Wednesday, 21 October 2020

REVIEW - PHOENIX RISE - FROM THE ASHES BY KARINA ESPINOSA

Title: Phoenix Rise
Series: From The Ashes
Author: Karina Espinosa
Genre: Urban Fantasy, Paranormal, Shapeshifters, Vampires
Release Date: 16th October 2020

BLURB from Goodreads
For someone who can’t die, it felt as if I were already dead.

He took everything from me and I don’t have the energy or fight in me to get it back. Not that I could. What he took is long gone and never coming back.

The pain of what he did—what I did—will haunt me for the rest of my life. That is until I met a certain angel in the cell next to mine and I knew I couldn’t give up yet. Everything might have been taken from me, but I was not alone. Far from it.

To gain my freedom, I made a deal with the devil, but will that deal burn me in the end?


PURCHASE LINKS

REVIEW
I really love the cover of this book, it features the kick butt, female main character, Octavia/Camila with her fiery red hair and attitude! It certainly makes for a striking cover and fits really well with the cover of bk 1. Definitely looking forward to seeing the cover for bk3.

So, I picked this one up meaning to read just a chapter or two and read eight! Talk about addictive reading! This one picks up right where bk1 left off and we are straight back into the action! Karina Espinosa doesn’t mess about! The book begins with Octavia waking up in a strange room, or should I say coming round from being kidnapped and sedated! Octavia looks around the room, taking note that the room is luxurious. She is laid on a plush, large, king size bed, there’s an amazing lavish ensuite. Octavia investigates the various wardrobes and drawers all containing opulent clothes to fit her. You could say she has everything she could ever want except a window or her freedom. The man that stole her away from Tristan is referred to as Morningstar, or “the master” by the two women/maids that visit her daily to extend his invitation for her to eat dinner with her. Octavia is strong and determined and bluntly refuses to eat with the master. Day by day and its clear both Greta & Rita think Octavia is just being foolish and stubborn by not having dinner with Morningstar but she continues to refuse and loses her strength along with weight until one day the two women/maids whose names she has learnt are Greta & Rita enter her room and announce she is having dinner with the master and they are there to get her ready, and wow do they give her a make-over, from bathing her to dressing her and doing her hair. At first Octavia is annoyed at being summoned and forced to go have a meal with Morningstar, then she thinks of it as an opportunity to take a look around her grand, extravagant prison for possibilities of escape routes.

Octavia can put on an act to an extent but fails to fool Morningstar and she ends up imprisoned in a damp, dark, dungeon-like prison cell. It’s whilst she is there that she strikes up a conversation with the occupant of the next cell. It turns out Michael has been captive a very long time and remembers her grandmother Cecilia. Michael tells Octavia stories about Cecilia. Though Michael becomes a friend and confidante to Octavia he isn’t totally honest about who he is until much later. When it becomes apparent, only he can help Octavia, though at certain sacrifice, and by breaking some rather important rules on his part will he help? Morningstar thinks not, gloating, telling Octavia she is all alone and Michael will never break the rules to help her.

I can’t say much more about the plot without in my opinion revealing too much but Morningstar certainly underestimates Octavia’s newer friends such as Echo, Tristan, Maverick and Killian & his pack. In fact, I think Morningstar thinks he will be able to control Octavia much easier than he manages to. He seems to have really gotten into her head and she has really vivid dreams that he is in, though she tries to hide this from her friends. Octavia does gain more control over her Phoenix and learns how to concentrate and use her fire to both protect and defend herself as well as fighting back at the bad guys! Unfortunately, Octavia wears her heart on her sleeve and at times sadly for her takes people at face value, she is still quite naive when it comes to how the paranormal world works. Octavia trusts the wrong person whilst trying to protect others and ends up being bound to the one person she wants to get away from permanently. Octavia really does learn about some of the nastier paranormal beings the hard way with the devil, and angel, demons and another phoenix being introduced in this instalment of the trilogy.

Phoenix Rise features all the great characters of bk1 and introduced some more amazing characters too! I am honestly loving the different characters/paranormal beings in this series..... I am already adding Oksana to my favourite characters list. She may have grey hair and be in her 70's but she sounds like another kick-butt, no nonsense female to me. Karina Espinosa really does kick-butt female characters and swoon-worthy, book-boyfriend male characters so very, very, well.

