Thursday, 27 December 2018

REVIEW - THE NIGHT ROAD - SECOND CITY SERIES BY KATIE FRENCH

A brand new Breeders Universe Story 
that will keep you up reading past your bedtime. 
Title: The Night Road
Series: Breeders Universe
Author: Katie French
Genre: YA, Sci-Fi, Post Apocalyptic, Dystopian
Release Date: 6th December 2018

BLURB from Goodreads
Five generations after Riley and Clay first set foot on Shiprock, the community is thriving. Liberated from the Breeders, the new society is free to live and love how they chose.
Eighteen-year-old Meg is Shiprock’s apprentice gunslinger and wise-cracking security guard, keeping the people safe as she patrols the stony cliffs. She can hit a target at fifty paces with her eyes closed, and yet, she’s never ventured outside the sheer cliffs of her home. It isn’t safe out there. Marauders still roam, snatching up unsuspecting victims.
Then a plague hits their peaceful city. Her sister, and only living family, falls ill.
People will die if a cure isn’t found.
Meg ventures out to find renowned doctor Fulton Tally and a cure to save her sister and the town.
But untold peril awaits. Will Meg’s training prove enough to survive the night road?
PURCHASE LINKS
Amazon US
Amazon UK

REVIEW
As I have read and totally loved the Breeders series and its fantastic characters and though I thought the series came to a great end, I still felt like I wanted to read even more stories set in the same era and world of the Breeders. As the introduction explains The Night Road is the first book in the Second City series which is set in the Breeders universe a few decades on.

So I was really looking forward to reading more from the same universe but then I had to wonder if it could possibly live up the the Breeders series? Would the characters be as believable and likable as Riley and Clay? How much will the world have changed? What will the new challenges be?

So of course after thinking about all those questions I knew I had to read it!

The cover has a post apocalyptic feel to it with the broken down buildings in the background. From reading the blurb I would say the female on the cover is Meg who is a gunslinger. The cover certainly makes me think that women are still being treat "normally" and are still "kick butt women" like Riley!

As the book is set in the same universe as the Breeders and after reading the book I would say it falls into the Sci-Fi, Post Apocalyptic, and Dystopian genres. It also has suspense, plenty of action and some betrayal too.

As the blurb says this book is set decades into the future and is set in the settlement called Shiprock that was formed at the end of the Breeders Series. The "outside" still isn't safe and consequently Shiprock has its own security measure and gunslingers to protect it. In fact the book begins with Meg being an apprentice gunslinger and is on night duty which is usually quiet and boring! So when Meg spots a male trying to scale the steep rock sides to sneak into their settlement she is kind of excited. Meg knows if the guy doesn't fall to his death that there is very little trouble he could cause in Shiprock. There are actions in place to deal with those that try to sneak in. In fact there is no reason to sneak in as if you approach the front gate you can be asked to be allowed in. The guns and ammo for the gunslingers that protect Shiprock and those that still go on supply runs is supplied by Herrick, Guns & Ammo. 

Shiprock was once run by a man called Barrage and it was he and his men that made the impenetrable fortress. When Barrage died around 60 years ago, it was one of Megs ancestors that took over to create a free city. The present Mayor of Shiprock is Trax. There is very little crime or wrong doing in Shiprock. However if someone does commit a crime, become drunk and disorderly or break a rule then they can spend time in the "cooler" or have their food rations reduced. The fact life is co good in comparison to what is "outside" means most people behave. The only infractions are usually kids fooling around. The city at Shiprock has grown from just a few dozen citizens to having around two hundred people. There is a school, nurses for an infirmary that has been created, as well as a hunting team, a farming team, a security team and a maintenance team etc. The young residents attend the school until the age of 11, and then they take a job so that they are contributing to the city in exchange for food rations.

I really don't want to give away spoilers so forgive me for being more vague now rather than continuing in great detail. Meg and this man end up in a fight and the man stabs her. So Meg is in the infirmary recuperating when the first cases of a new flu like illness are brought in. Meg is immediately hustled out in an attempt to prevent her catching the illness. 

As well as guarding the borders of Shiprock the highly trained gunslingers are the ones that go out on scouting missions and retrieve supplies. Meg aspires to being a fully qualified gunslinger. Kace who is married to Megs sister Shannon has taught Meg how to shoot and fight. Kace and Shannon are both gleaners meaning they go "outside" looking for supplies that may be needed back at Shiprock. There is still lots of danger around during all scouting missions and it is during one of these missions that Meg's sister Shannon comes back with the symptoms of the new flu like illness Meg decides she needs to go out in search for medicines to help her sister. 

