of the house settling caused him to back away.

Without saying a word, he left the kitchen and made his way back upstairs to his bedroom, leaving me alone in the dim light of the kitchen.

TEASER

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
S.L. Sterling was born and raised in southern Ontario. She now lives in Northern Ontario Canada and is married to her best friend and soul mate and their two dogs.
An avid reader all her life, S.L. Sterling dreamt of becoming an author. She decided to give writing a try after one of her favorite authors launched a course on how to write your novel. This course gave her the push she needed to put pen to paper and her debut novel "It Was Always You" was born.
When S.L. Sterling isn't writing or plotting her next novel she can be found curled up with a cup of coffee, blanket and the newest romance novel from one of her favorite authors on her e-reader. Her favorite authors include Kendall Ryan, Vi Keeland, Penelope Ward, Lauren Blakely, Alessandra Torre and Willow Winters.
In her spare time, she enjoys camping, hiking, sunny destinations, spending quality time with family and friends and of course reading.

AUTHOR LINKS

GIVEAWAY


XBTBanner1

Wednesday, 20 November 2019

REVIEW - TEMPTING HEAT - TEMPT ME SERIES BY SARA WHITNEY

Tempting Heat is the first book in Tempt Me, 
Sara Whitney's sassy, sexy new contemporary romance series. 

Title: Tempting Heat
Series: Tempt Me
Author: Sara Whitney
Genre: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Release Date: 12th November 2019

BLURB from Goodreads
An unforgiving blizzard

Tom Castle ended up in the wrong apartment on the wrong day. Now a ferocious snowstorm has him trapped with his onetime crush and longtime regret, which is pretty much in line with his lifelong bad luck.

An unwelcome houseguest

Finn Carey has no choice. Although it’s tempting to let Tom take his chances on the streets of Chicago, she doesn’t want anyone to die in a snowbank— not even the man who hurt her so badly years ago.

An unexpected second chance at love

At first, Tom and Finn do their best to ignore each other in the close quarters. Then the power goes out, and things between them heat up as the secrets start to flow. Which will thaw first: the storm raging outside or the ice protecting their hearts?


PURCHASE LINKS
Amazon UK

REVIEW

This book came to my attention via Giselle at Xpresso Book Tours, I was already posting a Book Blitz and when I saw the Blurb and then read the Excerpt, I wanted to read the whole novella! I had also recently read an anthology of “Halloween themed” novellas called Trick Or Treat Me and Sara Whitney had a novella that I loved in there too.

I love the cover with the kissing couple depicting the characters in the book. I don't read lots of the lighter contemporary genres, I tend to read a lot more of the paranormal, sci-fi genres. So, this is one was a nice change, a feel good, romance type of book.

The main character is Fiona Carey, though friends and family call her Finn. Finn shares a flat with best friend Josie who she met at college. Josie has gone away as part of her job and just left a note for Finn, who ends up being rather shocked when a half-asleep guy comes wandering out of Josie's bedroom. Even more distressful for Finn is she knows the guy from school and they have "history" in that she used to date his best friend. Finn gets over the initial surprise and thinks back to what she refers to as the “incident” where she truly believes Tom betrayed her trust which ended up in a very upsetting and stressful last couple of weeks of high school.
Tom tries to avoid further awkwardness by attempting to leave straightaway but the weather is awful and snow is mounting up on both the side-walks and the roads. He attempts to struggle on until he hears Finn shouting out of one of the windows for him to come back, the snow is too bad. Initially things are almost as frosty inside the flat as it is outside it but they end up kind o calling a truce. Things go from slightly thawed, to steamy hot over the course of the weekend. Then there’s another misunderstanding where things go slightly awry . . .but you’ll have to read the novella to find out if there’s a happy ending.

There’s a really funny point in the book where Finn is talking to her mother who seems to think Finn cannot take proper care for herself. Her mother actually asks what is someone breaks in. Finn finds the suggestion far- fetched and she puts down the phone she has a little sort of chuckle to herself. Then later when it turns out that she isn’t even in the flat alone, in fact, there was someone in the flat that she didn’t know about when she was talking on the phone to her mother, Finn finds it rather amusing.
I think it’s really cute when Tom refers to Finn as Huckleberry, her nickname from when they were at school together.