I still loved the same characters that were in bk 1 and would add some more of Killian’s male pack members to the “book boyfriend” material list. I really liked the way Kai referred to Octavia as “firecracker.” Tristan shows even more that he isn’t the usual cold, heartless type you’d expect a vampire to be, though he still doesn’t share Octavia well with others and has one hot temper on him, which he displays on more than one occasion in this bk. I found the scene where he shows Octavia where her family is buried and the headstone with her name Camila on it very moving & poignant. Despite leaving her life as Camila far behind her and having lost those who knew and loved her as “Camila” she doesn’t seem sure what to do. Though most people refer to her as Octavia I don’t think she has fully accepted her life has changed so much and that there really is no way of going back to being Camila. I did notice in this book that Echo doesn’t seem to be very keen on how close Octavia and Tristan are becoming, is it the concern for her friend getting hurt, or maybe jealousy?

My immediate thoughts upon finishing this book were, what a whirlwind of action and once again this book ends with a cliffhanger.....will Michael obtain what is needed to remove the mark from her hand in time? Or is her mind going to be overtaken completely by the mark?

To sum up I really, truly, love this trilogy so far and am sooo impatiently awaiting the next book already, though at the same time I hate that the series is coming to an end. What more can I say another absolutely fantastic series from Karina Espinosa!




Friday, 16 October 2020

REVIEW - ESCAPED - THE TOMB BY ELLA BURNS

 

Title: Escaped
Series: The Tomb
Author: Ella Burns
Genre: Dark Dystopian, Adult Fiction
Release Date: 12th October 2020

BLURB from Goodreads
Ana

Outside the walls of the Tomb, the memories of what there is to fear in the world come back quickly. Instead of prison politics, we now have the real world to contend with.

Ax doesn’t take my worries seriously, too caught up in his freedom to recognize the danger we are in while being on the run. When one of our own is taken captive again, the threads holding us together continue to unravel.

Loving him was never something I intended, but can our love survive outside the Tomb walls?


Axle

It’s easy to forget outside prison walls the world moves on without us. I have my freedom but being on the run is not the life I want to provide for Ana. Pulling her out of that pit so broken and in pain broke my heart, and even away from the Tomb, she is ill and acting strange.

She’s my woman, my Goddess, my Queen, and I would do anything for her. But is that enough? Will she still love me now that she has her freedom, or was our story only ever meant to stay within the walls of The Tomb?

A dark and dystopian romance, The Tomb: Escaped is book 3 in The Tomb series
The Tomb: Exposed
The Tomb: Ensnared
The Tomb: Escaped

Goodreads Link

PURCHASE LINKS

REVIEW
As soon as I finished reading Ensnared, I knew that Escaped was an absolute must read for me!
Once again on the cover we have the tattooed back of Axle, one of the main characters in the book. I love how all the covers run with the similar theme and bet they look amazing on a bookstore shelf together.

This book basically picks right up where Ensnared left off. I found it really easy to slip right back into this harsh world that these great characters are trying to survive in. I still had unanswered questions from the last book, especially the smaller details about one of the younger characters, Ciaran who seems to have something he thinks is important to tell Ax & Ana. Something happens in the book that has me thinking it’s something really important too!

Some of the inmates were killed in the escape and other immediately decided to go off and take their chances alone. However, there’s about 23 that remain with Axle and Ana. They manage to catch some food and have water from a nearby stream to both drink and wash in. It does become apparent that they will need to go into the town Sammi reveals is nearby to get new clothes and to attempt to build new lives. In this book it seems that everyone has reverted to Ax being their leader, not that Ana is really bothered as long as the two of them are together. It soon becomes apparent it is going to be those that hadn’t been in The Tomb so long that would need to lead the way. So Sammi reveals what she knows about the nearby Town where her pimp lives, Ana tries to explain how difficult things are on the outside. Axle, Ethan and some of the others inmates think life will be easy now they are free from The Tomb. No matter how many times Sammi or Ana attempt to warn them and encourage them to be more cautious, the men think they invincible.
Eventually it is decided it is much safer for the 23 to split into smaller groups and approach the nearby town, rather than all descend at once, making it obvious they are the inmates from The Tomb.