The rest of the book covers how Meg talks her way into being the one sent out for medical supplies. There aren't very many volunteers to go "outside" to search for medicines that are a scarce luxury in the world as it is now. It is revealed that there is someone in existence who maybe able to help. Of course Meg immediately plans to go looking for this person who could help her sister. 

The rest of the book tells how Meg sets off with someone whom she presumes she can trust with plenty of supplies and a great vehicle for the terrain she needs to travel. Soon she finds herself alone, with no vehicle, or supplies and just a letter of introduction to give to the person who could possibly save her sister. 

One of my most favourite characters in the book is Meg who reminds me so much of Riley with her "anything a man can do a woman can do" ("and probably do it better!") attitude. Meg is also impetuous, and to begin with thinks she is infallible. Meg soon realises that things in the "outside" are still very similar to what her ancestors experienced, but she has the motivation that if she doesn't find help and supplies her sister may die.  

I also liked the character of Trax, I really want to know more about his ancestory and his history. Why doesn't he go by his real name Henry? What is he trying to hide? And will the letter he wrote and gave to Meg convince his friend to come to the aid of those at Shiprock? Trax is best friends with Meg's sister Shannon and the Mayor of Shiprock.

There are a couple of characters I enjoyed "hating" too, but I won't reveal those as I don't want to influence what you think of them as to begin with their bad sides are not revealed!

I really enjoyed this book, I loved trying to work out who the various characters in The Night Road were descendants from. I have wrote down what I think and who I think is related to whom! I'll be interested in finding out what other readers of both series think as well as the familial connections are hopefully revealed as the series develops. Or maybe Katie will do some family trees for her breeder fans!  

So to finish up my final thoughts are that I thought that the Breeders series was an amazing series and I think that this series called the Second City that is set in the same dangerous universe could potentially be just as fantastic! Definitely looking forward to more, the Second City Series is firmly on my "Must Read" list!!



Monday, 10 December 2018

REVIEW - TONGUE TWISTERS BY AMY MULLEN

Title: Tongue Twisters
Illustrated by: Amy Mullen
Genre: Childrens Fiction
Publisher: Xist Publishing
Release Date: 1st September 2018

BLURB from Goodreads
How much wood could a woodchuck chuck if a woodchuck could chuck wood? 
Classic Tongue Twisters are paired with cheery illustrations in this new collection. Children will be introduced to Peter Piper (and his peck of pickled peppers), a young fisher named Fischer, a flea and a fly who flew up a flue and many many more funny tongue twisters. Amy Mullen's delightful illustrations update classic characters and tongue twisters guaranteed to trip you up.


PURCHASE LINKS

REVIEW
When I saw this children's tongue twister book I couldn't resist reading it. One of my Uncle's always used to tease myself and my cousins, saying them and trying to get us to say them back to him.

The cover is bright and attractive and I would imagine it will certainly draw the eye to it on a bookstore shelf. The genre of the book is listed as Children's Fiction, but I thoroughly enjoyed the book myself and I could imagine the book making a great stocking filler Christmas Gift for a wide age range.

Each tongue twister has a double page dedicated to it with a really clever illustration to go with it. I read the kindle version of the book and the colour's seemed quite bright and I would imagine attractive to children. The tongue twisters ranged from ones I had heard a lot as a child, such as Peter Piper picked a peckled pepper, and She sells sea shells on the sea shore to new ones I hadn't heard of before such as Betty Botter bought some butter, and Once upon a barren moor.

As I finished the book I really wanted even more, but for a young child I think this book is a perfect first collection of tongue twisters.

As I said above this really brought some precious childhood memories back to me and had me chuckling. My daughter is now 22 yrs old so not really they market this book is aimed at. Though I still had fun saying the tongue twisters myself and then challenging my daughter to say them, to see who could recite them the fastest with the least mistakes. I would definitely put it on your Christmas stocking filler list! 

Monday, 3 December 2018

REVIEW - DARK HUNT - EMP LODGE SERIES BY GRACE HAMILTON

Title: Dark Hunt
Series: EMP Lodge series
Author: Grace Hamilton
Genre: Post Apocalyptic, Survival, Adventure
Publisher: Relay Publishing
Release Date: 13th April 2017

BLURB from Goodreads
In the post-apocalyptic aftermath, Megan Wolford is settling in with her makeshift family at the safe haven of their lodge, but she remains wary of trusting others. Despite her growing feelings for Wyatt Morris, the leader of the group, she still feels most secure on her own. But when she becomes separated from her beloved daughter Caitlin in a storm, Megan is in danger of losing the one thing keeping her fighting to stay alive. Injured and desperate, she must fight every instinct within her to rely on the others for help when they find evidence that Caitlin has been kidnapped. 