I adored the characters of Tom and Finn. Tom’s character being very chivalrous and escorting a drunken Josie home yet not taking advantage of either situation or Josie. I thought the way they still had feelings about the “incident” was so realistic too. I mean I think we all have the guy we really liked, and crushed on but never actually dated. I was so attached to the characters of Tom and Finn that I was angry at the character of Josie and wanted to shout at her. I’m still not sure I really like Josie as a character though I guess I will have the chance to learn more about her in the next novella, as it seems she is a more central character in Tempting Taste. I also thought that Finn’s brother Jake was an interesting character, maybe he will have his own romance in a later novella.

My immediate thoughts upon finishing this book were that it was a brilliant read and I had adored it from beginning to end.

To sum up the novella flows really well, and it felt like a really quick read. It certainly left me wanting more! I would have gone straight on to reading the next novella in the Tempt Me Series had it been available to buy! I certainly agree with some of the comments in the blurb, this book is a sassy, sexy, I’d say steamy contemporary novella.




Tuesday, 19 November 2019

BLOG TOUR - THE VEILED THREAT BY SOPHIA MENESINI


Title: The Veiled Threat
Series: The Veiled Duchess
Author: Sophia Menesini
Genre: Fantasy, LGBTQ, New Adult
Release Date: 13th June 2019

BLURB supplied by Xpresso Book Tours
Captain Shea Lara is the current leader of The Veiled Duchess. The most feared pirate ship in all of Neried. And now, after completing her former mentor’s final score, she’s retiring. Everything seems to be coming to an end… Until a mysterious stranger drags her back into the fold with an offer for a score she can’t refuse. All she has to do is kidnap the crowned princess of the northern Queendom, Princess Joana of Arethusa. The prize is just within reach. But sparks fly as the two women collide. And an obscured threat that could upturn Shea’s entire world storms on the horizon. She’ll face it alone unless she can allow herself the support she needs from old and new allies alike. Something’s coming and Shea is at the center of it.


PURCHASE LINKS

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Sophia Menesini lives in Martinez, CA with her husband, and their two small Chihuahuas, Ziggy and Zeppelin. The Veiled Threat is her first novel and the first book in The Veiled Duchess Series. Sophia is an avid tea connoisseur and lover of Scotland with an unconventional memory for obscure Disney and Broadway song lyrics.


You can find my blog, updates, and other entertainment at my website: www.sophiamenesini.com


AUTHOR LINKS
https://www.instagram.com/theveiledthreatnovel/


EXCERPT
“I suggest moving that hand if you plan on keeping it.”
He lets go immediately and sets his palms flat on the table as a peace offering. 
Shea relaxes but only just, sitting back down in her seat lightly. She keeps a steady grip on her gold long sword. 
“My apologies for startling you,” he soothes. 
Shea laughs darkly and his shoulders tense.
 “Look I’m not for sale the same way the other ladies are. Not all elves serve,” Shea mutters, “so if you’ll excuse me…” 
“No,” he objects quickly.
He almost lifts his palms off the bar but instead flexes his fingers against the surface before relaxing them flat onto the counter. 
“Please. I mean to hire you for another reason.” 
Shea stays where she is. She doesn’t know why but the man piques her interest as she observes his submissive position. She stands, turns, and leans her back against the bar, noting how the hooded man averts his gaze away from her so his face is still obscured.
 “I’m not sure you know who I am,” Shea chuckles. 
“I know who you are,” he states. 
“Then what could you possibly need me for?” Shea asks, genuinely curious. 
Surprisingly, it’s not often that dark strangers find her in the night to propose business propositions. 
“I need you to steal something. From what I know, that’s kind of what you do.” 
“Depends on the something.” 
“Something of great value,” he explains. 
“Right,” Shea deadpans. 
“A princess.” 
“Of course.” 
“This is serious.” 
“I bet,” Shea grins, “Which princess?” 
“The crown princess of Arethusa,” he whispers. 
“Careful mate,” Shea’s eyes narrow, glancing around casually, “Around here that’s treason.” 
“Among me and my fellows, we’re calling it a political coup.”
“Don’t they all.” 
Shea turns back to face the bar letting her hips lean against the edge and downs the new tankard. 