Ethan of course goes with Sammi, and a few others, whilst Axle and Ana have the dead body they need to bury on the way as well as Brutus who still acts like a personal bodyguard to Ana and Theo the older man that took Ana under his wing when she first entered The Tomb. Unfortunately, Ana & Axle’s group have to hurriedly hide when they hear members of The Watch. When their small group re-groups there is another body to bury.

Such a lot happens in this book and of course, I don’t want to give everything away. The main four characters of Axle, Ana, Ethan & Sammi have some good luck, decent judgement and make some good choices, but there are also occasions of the only luck they have being the bad sort, there’s bad decisions and poor choices too.

I think an example of the good luck is when Ana meets up with Ceyda, who despite being a brothel owner turns out to be trustworthy and helpful on more than one occasion. Ethan & Sammi have bad luck when they decide to retrieve her belongings from her room. They choose a time of day that Sammi’s pimp Ali shouldn’t be around…..but he is and a fight breaks out and Ethan ends up in the local jail. When Ax & Ana’s group arrive in the town, which Ana later learns was once called Tekir, his first instinct is to go in and fight to free the man he see’s as a brother. Ana manages to calm him down and say they need to think and make a plan to free Ethan.

The characters Axle, Ana, Ethan and even Sammi are all celebrating freedom and relief from escaping The Tomb and head guard Dick and his men. Then Ethan has they altercation with Ali, landing him in jail awaiting what his fate will be when Tahar, the leader of the local Watch returns. Of course, there is fighting, injuries and loss in this book, but there is also friendship, love, new families and roots being laid for a better future and a big surprise that Axle and Ana just didn’t see in their future.

I adored the growing relationship between Axle and Ana, both strong willed, physically strong with their own ideas of what their future should be like. Where Axle guided Ana somewhat whilst in The Tomb, it is Ana who needs to educate Axle how the world outside works. Similarly, the relationship between Ethan and Sammi is growing more serious. Ethan wants Sammi and he is willing to remove anyone that may stand in their way of happiness. The four main characters really compliment each other well and make a tight formidable group. The two males do learn that they cannot take on the world alone and win. With the help of Ana who befriends a young boy, then becomes friends with Ceyda who is already a good friend and confidante to Sammi they create a small group of like-minded people that are sick of being pushed around by The Watch.

My immediate thoughts upon finishing this book were, Ohhhhh wow! Loved it! Still totally adore Ax, Ethan, Ana & Sammi, as well as instantly liking new characters Omer & Ceyda. Ecstatic that there is more to come from this series! Looking forward to reading it already, definitely going on my must-read list! Who is this man called the messiah? Want can he want with Ax, Ana & Ethan? Revenge? To control them? Or to kill them?

To sum up, once again I totally loved this book, I still totally adore the four main characters as well as falling for the young brave boy, Omer, that Ana befriends along with Ceyda a brothel owner. I still wonder about the full story was that Ciaran was going to tell Axle, Ana, & Ethan. I wonder who Crow is and why he has an interest in how Axle & Ethan are doing? There’s mention of the man in charge of everything who calls himself the “the messiah,” and the hint that he may decide to “visit” them whenever he see’s fit. What could that mean for them? I still thought the terms of endearment that Axle uses when speaks to Ana were a beautiful addition to the book and enjoyed googling them to learn their translations into English.



Monday, 12 October 2020

REVIEW - ENSNARED -THE TOMB BY ELLA BURNS


 

Title: Ensnared
Series: The Tomb
Author: Ella Burns
Genre: Dark Dystopian, Post Apocalyptic
Release Date: 18th September 2020

BLURB from Goodreads
What happens when you take a woman disguised like a man and throw her in one of the most hostile prisons in the world?

**Warning: If you haven't read The Tomb: Exposed this blurb may contain spoilers!**

Ana

Well, the jig is up, and I was discovered. Instead of the inmates turning on me, I’m now Boss-Bitch of The Tomb.
Wasn’t expecting that one.
Everything seems to be going great for us, the inmates respect and fear me and I don’t have to disguise myself for the first time in a decade. Even Ax seems to be doing better since I took over. Everything was going great, until the day our shipment from the outside didn’t show up.
The drugs ran out and we’re running low on food when the decrepit prison speakers crackle for the first time in years.
Are the guards coming back into The Tomb after all this time? And if they find out I’m a woman, what then?