Wyatt is determined to do everything he can to bring her home, and he organizes a search party to visit a set of old adversaries in the guise of traders to try and find the missing girl—but Megan would rather take matters into her own hands. With Megan setting off alone to face unknown enemies, she is more vulnerable than ever. When a mysterious stranger known as the Green Woman appears to be a lead in finding Caitlin, she’ll have to track her down. 

Can she put aside her stubborn need for independence and accept help from her newfound community before it’s too late?


PURCHASE LINKS

REVIEW
After reading and loving Dark Retreat the rest of this series was instantly put onto my "must read" list! So saying I was looking forward to reading Dark Hunt which is Bk2 in the EMP Lodge series is a kind of understatement. Though I had other titles on my kindle to read I felt the pull to purchase Dark Hunt and revisit with the characters I quickly grew to love in Dark Retreat.

So the cover of Dark Hunt is a view from the side rear of the Lodge. We can see the corner of the Lodge with a male figure who is holding a rifle and looking out on two people walking away with a dog. This also fits a scene within the book really well however I am not going to tell you more about it and that would involve spoilers! So you will just have see if you realise which scene the cover depicts when you read the book yourself!


The genres I have seen listed for this book are Post-Apocalytic, Survival, Action and Adventure and I would say they all fit the content of this book well.


This book begins with everyone being relatively happy in their surroundings nevertheless still cautious of any visitors, or anyone from another settlement. With no real end in sight to their way of life those that live in the Lodge are thinking about building extra rooms and/or even an extra one or two buildings. Thought is also being put in to prepping for the winter. The plan is to try hunting larger animals and preserve the meat for the leaner months of winter, as well as using animal pelts for warmth of course.


Megan and Wyatt are becoming even closer, however Megan is conscious of making time for just herself and Caitlin together too. Caitlin is still happy with the Morris clan and has certainly grown to love Wyatt and the rest of them! Megan has settled in but is always aware of the fact no one knows what is round the corner these days, so she understandably wants to take part in the hunting trips keeping some of her independence, passing on more of her tracking and trapping knowledge in exchange for herbal remedy knowledge from Wyatts mum who clearly now treats her as a daughter in law and accepts Caitlin as another grandchild too.


It's during one these mother & daughter trips out that both Megan and Caitlin get caught up in the increasingly turbulent storms that seem to be occurring more often lately. Both Megan and Caitlin are hurt. When Megan regains consciousness it is apparent she is badly hurt. She has either broken or badly sprained her ankle/leg. An injury such as this in the times they are all living in can ultimately lead to death so she is in a lot of pain and then when she realises Caitlin isn't with her or in the immediate vicinity the panic soon sets in.


When Megan is found and Caitlin is still missing she is devastated and desperate to go out and search for her. But the injured Megan can only sit and wait or the others to return when they search for any signs of Caitlin. Where could she be? Could someone have taken her? Could Kyle's group be behind this? Or has someone simply taken an injured Caitlin in and is giving her first aid treatment. The fact Wyatt keeps returning from searching empty handed causes a rift between him and Megan. The sad thing is he and his family are as desperate to find Caitlin as Megan is! 

So new alliances are made, another lone survivor who has extremely valuable skills meets up with the Morris Clan, but they also hear of a dangerous ruthless group travelling near to the area they live. Can the small survivor groups manage to ignore or fight off these ruthless raiders or should they perhaps band together and bring an end to the ruthless gangs raiding spree's?

There were the great characters from book one such as Wyatt, his mum, brother etc with the addition of a few more such as "the green woman" who is seemingly impossible to find and quick at raiding others for things she needs. I warmed to this character and hope to see more of her in the rest of the series. She could be a key person in bringing down those who wish to take what they want and hurt or kill whoever gets in their way.

Wyatt's mum and her herbal remedies are once again needed in throughout this book. I have become attached to the whole Morris clan really. I'm thinking maybe the "green woman" may end up a romantic interest for one of the Morris clan but I will have to read more of the series to find out what happens there.

We also meet Kyle's brother again in this book, though he seems to have forgiven the Morris clan for the death of his brother. Can he be trusted? Or not? I'm not sure I would fully trust him. Then there's the people in his settlement, if not best friends maybe they will be a group that can be bartered with for skills or produce.