GIVEAWAY
$10 Amazon gift card
3 x ebook copies of The Veiled Threat



Monday, 18 November 2019

REVIEW - ROTTEN BODIES - A ZOMBIE SHORT STORY COLLECTION BY STEVEN JENKINS

Title: Rotten Bodies - A Zombie Short Story Collection
Author: Steven Jenkins
Genre: Horror, Zombies
Publisher: Different Cloud Publishing
Release Date: 22nd October 2019 
                            (previously published 27th April 2015)

BLURB from Goodreads
We all fear death’s dark spectre, but in a zombie apocalypse, dying is a privilege reserved for the lucky few. There are worse things than a bullet to the brain—much worse.

The dead are walking, and they’re hungry. Steven Jenkins, bestselling author of Fourteen Days and Burn The Dead, shares five zombie tales that are rotten for all the right reasons.

Meet Dave, a husband and father with a dirty secret, who quickly discovers that lies aren’t only dangerous…they’re deadly. Athlete Sarah once ran for glory, but when she finds herself alone on a country road with an injured knee, second place is as good as last. Howard, shovelling coal in the darkness of a Welsh coal mine, knows something’s amiss when his colleagues begin to disappear. But it’s when the lights come on that things get truly scary.

Five different takes on the undead, from the grotesque to the downright terrifying. But reader beware: as the groans get louder and the twitching starts, you’ll be dying to reach the final page.


PURCHASE LINKS

REVIEW
After reading and loving the Dead Aware series so far by Eleanor Merry, I felt I wanted to try another zombie book and came across this collection of five short stories/novella’s by Steven Jenkins. There’s I Am Dead, Room 503, Run, The Pit and Simon Dunne: Former Zombie.

I love this version of the cover, a rather angry looking rotting female zombie. The cover gives you the clue that there won’t be any “nice zombies” or “aware zombies” in this story collection. The zombies in this collection are the monotonous, angry, flesh eating, never give up until they get you kind.

Room 503 has the main character Dave taking his wife flowers, a sign of guilt? Well, the short answer yes as Dave has to go away to do with work and he is wanting to oil the waters with his wife as she doesn’t like him working away from home. It turns out she has every right to feel funny about her husband working away as he isn’t in fact working but meeting his long-term mistress in a swanky hotel to spend the weekend in bed with her! The irony is that whilst he is locked away in his hotel room with his mistress, he hears a ruckus in the street and they go onto the hotel balcony to see what is happening. The Police are facing off against . . ..what are those moaning, shuffling people, grabbing and biting? Well, they are zombies and in the fight against the Police they are winning! Dave and his mistress check out the news on the hotel room TV and on the internet on their own phones and see that there has been a virus breakout that’s turned people into zombies. To catch this virus all you need to do is be scratched or bitten by a zombie. Dave tries to phone his wife, suddenly feeling guilty about her and his daughter being at home unprotected. Obviously, Dave isn’t the only person trying to use the telephone network so he keeps getting a continual engaged tone. Dave speaks to reception who tell him what he has already seen from the balcony, and that the hotel is now in lockdown, it is not safe to leave the hotel, and their advice is to stay in your locked room. There is Police back up on the way to get the zombies away, at the moment the hotel is safe as all doors are locked etc and should hold against the zombies senselessly walking into them. Dave speaks to his mistress and says he is going to try to get to his car, despite her protests and her begging for him not to leave her alone, he sneaks out of the room, down the back stairs to see if he can make it to his car!

One of the other stories in the collection is called The Pit. This story is set in Wales during the years of Margaret Thatcher’s government, when jobs were scarce, when you took what job you could get to make ends meet and put food on the table to feed your family. The main character in this one is Howard John Thomas, he is married to Thelma and they have a 7 year old daughter called Delith and a baby son called Jacob. Howard has his own idea’s how all this horrible business began. He thinks, like others have said mining half a mile down is too far and they have found the devil. The devil being zombies that roam the mines shafts preying on the few miners left trying to work to get money to feed their families. Thelma didn’t want her husband working down the pit, but after being on the dole, it was the only job that he could get, so he took it. He tries to not think about those that are roaming round in the pit and thinks of his children, and his wife Thelma, the very reason he is willing to work in this dangerous place. Howard thinks about Delith, singing her heart out at the nativity play at school. Howard was so proud of his singing Shepherd Delith, who wants to be Mary anyway! Then he thinks about baby Jacob lying in his cot with his big blue eyes gazing up at him. Then he thinks about Thelma’s thick blonde curls waving down her back, he truly loves his family and would do anything for them. Trouble is it’s getting harder and harder to work down here in the mine. There is never enough battery power in your light, so you have to turn it off sometimes to preserve it, then if/when you get lost you run a larger risk of being caught by one of those zombies.