Ax

I never thought I’d have a woman of my own, much less one I am proud to stand beside. She’s a ruthless Goddess, more than worthy to rule the savages of The Tomb. My addiction and the demons coursing through my veins have quieted and I’ve smiled more than ever before in my life.
When the guards threaten Ana, years of suppressed rage over my mama’s death come boiling back. I don’t know if this time she’ll be able to pull me back.
Will I be able to let go of the past in time to save Ana, or will I succumb to the fire once and for all?


PURCHASE LINKS

REVIEW
I love how all the covers for this series have the theme running through them. The strong image of the muscly, tattooed back of Axle, the main male character in the books.

Right at the beginning of this book there is a section about “the Split” which explains that it was a deadly virus that attacked and killed women. Men watched helplessly as their mothers, sisters, wives, and daughters died. Obviously, this made women a rarer, much more in demand commodity to be fought over. It caused a war that eventually ends in 2021. Two groups emerge from the war, The Watch and The Order. The world is renamed New Europe and anyone against this new regime is thrown into prison.
Next in this book we are told the story of what happened to Axle and his mother when they first arrived at The Tomb. It gives much more insight into the character of Axle and how he became such firm friends with Ethan too, who also lost his mother in a similar way.
Though Ax looks strong and unbeatable on the outside we know from reading the books so far that when it comes to Ana he has a much softer side as well as suppressing the hurt of losing his mother when he was so young. It is also revealed in this book exactly how he learnt his mother would not be coming back to him as promised. Its not the only revelation in the book, it turns out Axle has been keeping a rather large secret that many of the men in The Tomb would quite well kill to know! The fact that Axle has kept this secret and never used his knowledge of it gives an even deeper insight into his character. Until Ana came along and they find themselves in their current situation with the guards returning to the Tomb Axle seemed resigned to his fate of living out his life in the Tomb. After all he arrived as a very young child with his mother and hasn’t really known anything about the outside world. Is it possible Axle could be a little fearful of what is outside the Tomb. Is he worried he will not know how to protect what is his on the outside? Inside the Tomb he can fight and beat whoever challenges him, he has a contact outside that sends in supplies regularly so he doesn’t need or want to be on the outside himself.

The challenge that Ana and Axle face in Ensnared is that the usually on time delivery of supplies is late, not just a few days like has occasionally happened before. Its over a week late and those inside the Tomb are getting very restless. Even Ethan is looking anxious and feeling restless, no supply delivery also means no visit from Sammi, the Nun. The drug addicts are going into withdrawal, the tension inside the Tomb is building and as Ana is the Boss it is her that has to be seen to be dealing with everything. Ana has to display her toughness and the fact she isn’t afraid of a fight on more than one occasion in this book.

It soon becomes apparent that those outside the Tomb with the power over it have discovered somehow that Ana is in the Tomb. The guard who Axle hates, the one that took his own mother all those years ago now wants his woman! He wants to take Ana away from Axle. However, Ax is older now and he won’t go down without a fight! Maybe he wasn’t old enough to fight for his mother but he will fight for Ana. The guard in charge is called Richard, though Ax insists on calling him Dick much to the head guard’s annoyance. I think it’s the one jibe, or blow that Ax can get at the man who took his mother away from him. Dick delivers an ultimatum, hand the woman over or else suffer the consequences. At first Ana remains in charge of those in the Tomb but it becomes apparent there are those who would betray her in return for the smallest reward or favour from the guards. When the inevitable happens, Ana finds herself reunited with Sammi in a cell. Sammi is the prostitute that visited Axle at the prison as part of the supplies deal. Their first meeting didn’t go well at all and it is apparent that to begin with Ana looks down on Sammi and the things she has done to survive. Though as the two women confide their fears and past histories with each other they become much closer and end up banding together.

I loved the different terms of endearment used in this book, in fact the series so far. I quite enjoyed looking up the individual meanings, such as, fiametta ~ little flame, lijep ~ beautiful and tesoro ~ treasure. It clearly shows a softer, kind of romantic side to Axle and just makes you love his character even more! We are also introduced to a new character that hasn’t been mentioned before. His name is Crow and he is the only one to have ever successfully escaped from The Tomb, though he did have a little inside help. Crow has never forgotten who helped him and turns up in Ensnared at just the right time and place. It’s kind of hinted at that he will be featuring a little more in the series, so I am looking forward to learning more about him and discovering how he will become involved with my favourite characters.