My immediate thoughts upon finishing this book were, Wow this series is going to be amazing if it continues like this! I actually read the first 93% in one reading session and was fairly irritated when I had to put my kindle down to go to sleep! So of course I finished the rest of the book the following night. I am definitely looking forward to reading both more o this series and other series by this author.

Monday, 26 November 2018

REVIEW - DARK RETREAT - EMP LODGE SERIES BY GRACE HAMILTON

Title: Dark Retreat
Series: EMP Lodge 
Author: Grace Hamilton
Genre: Sci-Fi, Post Apocalyptic
Publisher: Relay Publishing
Release Date: 7th February 2017

BLURB from Goodreads
Three months after life as she knows it was decimated, Megan Wolford has only one goal: protect her daughter, Caitlin, at any cost. When a mysterious illness strikes Caitlin down, Megan is forced to forage for medical supplies at a remote lodge. The last thing she wants is help from her fellow survivors when so many in her life have let her down—but soon she'll find herself with no other option. 
 

Ex-Navy SEAL Wyatt Morris is doing everything he can to hold his family together after the tragic death of his prepper Dad, so when Megan enters their lands, he is mistrustful at first despite feeling drawn to her. He won't turn away an ill child though--no matter how deadly the world has become. But the arrival of another stranger named Kyle soon gives them all a new reason to be suspicious. Wyatt knows he’ll have to forge alliances in order to keep his family safe, but trusting the wrong person could be a deadly mistake. 
 

When Megan and Wyatt discover her daughter’s illness may be linked to Kyle’s arrival, it sets off a race to discover the truth before it’s too late to save Caitlin—and the rest of the Morris clan. Can they work together for survival . . . and something more?



PURCHASE LINKS

REVIEW
I felt I was ready and this may sound odd but I had a craving for an impressive post apocalyptic read and as I had this one waiting to be read on my kindle I decided, after reading the blurb that hopefully this would be the perfect book for me to read now! I think most visitors to my blog will know I totally adore the post apocalyptic & dystopian genres, though I do like reading other genres too. 

The cover depicts a scene from the book very well, showing Megan and Caitlin gazing at what must look like heaven or an oasis to them after being off grid so long. The dark thunderous looking sky really fits the post apocalyptic genre of the book. I think the cover sets the scene for the book very well. The genres I have seen listed for this book are Outdoors & Nature, Sci-Fi, Post-Apocalyptic. The characters are having to get used to the elements of their changed world and within the book herbal remedies are used so I'd guess that's what the "Outdoors & Nature" label comes in. I would add the genres "survival" & "action/adventure" as both suit the content in this book along with post-apocalyptic

The book follows two different groups to begin with. Though as the book continues we follow them all as a group.

There is Megan and her daughter Caitlin who is ill. Megan is desperately searching homes, cabins, whatever she can come across for medicines, for something to help her precious daughter. It is this search that ends up with Megan and Caitlin meeting the other group in this book who are a family who are managing to survive in the lodge that is pictured on the book cover. Megan literally stumbles upon the lodge hoping to find some sort of medication to help her daughter, as well as hoping to stay inside the lodge for a few nights.

Wyatt has taken over as head of the Morris family now since his father died. Though the group take a democratic approach with large decisions. Wyatt's father was an organised prepper, so the Morris clan did have a good base and a stock of supplies to begin with. When Wyatt and his family see Megan's daughter Caitlin and how sick she is they immediately open there door. Despite the world now running on the survival of the fittest, or who is the strongest wins, Wyatt and his family cannot find it in themselves to turn Meagan and Caitlin away, despite the risk that both Caitlin and Megan could be contagious or carriers of whatever illness Caitlin seems to be suffering with. Luckily for Mega, Wyatt's mum has a great knowledge of herbal remedies. Having said that there is a battle ahead to work out what is wrong with Caitlin before she can be treated with the correct herbs.
Even the dog in the Morris family welcomes Megan and Caitlin, he refuses to leave the side of Caitlin, staying alert and guarding his new young friend. Megan soon finds herself torn between what she sees as "giving in" and trusting the Morris family and staying with them. Or leaving what could very well be the answer to her prayers for herself and her daughter and moving on out into the unknown once again. Megan also has fast developing romantic feelings about Wyatt and it seems those feeling are reciprocated. Caitlin has already made firm friendships with those in the Lodge especially Wyatt's young nephew who is around her own age. 