In the last story in the book, the main character Simon Dunn, thinks a lot about the word zombie, he hates it. Simon would prefer to be called the “walking-dead” or “coffin-walker” than zombie. He thinks zombie sounds low class, common and undignified! Simon then reveals that the official, politically correct terminology to use is “Former Zombie.” Simon also reflects on how simple his life used to be before he became a “Former Zombie.” He goes on to say he used to get up, have breakfast, watch TV, kiss his girlfriend and take the dog for a walk. Then a rather funny quote I can’t resist sharing, Simon says “Of course, the dog was the first thing I ate” that honestly made me laugh out loud as it’s so pragmatic and deadpan how the character reveals the fact, he ate his own dog.

There are some fantastic descriptions within this collection, such as “Every joint and muscle aches, and my head is pounding like a hangover”
“Even my finger hurt and creak when I make a fist” and “When I attempt to bend my legs I can feel the fluid burn and swirl around my kneecaps”
They enable you to imagine and almost feel the pain these zombies and people are feeling.

There are also some great humorous descriptions in the book too, such as a fairly newly turned zombie who isn’t sure how long he has been turned but all he can think about is his desire to feed on warm flesh. “Its all I can think about – that and trying to remember which part of the body carries the juiciest meat.” The zombie continues thinking about eating, trying to work preferences out, an animal? No, they decide they’d prefer a human. They aren’t particular as to whether its male or female but… “Preferably someone morbidly obese. I could feed on them for days. And the chances of one outrunning me are pretty remote..”

I found all the individual stories really good and in fact, in some cases I would love to read more from those characters or from within the world they were set in. Some of the stories are shorter than others, such as Run, but are still good reads. I would certainly like to read more by Steven Jenkins, zombie and/or other books he has written as I enjoyed his writing style. The stories flowed really well and quick enough to dip in and out of the book perhaps if you were on a bus or train journey. 

So, to sum up this is a really good collection of short zombie stories! This selection of stories would be a great initiation to the zombie genre and is a fantastic introduction to this author’s work too.



Sunday, 17 November 2019

BOOK BLITZ - TWISTED SURPRISE BY EMERY JACOBS


Title: Twisted Surprise 
 (A Twisted Fate novella)
Author: Emery Jacobs
Genre: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Release Date: 15th November 2019

BLURB supplied by Xpresso Book Tours
It’s the most wonderful time of the year…
Or at least it’s supposed to be. With the holidays quickly approaching, Jovie is looking forward to spending some quality time with her boyfriend Jack.
First a family Thanksgiving in Brownsboro, Georgia with her parents, followed by a magical Christmas with their friends back in Houston.
But Jack’s disappearing act leaves Jovie wondering if their relationship will even survive the holidays.

Ready for a Twisted Surprise? Unwrap this romantic Christmas tale to find out what Jack’s been hiding!


PURCHASE LINKS

EXCERPT
“Merry Christmas, baby,” Jack whispers, his warm breath dancing across the skin below my ear.
I rub my eyes, turn my head to face him, and smile. “Merry Christmas.”
His fingers skim across my bare arm then slide in between mine, squeezing my hand gently.
“Did you sleep good?”
I nod. “Yeah, actually I did.” I don’t remember much after drifting off to sleep last night, which I usually equate to a good night’s sleep.
“How about you? Was the couch good to you?” I motion toward the small sofa beside the bed and cringe. There is no way anyone could sleep well on that tiny thing, but knowing Jack, he’ll lie and say he did just so I won’t feel bad that he stayed the night.
He barks out a laugh before rubbing his neck. “I slept better than I have in years.”
“I doubt that.” I hesitate for a second. “But thank you… for staying.”

“You couldn’t have made me leave even if you wanted to.”


ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Emery grew up in Southern Arkansas and has lived most of her adult life in Northern Louisiana. She spends her days working as a Nurse Practitioner in rural health and her nights reading, writing, and occasionally sleeping. She loves real life romance…lots of angst and heartbreak, but always a happy ending.


GIVEAWAY


XBTBanner1