I almost forgot that twice in this book a younger inmate called Ciaran tries to speak to Ana and Axle about something but each time he ends up pushed to the side with a promise of talking to him later. I can’t help but wonder what important information it is that Ciaran has to tell them? Hopefully that will be revealed in the next book?
My immediate thoughts upon finishing the book were that Ensnared was another amazing dark instalment in this brilliant series. I can't decide who I love the most Axle or Ethan? And Ana & Sammi sure make a great team that should not be underestimated at all! Who is Crow? And what is his full story? Seriously looking forward to bk3......

To sum up this book answers to many questions that arose in the previous book but also has you asking so many more! I am certainly looking forward to reading more about Axle, Ethan, Ana and Sammi and what happens to them next!



Friday, 9 October 2020

REVIEW - EDGE OF DEFIANCE - EDGE OF COLLAPSE BY KYLA STONE

Title: The Edge Of Defiance
Series: Edge Of Collapse
Author: Kyla Stone
Genre: Post-Apocalyptic, Thriller, Suspense
Release Date: 22nd September 2020

BLURB from Goodreads
Freedom demands a price...
Weeks after an EMP attack devastates the United States, the country is falling apart.Hannah, Liam, and the others have survived the brutal cold and violent adversaries,but the threat has never been greater.

Enemies from within have taken control of the town--including what little remains of the food. On the verge of starvation, and with Michigan still locked in a brutal winter, the townspeople are faced with a desperate choice.

To be free, Fall Creek may have to sacrifice more than they ever thought possible.

When the country goes dark, ordinary people find themselves facing the end of the world as they know it. With society collapsing before their eyes, they'll have to risk everything to protect their home and the people they love.

REVIEW
As soon as I realised this one book was available to buy, I knew I had to read it. I needed to know what would happen to the Fall Creek and Winter Haven divide as well as contemplating whether Noah & Hannah would rekindle their relationship. If they do will it just be for the sake of Milo? Then there’s Charlotte Rose, who is the granddaughter on Rosamond Sinclair! Even if she doesn’t want to acknowledge it. I had so many thoughts and feelings about the characters and what I wanted to happen to them in this book. Some of it happens even more dramatically than I expected. Other parts of the characters lives are on the way to where I thought they would be and there are a whole load of extra things and surprises I hadn’t imagined happening at all.

The cover again fits in really well with the rest of the books in the series. The cold, wintery backdrop but then there’s the smoke in the distance and Hannah at the forefront of the cover looking towards the smoke rising and her gun at the ready. The cover certainly suggests that there is more hardship and heartache to come.

It seems Fall Creek was lucky when Liam arrived with Hannah as those living there need his military, no-nonsense mind quite a lot in this book. I love the chemistry between Hannah & Liam, the way Liam has kind of become the father figure to Charlotte the baby created during Hannah’s kidnap and torture at the hands of Gavin Pike, who is Rosamond Sinclair’s son. Though Rosamond is grieving the loss of her sons, she is still ruling Winter Haven and Fall Creek with a hard hand with the help of her cousin Mattias Sutter, leader of the Militia. If anyone dares to disagree with them, or in the case of the Militia even be considered to have looked at them in a wrong way they are blacklisted. If blacklisted you are not included in food handouts.
Molly & Quinn are still setting up their trading system, though Molly is approaching this by teaching new skills so people can become self-sufficient where ever possible. They have big plans hoping to start trading with other local communities too. However, that won’t be so easy to accomplish when it’s revealed during an attack on Fall Creek that the Militia have been forcibly taking supplies from other communities, just as Liam had suspected.

Liam and Bishop decide that they need to end the Militia’s reign of terror after one of the Militia men almost shoots a teenage boy. Though Liam doesn’t know the boy or his family, he manages to stop the shooting, but puts himself firmly in the sights of the Militia again. They know that Liam is their largest threat and if the community join him, they could have a battle on their hands. Mattias Sutter, leader of the Militia and cousin of Superintendent Rosamond Sinclair decides they need to concentrate their forces and any supplies they gather on only those at Winter Haven.