Later in the book another stranger, this time a lone male called Kyle happens upon the Morris clan though can he be trusted. . . sadly for the Morris Clan it turns out he cannot and once again Wyatt's mother has to use her knowledge of herbal therapies to save those who have been maliciously made ill. It also turns out that Kyle is not on his own he has traveled from his nearby settlement to create havoc and threaten the safety of the Morris settlement. Once the reason behind the visit from Kyle is disclosed "someone" (no specific name = no spoiler) feels extremely guilty about leading this extremely dangerous man to their safe haven.

There's not much more I want to reveal as I don't want to give spoilers and soil your own enjoyment of the action how and when it happens within the book reading journey. I became quickly immersed into this book and I felt like I instantly loved Megan, Caitlin and the Morris Clan. I love the hints of the possible relationship and future together for Wyatt and Megan. Megan and Caitlin quickly find a place within the loving Morris Clan but will they decide to stay or move on. Can anyone be truly safe if they stay in one place? Though can you really live a decent enough life constantly moving around?

As I have already said above I felt I loved the characters of Wyatt, Megan and Caitlin almost instantly. All the Morris Clan are brilliantly written characters and all like-able in their own ways. I do have to give a special mention to another Morris family member, Wyatt's mum. I suppose some would call her the unofficial head of the Clan, she clearly cares and loves all members of the Clan, both the ones related by blood and the "adopted" members too. Her experience with old wives tales and prepping along with herbal medicine/remedy knowledge is truly invaluable. 

So what were my first thoughts upon finishing reading this book? They were, do I have the next book? Where/When can I buy it? I went straight ahead and bought it to read when ever I was ready. The only reason I did not read it straight away was I has a book to "read and review" by a set date. 

I definitely recommend this book to all post apocalyptic lovers. This is the first book I have read by this author but I plan on reading many more!

Monday, 19 November 2018

REVIEW - TIMES CONVERT BY DEBORAH HARKNESS

Title: Times Convert
Author: Deborah Harkness
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: Headline
Release Date: 18th September 2018

BLURB from Goodreads
From human to vampire ...
Marcus Whitmore was made a vampire in the eighteenth century. Over two hundred years later, he finds himself in love with Phoebe Taylor, a human who decides to become a vampire herself.
But her transformation will prove as challenging now as it was for Marcus when he first encountered Matthew de Clermont, his sire.
While Phoebe is secreted away, Marcus relives his own journey from the battlefields of the American Revolutionary War, through the treachery of the French Revolution to a bloody finale in New Orleans. His belief in liberty, equality and brotherhood challenged at every stage by the patriarchy of the de Clermonts.

What will he and Phoebe discover in one another when they are finally reunited at Les Revenants, beneath the watchful gaze of Matthew and his wife, Diana Bishop?

PURCHASE LINKS

REVIEW
I initially thought that this book was part of the All Souls Trilogy, until I read that wasn't the case and that this book was set in the same world. I haven't read any of the All Souls Trilogy yet this book really caught my eye and interest so I decided to go ahead with my gut feeling of wanting to read this on.

The cover is certainly striking! It is an eye-catching bright red clock & surround and the inside is a beautiful night sky blue. This cover was the first thing that attracted me to the book and encouraged me to want to read the blurb, To be totally honest until I had read the blurb and decided I wanted to read it I hadn't even noticed who the author was.

The genre I have seen listed for this book is Historical Fiction however I would also add Paranormal, Fantasy & Romance too. I really enjoyed the mixture of paranormal's featured in this book. It primarily has Vampires, Witches, Daemons and Warmblood's. Warmbloods is what humans are referred to in the book.

So I guess most people will have been watching the Discovery Of Witches on Sky TV. I probably should point out I have neither read the book or watched the TV program, though I have pre-ordered the DVD as I have heard so many book friends enthusiastically recommending it. 

Within the first few pages I felt drawn into the book I enjoyed being introduced to all the different characters. 

I guess you could say the book is kind of told from three different points of view. There's the "present" day with the character of Phoebe who is to become a vampire to be with Marcus her chosen love forever. Phoebe and Marcus have decided to do Phoebe's turning and transition the more old fashioned way. An older vampire will bite Phoebe and give her blood in return as well as mentoring her until she is under control enough to safely go among the worlds normal citizens without putting anyone's life at risk.