At the beginning of the book Hannah & Charlotte are living with Noah & Milo at Winter Haven. With both Rosamond’s sons now being dead she seems to have latched onto Noah as a kind of replacement. Noah is slowly changing from the by the book Police Officer into something more like a member of the Militia. It started by turning a blind eye when first Julian and then other Militia members just shot people for disagreeing with them and their actions. When Rosamond turns things into a them/Fall Creek and us/Winter Haven situation a few characters need to make difficult choices. On the Winter Haven side, Noah tries to order Hannah to stay within the boundaries of Winter Haven. Then Ghost is threatened by one of the Militia Men for simply walking at Hannah’s side. It seems like Noah has chosen his side of the way to live, he is starting to think like the Militia men around him. To take what he needs for him and himself no matter the cost to anyone else. Although Noah is a good father to Milo, he barely acknowledges the existence of Charlotte which naturally bothers Hannah. When the time comes during a heated exchange between Noah & Hannah, she blurts out she is leaving. Hannah had already been seriously thinking that the time make come when she would have to choose between Noah & Winter Haven and Liam, Molly, Quinn etc at Fall Creek. Hannah chooses to take Charlotte and move to Fall Creek but Noah insists she has to leave Milo with him. Hannah does ask for Noah to bring Milo to visit her in Fall Creek at either their old home or Molly’s but he refuses. When Milo asks to visit his mum, or Quinn & Molly Noah simply puts him off to begin with. Noah does end up upsetting and alienating his son by keeping him from his mother and his friends in Fall Creek.
Now that the Militia is no longer patrolling Fall Creek it means that no one from Fall Creek can visit Winter Haven which means Noah needs childcare for Milo whilst he works and ends up trusting someone he really, really shouldn’t from Winter Haven, meaning when disaster strikes there’s no one reliable with his son Milo.

There’s lots and lots of action, altercations and fighting in this book. Liam using his military tactics training. Bishop steps up to back him up despite being a man of God, he knows the only way they will be rid of the Militia is to shoot them. As things change for everyone, to begin with nothing changes for Rosamond, she has power for cooking, warm showers etc. Every surface in her kitchen has food and supplies in abundance on them. The thing with Rosamond is, she actually thinks it’s acceptable to keep all these things for herself even though on some level she must know she couldn’t possibly use all of them! This book really reveals more about Rosamond as a character and you certainly know where her son Gavin got his sick, violent personality and ways from.

I loved the scene in the book where Hannah and Quinn face off with Rosamond. Hannah finally gets to meet the mother of the evil man that kidnapped her and stole so much her life head on. There are a few shocks/surprises revealed when they confront Rosamond, she knew a lot more about things that had happened than she had previously revealed. It becomes clear that Rosamond has no feelings towards her granddaughter, Charlotte, all she had time for were her sons or any men around her that she can manipulate.

I also enjoyed the end of the book where the surviving characters reflect on what they have had to do to get rid of the Militia, who is no longer with them and looking towards the prospect of a new way forward. Then there’s the very end where someone tells a group of crazy, violent teenagers who want to stay in a world without power, the where abouts of Winter Haven!!
Another mystery in the book is who Rosamond was talking to on her secret satellite telephone.
It seems that the fight for independence and survival for Fall Creek has only just begun.

I felt this book, for me, was a slightly slower than usual for this series. I think it was the increase in detailed fight scenes, some of which kind of went right over my head with me not really having gun knowledge. There were lots of deaths in this book too. I thought the scenes around the death of one of the major characters in the book was really dramatic. I honestly don’t think there was any more for this character going forward. I don’t think this character will be forgotten in the forthcoming books and will probably mentioned quite a bit. I thought it was really fitting how Bishop & Liam stayed true to their characters. The way when they came across a fatally wounded person, they did not leave them suffering, but shot them and put them out of their pain. I think the character flashback sections were really well done and it made them even more realistic and relatable. Bishop thinking of, and reliving the scenes where he lost those he loved. Quinn remembering the day it all began and Noah getting them down from the ski lift. Finally, the flashbacks Hannah still has, being haunted by what happened in the hunting cabin that she was held in the basement of by Gavin Pike.

My immediate thoughts upon finishing reading this book were, Oh, wow, what a battle, what a shame to lose that character but there wasn't really another way...and wow what an ending. Just when you think it could all be over, someone raises their ugly head, whispers in the 'wrong ears' and trouble is heading for those survivors trying to rebuild Fall Creek.