Another of the viewpoints is also set in the "present" that of Diana, a witch mated with a vampire called Matthew De Cleremont. Their pairing is an unusual one and did go against convention, but they have so far proven they are mates. They have twins, a boy called Philip, Pip for short and a girl called Rebecca and called Becca for short. These two children are an unknown entity really as they are half vampire and half witch. No one is sure which trait will be dominant or how the children will turn out. In fact some vampire members of the family believe that Diana should cast some sort of spell on her children binding their powers so they cannot use them at all. The De Cleremont twins are involved in some rather funny situations. For example, Becca is a biter! Which most warmblood children go through a phase of biting but the fact Becca is a vampire and may accidentally bite another vampire is a worry as any vampire bitten by Becca could retaliate and kill her.

The third section or point of view of the book is when Marcus discusses his past with Diana who is really keen on history. Despite Matthew saying no one should ever ask a vampire about their name or their past Diana cannot help encouraging Marcus to reveal his past when he starts talking about it. We learn the reason Marcus had to leave his home in Hadley, when he shoots and kills his father Obadiah whilst attempting to protect his mother, Catherine and his sister Patience from further abuse and another beating. I loved how Marcus' name seemed to change regularly and sometimes quite accidentally.  

The sections describing how Phoebe is discovering and coping with her new vampire talents such as the hearing, the vision and stronger feelings were quite detailed and so descriptive. They were certainly interesting, such as Phoebe befriending the cat whom she is supposed to feed from as a "baby" vampire and is told not to get too attached to as she will probably kill the cat. Phoebe has other idea's and names the cat,and manages to feed without killing it. 

I should admit I did have a bit of difficulty with some of the historical dates, jargon etc. At one point I actually thought about leaving the book for a while and coming back to it. I was even advised that I should have probably have read the All Souls Trilogy prior to starting Times Convert. I stuck with it and once we as readers started to get to know more about Marcus and his life, or maybe I should describe them as his lives I felt compelled to read on to learn more about this man who was fascinating and had many names and had reinvented himself before he became a vampire. The book reveals how Matthew sired Marcus and how with the help of the rest of the De Cleremont he taught Marcus the very rules Miriam is teaching Phoebe in the present day. It is really interesting seeing how things have changed or sometimes not changed between the era Marcus was made a vampire and the present day and the issues she has to overcome and the rules she must learn to obey. I thoroughly enjoyed learning the vampire etiquette through the eyes of Marcus, also observing the different members of the De Cleremont family and how their etiquette expectation slowly change or adapt and then seeing the most modern vampire etiquette through the eyes of Phoebe.

I really liked a lot of the characters such as Phoebe's family being surprisingly understanding about her decision to become a vampire to be with Marcus forever. I enjoyed disliking the rather jealous sister of Phoebe who it seems has always been the centre of attention and is quite willing to reveal her sisters secret if she can benefit from it in any way. 

I loved the relationship between Matthew and Diana and their stand against interfering in what ate will decide about their children's futures. Philip and Becca sound adorable and I thought it amusing that Becca has the big tough guy vampire Baldwin around her little finger, he really dotes on her.

Another character I loved was Ysabeau the strong female vampire who is head of the family and to be feared, admired and loved by the rest of the De Cleremont family. Ysabeau is mother to Matthew and grandmother to Marcus.

My immediate thoughts upon finishing this book were that I couldn't believe that I almost stopped reading this book! I am so glad that I stuck with it and in the end I really did enjoy it. This book has certainly made me want to read the All Souls Trilogy as well as hoping for more following the Times Convert book.

So now my dilemma is do I try to read the Discovery Of Witches before I watch the TV show? I think I probably should. . . .I have purchased the All Souls Trilogy ebook ready to read. I have so many books to read. . . like most other book lovers I would love more time to dedicate to reading and reviewing!


Monday, 12 November 2018

REVIEW - ALPHA TURNED - WOLF APPEAL BY KB ALAN

Title: Alpha Turned
Series: Wolf Appeal
Author: KB Alan
Genre: Paranormal, Fantasy, Romance, Shifters
Publisher: Second Shift Publishing
Release Date: 5th January 2017

BLURB from Goodreads
Not all men are bad… 

Strong, independent, and happy on her own, Hillary has grown from the na├»ve person she was four years ago after a brutal rape turned her into a werewolf. The normal life she’s made for herself is only upset once a month when the moon calls to her and she has an uncontrollable urge to turn furry and chase small creatures. And she doesn’t need a man for that. Until she finally meets another werewolf, this one a gorgeous, sexy guy who is determined to change her mind about one furry man in particular–him. 

No, some men are very, very good… 

The minute Zach scents Hillary he knows she’s the mate he’s been searching for. Though both the wolf and the man are itching to claim her, first he has to convince her that he’s one of the good guys, and that there are certain benefits to being an alpha werewolf. And there’s no better way of making Hillary see that, than giving her himself—body, mind, and soul.


PURCHASE LINKS

REVIEW
I felt like I was in the mood to read a shifter genre book so had a look at some of my purchases listed in my Amazon account and chose Alpha Turned as it is book one in a new series called Wolf Appeal.  

The cover depicts the typical hunky looking guy that turns into a wolf, with trees and woods in the background. The cover is okay and along with the title gives you an idea of what the book is about. Would this cover make me pick up the book from a bookstore shelf? I'm not totally sure it would. The truth is it would depend what else was on the shelf. Maybe the addition of a wolf, or two on the left hand side of the book in the background would make it more appealing.

The genres listed for this book are Paranormal, Fantasy, Romance & Shifters which all fit well. I would point out that this book is definitely 18+ in content and was a little too explicit with the language and descriptions for my personal reading taste. For me, I would class this as being somewhere between steamy+ and erotica.

The main character in this book is Hillary, a young woman who finds herself in an okay-ish relationship with a guy called Jeff who is persistent she go with him for the weekend and to attend a family barbecue. Though really not wanting to go Hillary finds herself railroaded into attending the weekend as Jeff is so eager and persistent. Upon arrival Jeff's parents seem to be making an extra fuss over her and Jeff's mother says the barbecue is to be that evening. Jeff seems surprised but really happy and perhaps too eager for a simple family barbecue. Hillary has a sinking feeling in her gut that Jeff may be going to propose to her. Hillary's gut is right to have a sinking feeling but its much much worse that Jeff has in mind. Jeff's Uncle Ken Cage is "in charge" of the barbecue. He does a rather loud introduction of Hillary to the others around the fire that has already been set up and lit. Something awful happens to Hillary, that changes the course of her whole life. Jeff and his family are wolves, and Jeff is convinced that Hillary is his mate. When that is not the case other members of the pack are encouraged to try to "mate" with her. 

I felt easily drawn into the book and wanted revenge and retribution for what had happened to Hillary at the hands & jaws of Jeff and his family, but this doesn't happen immediately as the book then jumps ahead in time where Hillary has her own furniture making business. Hillary has lived her life keeping away from those that horrifically attacked her and any other wolves too. Hillary has been extremely careful to keep a low profile, choosing to live in a much smaller place called Slade that has no werewolves. Hillary has created as normal a life as she can possibly have when she has to change into a wolf every few weeks. Hillary loves her job, and her home now and is totally settled until a customer asks to come and see her to discuss and see some drawings of a piece of furniture he wishes to commission as a gift for someone in his family. When the guy arrives Hillary instantly knows he is a wolf. She doesn't know what to do but the male shifter whose name is Aaron calms things by telling her she is safe etc but that they need to talk. Hillary closes her workshop for the rest of the day and sends Stephen who has worked with her for years home. 
Aaron explains it is the law that any lone wolf must contact and meet the Alpha of the area. Aaron explains though Hillary has never been correctly informed about the laws etc Hillary is classed as a lone wolf because she hasn't reported to Zach the Alpha of the local Mountain Pack.

When Hillary and Zach finally meet he is struck hard by the fact he knows she is his mate. It takes a while for Zach to gain Hillary's trust but there is no denying the mate bond they both feel. There's not just one romance in this book, as Stephen that works for Hillary finds himself falling for a member of the Mountain Pack too.

I loved the scenes where Hillary meets Aaron and Tracy, and then I adored the fact Zach is a tough Alpha, but freely shows his softer side along with plenty of patience to the still wary Hillary. I also thought it was great that the males in the Mountain Pack created a secured area around Hillary their instinct was immediately to protect her. 
 
It's not long before it becomes apparent that the pack Jeff belongs to is a rebel one. They have not registered their pack as they should with the council or any local packs either. It is also discovered that Hillary was not the only human they tried to change thinking they would make a suitable mate. Hillary has become much stronger and takes part in the action that is decided to be taken about the rebel pack.

My immediate thoughts upon finishing this book were that it was more explicit and detailed in the steamy scenes that I would usually read but it did also have a great plot and was a good start to a series. After the ending of book one and even though this book was a little more detailed and explicit in language and scenes that I really like part of me still wants to read book two.