Summing up this was another great addition to the Edge Of Collapse series that has left me counting down to the next book. This is seriously addictive series!! I still have so many feelings and thoughts about what could happen, what I would like to happen to and for the characters in this series. I also have a feeling we are going to learn more about the Fall Creek residents and maybe some from the surrounding communities, that we met or learnt a little more of in this book as well as some new maybe not so nice characters being introduced.

Monday, 5 October 2020

REVIEW - THE COUNT - SHADOW LAKE VAMPIRE SOCIETY BY KATIE FRENCH & WENDI L. WILSON

Title: The Count
Series: Shadow Lake Vampire Society
Author: Katie French & Wendi L. Wilson
Genre: Paranormal, Fantasy, Vampires
Release Date: 18th September 2020

BLURB from Goodreads
I knew Camp Shadow Lake held secrets. What I didn’t know was how deep those secrets ran.

My first few weeks at Camp Shadow Lake changed my life. Not only did I meet the guy of my dreams in Levi Kass, but I found my soul-sister in True King. Oh, did I mention there’s this whole other world where vampires are real, witches exist, and a secret society runs everything behind the scenes?

Yeah, it’s been a wild few weeks.

The man behind the curtain is the rich and sophisticated vampire Count Warren Thornberry, who pulls strings like an all-powerful puppeteer. For some reason, he desires me. And Warren is used to getting what he wants.

But he can’t have me. I’m dedicated to Levi, who has vowed to track down my father’s killer and end him. As Levi heads to the mountains to fulfill his promise, Warren makes his move. While I battle against his magnetic pull, I must also fight to save my friendship with True, who seems to be drifting away before my very eyes.

My attraction to Levi is my one and only constant at Camp Shadow Lake, but will even that be broken?
  
 
 
PURCHASE LINKS
 
REVIEW
I have mixed feelings about this book cover. There is something odd about the female on the cover, around her head and neck and it does kind of spoil the cover a little. Having said that it didn’t bother me enough to not want to read the book. I loved the cover for bk1, and really enjoyed reading the book, so naturally I was eager to read bk2. If this book cover was by authors I hadn’t read before, would I have picked the book up from a bookstore shelf? The totally honest answer is, I aren’t sure I would have. Though I don’t pin everything on a cover, so I’d like to think I would have still picked it up and read the blurb etc.

The book puts you straight back into the plot where bk1 ended with Piper attending the funeral of her best friend Coco, who officially died in a car crash. Piper is going through a whole range of emotions, from the obvious grief and sadness, to remorse and guilt thinking perhaps if she had kept in better contact with Coco that she wouldn’t have died. Levi Kass, vampire counsellor is there to hold her hand and attend the funeral along with her mother to help her through the funeral. Piper’s mother has been compelled to forget all that happened when she visited her daughter at camp at the hands of the vampires Sarah, & Lars.

Levi gets a call saying that the Count Warren Thornberry, the head of the Shadow Lake Vampire Society has a lead on the vampire responsible for murdering Piper’s father. After a lot of persuading Piper agrees to stay home for a couple of weeks to rest, and grieve for her best friend before returning to camp to work.

When Piper does return to the Camp there have been a lot of staff changes. Alexander Banks is one of the newbies and it seems has definitely made an impression on True, the only other human counsellor at camp. In fact, as the book goes on it seems that True has completely changed, the once fun, gossipy, friendly counsellor who spent lots of time with Piper now only has time for Xander. Even the campers are subjected to a new grumpy, bad tempered, bossy True. Is True’s complete change of character down to being loved up with Xander or is there more to it than meets the eye? Piper also wonders if she is maybe a little jealous of True & Xander’s relationship as her own boyfriend, Levi is off in the mountains with two of Warren Thornberry’s men searching for her father’s killers.

Warren Thornberry is putting more pressure on Piper, he enjoys provoking Levi by training her in self defence, inviting her to parties on his yacht or to his home. He seems to believe that he can win over Piper and take her away from her current boyfriend Levi. Warren also keeps raising the subject of Piper being turned into a vampire too. Levi warns Piper to be wary of Warren but she just seems to see the innocent helpful side of the things he is doing and tells Levi he could never come between them as it his him she cares about.