Thursday, 1 November 2018

REVIEW - TYPHON - WEREGIRL BY CD BELL

Title: Typhon
Series: Weregirl
Author: CD Bell
Genre: Supernatural, Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Teens & YA
Publisher: Choosecco
Release Date: 1st November 2018

BLURB from Goodreads
Three sisters, together for the first time since birth: Nessa, a werewolf with powers she can now control. Delphine, whose mastery of technology borders on magic. And finally: the chimera, a construction of their fathers lab built from the Kurland sisters DNA, whose very existence threatens them all. Nessa has begun summoning a new skill that she does not understand: halos of color are appearing around people and animals, but what do they mean? And why are the darkest shadows surrounding Delphine? Who are the kids that lurk in the dark corners of the woods? Are there other wolves and shifters that Nessa doesnt know about? Daniel Host, Nessas father, has called together a group of special researchers and scientists to view the ultimate creation. All eyes are on him. And a storm is coming...In this epic conclusion to the Weregirl trilogy, Nessa must battle science and magic, leading her family away from the evil that threatens them all.


PURCHASE LINKS


REVIEW
Well I have been eagerly awaiting this books release as I enjoyed the first two so much, just a shame this is the last book in this trilogy! 

I absolutely love the cover showing the background woods and trees which feature heavily in this book. I think the female face and the white wolf face and their position is great, this cover would really make me notice it on a book shelf! I'm not sure what the title of the book refers to at first glance but it is thoroughly explained within the book.

I totally agree with the genre listings I have seen for this book which are, supernatural, fantasy, sci-fi, teens & YA. I am definitely not a teen but I enjoyed this whole series from the point of view of an adult reading the book. I guess I would add shape-shifter, and werewolf to the list of genres.

This book has Nessa the weregirl, sister Delphine and younger brother Nate still grieving or their mother and getting used to the upheaval of living with their scientist father, Daniel. Also, at the very centre of the book and in the majority of the action is Daniel's living genetic experiment, the Chimera that was developed from the same egg as Delphine which in a rather disturbing way makes them twins. In act during certain parts of the book the chimera is referred to as "Delphine chimera". The really disconcerting thing is that Delphine chimera really has a striking resemblance to the fully human Delphine. Delphine chimera is soon referred to as CM. Like I said there really is a lot going on. Nessa speaks to Delphine and they decide to ask their father to allow CM to live in the house with them as part of the family, as genetically she is. There are still some issues within the "humans" already in the family. Delphine has really withdrawn from Nessa and has to work through other issues too. Add CM to those other issues and you wonder if she will ever become integrated into the family unit or will she be the other element in her personality take over, making her a monster that some of the scientists believe she truly is.

In this book Daniel is hosting a group of foreign scientists who want to come and look at CM. It’s kind of sad really because CM is still more of a project than a valued member of the family. CM is put on show in a new high-tech lab/home for all the other scientists to discuss whilst Daniel draws her blood, and injects her with various things. There is an interesting section in the book where Daniel is given a choice rather like the one he had to make when Vivian and he were together. The choice between his genetic experiments and his wife and children resulted in Vivian leaving and him continuing his scientific experiments. Who/what will Daniel choose this time?

Of course, this book has most of the great characters we have come to love in the first two books of the series. Bree is in this book despite living back in Tether. Bree and Nessa facetime each other regularly and its clear to see that their friendship can and will survive the distance between them. Nessa still turns to Bree or support when she isn’t sure about things. Nessa has even more changes to deal with and as few people know of her ability to change into a wolf. Nessa has to confide in Bree and Professor Halliday. Professor Halliday provides Nessa with any information she has on these changes Nessa to try to help her accept and use this new ability. I found her new talent/power fascinating and enjoyed reading along as she learnt how to adapt, come to terms with it and use it well too.

Nessa still tries to keep her ears open about the Paravida wolves and their new leader Luc. It’s a shame he didn’t feature more in this book but hey we had new characters.
The new characters that are introduced into this book are the young runaways that live in the woods. Bo, the leader of the forests dwellers soon becomes rather close to Nessa. Delphine finds herself being drawn to these runaways as she can identify with them.

My immediate thoughts upon finishing this book were that this had an amazing build up to a tension filled climax that affects a lot of people and their future lives and careers.


After completing the Weregirl series of books I have to say I really enjoyed it rom the first book to the last. I’ve seen other reviews that have compared this book to the Teenwolf TV show and I do agree it is a good comparison and I could certainly imagine this as a film or TV Show. It really is that good. There’s lots more I could have told you but I don’t want to reveal anything too spoilery.