I don’t really want to give away anymore of the story as it would be revealing things that would spoil the flow of the book for readers. I will say the subject of witches that was mentioned in bk1 The Vision is brought up again and as one of the new Camp Shadow Lake staff is a Vampire & was a Witch before being turned into a vampire, things in the “witchy” department do progress a little more in this book. We also learn more about the vampires living in the mountains, as well as some vampire history and how Warren formed the Vampire Society.

My immediate thoughts upon finishing the book were, I enjoyed reading the book, though not as much as book 1. It also seems there will be even more action to come in book 3. Will the camp continue? How will the revelation at the end of the book affect the coming war? Will Piper & True develop their witch powers more? Will either or both of them become vampires? So much more to come.....

To sum up I slipped straight back into the world this book is set in. I have to say I am kind of enjoying disliking the “bad vampires” too! As well as looking forward to what happens between Piper & Levi and what their future will look like, especially wondering if and how the whopper of a cliff hanger at the end of this book will affect things.

I have mixed feelings about this book cover. There is something odd about the female on the cover, around her head and neck and it does kind of spoil the cover a little. Having said that it didn’t bother me enough to not want to read the book. I loved the cover for bk1, and really enjoyed reading the book, so naturally I was eager to read bk2. If this book cover was by authors I hadn’t read before, would I have picked the book up from a bookstore shelf? The totally honest answer is, I aren’t sure I would have. Though I don’t pin everything on a cover, so I’d like to think I would have still picked it up and read the blurb etc.

The book puts you straight back into the plot where bk1 ended with Piper attending the funeral of her best friend Coco, who officially died in a car crash. Piper is going through a whole range of emotions, from the obvious grief and sadness, to remorse and guilt thinking perhaps if she had kept in better contact with Coco that she wouldn’t have died. Levi Kass, vampire counsellor is there to hold her hand and attend the funeral along with her mother to help her through the funeral. Piper’s mother has been compelled to forget all that happened when she visited her daughter at camp at the hands of the vampires Sarah, & Lars.

Levi gets a call saying that Warren Thornberry, the head of the Shadow Lake Vampire Society has a lead on the vampire responsible for murdering Piper’s father. After a lot of persuading Piper agrees to stay home for a couple of weeks to rest, and grieve for her best friend before returning to camp to work.

When Piper does return to the Camp there have been a lot of staff changes. Alexander Banks is one of the newbies and it seems has definitely made an impression on True, the only other human counsellor at camp. In fact, as the book goes on it seems that True has completely changed, the once fun, gossipy, friendly counsellor who spent lots of time with Piper now only has time for Xander. Even the campers are subjected to a new grumpy, bad tempered, bossy True. Is True’s complete change of character down to being loved up with Xander or is there more to it than meets the eye? Piper also wonders if she is maybe a little jealous of True & Xander’s relationship as her own boyfriend, Levi is off in the mountains with two of Warren Thornberry’s men searching for her father’s killers.

Warren Thornberry is putting more pressure on Piper, he enjoys provoking Levi by training her in self defence, inviting her to parties on his yacht or to his home. He seems to believe that he can win over Piper and take her away from her current boyfriend Levi. Warren also keeps raising the subject of Piper being turned into a vampire too. Levi warns Piper to be wary of Warren but she just seems to see the innocent helpful side of the things he is doing and tells Levi he could never come between them as it his him she cares about.

I don’t really want to give away anymore of the story as it would be revealing things that would spoil the flow of the book for readers. I will say the subject of witches that was mentioned in bk1 The Vision is brought up again and as one of the new Camp Shadow Lake staff is a Vampire & was a Witch before being turned into a vampire, things in the “witchy” department do progress a little more in this book. We also learn more about the vampires living in the mountains, as well as some vampire history and how Warren formed the Vampire Society.

My immediate thoughts upon finishing the book were, I enjoyed reading the book, though not as much as book 1. It also seems there will be even more action to come in book 3. Will the camp continue? How will the revelation at the end of the book affect the coming war? Will Piper & True develop their witch powers more? Will either or both of them become vampires? So much more to come.....

To sum up I slipped straight back into the world this book is set in. I have to say I am kind of enjoying disliking the “bad vampires” too! As well as looking forward to what happens between Piper & Levi and what their future will look like, especially wondering if and how the whopper of a cliff hanger at the end of this book will affect things.