Friday, 31 January 2014


Book Information supplied by Elana Johnson

Danny and Eevee are meant to be together . . . Just not in this universe.

Eevee Solomon has high school down to a science. Get the grades. Get the recommendations. Get into an Ivy League college, and eventually land a killer job at NASA.

Then Danny Ogden enters the equation.

Danny is a street-smart graffiti artist. He’s always managed to stay out of serious trouble, but this time he’s out of luck. One minute he’s running from the cops, and the next, he jolts awake in an unfamiliar body–his own, but different. Somehow, he’s crossed into a parallel universe. Now his friends are his enemies, his parents are long dead, and coolheaded Eevee is not the brazen girl he once kissed back home. Then again, this Eevee may be his only hope of getting home.

Eevee tells herself she’s only helping him in the name of quantum physics, but there’s something undeniably fascinating about this boy from another dimension . . . a boy who makes her question who she is, and who she might be in another place and time.

Find it on Goodreads


Amy has been crafting stories for as long as she can remember. She earned a Master's in literature and worked for years as a web designer, though, before realizing what she really wanted to be was an author. Her first novel, YA sci-fi thriller Now That You're Here, will be published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on December 9, 2014. The follow-up, While You Were Gone, will be published in 2015. She is mentored by award-winning crime novelist James Sallis. 
Amy is represented by Quinlan Lee of Adams Literary. She's an active member of SCBWI and SFWA, as well as a member of the Class of 2k14 debut authors. 

Class of 2k14:


Thursday, 30 January 2014


ISBN:  978-1937744397
Series: The 19th Year
Publisher:  J Taylor Publishing
Pages/File Size:  352pages
Formats Available: Paperback

BLURB from Goodreads
Mac Thorne’s time as a Changeling is coming to an end. 

It may have taken eighteen years, but Mac did finally manage to do what the Council wanted: she chose a teacher and renounced the in-between. 

There’s just one last step. She must say goodbye to her human. Forever. 

After being challenged in every way possible, Mac leaves what she thought would be the easiest task for the last possible moment. As midnight on July fourth draws near, though, she hasn’t found a way to give up Winn Thomas. 

Nor does she want to. 

With time running out, Mac stands at a literal crossroads. Choose Winn, and she’ll be stripped of the only family she’s ever known — vampires, dragons, and her favorite demon. Even her own mother. Accept her position on the Council and rule as an equal to her twelve peers, and she’ll forget Winn ever existed. 

Independence and freedom have never before been so limiting. 

In this final chapter of the 19th Year Trilogy, it’s time for Mac to decide. 

Responsibility? Or Love?



What eighteen year old Mac Thorne doesn't know will probably kill her. In exactly eight months, five days, three hours and thirteen minutes, Mac has to choose what she'll be for the rest of her life. She has no choice but to pick. As a Changeling, it's her birthright. To Mac, it's a birthchore. Like going to school with humans, interacting with humans, and pretending to be human during the pesky daylight hours. Once darkness descends, Mac can change into any supernatural form that exists-which makes her as happy as she can be. That is, until Winn Thomas, the biggest geek in her senior class, figures out there's more to what hides in the dark than most are willing to acknowledge. In this first of the 19th Year Trilogy, Winn might know more about Mac than even she does, and that knowledge could end their lives, unless Mac ensures the powers-that-be have no choice but to keep him around.


Demon crypts. Vampire lairs. Glowing angels. Sexy sirens. The stuff of fiction. 

Or so Winn Thomas always thought. 

Since being accepted into the fold of the supernatural, he knows better. None of what he imagined is true, but everything he feared is, and binding himself to his Changeling girlfriend until her nineteenth birthday will give him an education far beyond what he’d get at his human high school. 

Luckily, Winn’s not giving up, he won’t back down, and he definitely isn’t going to run away with his tail between his legs. After all, only werewolves have tails. Right? 

In this, the second of the 19th Year trilogy, Winn’s facing the challenge of one lifetime. If he doesn’t learn the truth about mythological creatures, his girlfriend Mac Thorne won’t either. That means, in six months, when she chooses her final form, she won’t know what to pick. 

Winn, though, has his own ideas about Mac’s final selection—plans she knows nothing of. 

He intends to have her pick human. 

Whether she can or not.


The top 10 wildest words Suze used throughout the 19th Year Trilogy

10 idiotsyncraticsies 
9 marshmallow flumps
8 Ante meridiem
7 spunkiness
6 cowabunga
5 Boomshackalacka
4 blasphemous
3 bifurcated
2 Banana Hammock

1 Knorks

Emi Gayle just wants to be young again. She lives vicariously through her youthful characters, while simultaneously acting as chief-Mom to her teenaged son and searching for a way to keep her two daughters from ever reaching the dreaded teen years. 

Ironically, those years were some of Emi's favorite times. She met the man of her dreams at 14, was engaged to him at 19, married him at 20 and she's still in love with him to this day. She'll never forget what it was like to fall in love at such a young age — emotions she wants everyone to feel.

The Group giveaway includes
One set of paperback copies of After Dark, Day After AND Darkest Day 
(for the US only.)
Two sets of ebooks of the complete trilogy  
(this is for International participants)
Three set of bookmarks of the complete trilogy 
 (also open to international participants)

You may have seen the Poll on the side bar of my blog, I thought I'd add it to the bottom of this post as well and when the time is up I'll add the results here too.

What will Mac choose upon her 19th birthday?
The options are:
Demon (of any kind)

Other ___________

The results were. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Tuesday, 28 January 2014



ISBN: 9781782793342
Publisher: Cosmic Egg
Pages/File Size: 132pages
Formats Available: Paperback, E-Book
Release Date: 7th January 2014

BLURB from Goodreads
Rules and tips for surviving the zombie apocalypse. The following information may save your life. This book is designed to fit perfectly in your bug-out bag! If you are prepared for the zombie apocalypse you are prepared for anything! Throughout this book you will learn how to survive in the event of a zombie apocalypse and learn how to be a survivor! Use the following information to your advantage. Think like a survivor - when the zombie apocalypse descends upon us you will be a few steps ahead of the rest. Read, re-read, practice and apply, train hard and always think smart, you are a born survivor. This book of zombie survival rules will be a great asset to anyone preparing themselves for the zombie apocalypse.

Goodreads Book Link

Enter for your chance to Win an e-copy of
                                                                The Zombie Rule Book

                                                               a Rafflecopter giveaway

What is your name, where were you born and where do you live now?
I’m Tony Newton, I was born in Cambridge in the UK, and I live in Essex at present.

Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?
Yes, I have always wanted to be a writer. I knew whatever my future held it would have something to do with my passion for reading.

When did you first consider yourself as a "writer"?
I think really when I started writing for a few hours at least every day without fail.

Did it take a long time to get your first book published?
Not as long as I anticipated.

Do you work another job as well as your writing work?
Yes I work in Brand creation and logo design.

What is the name of your latest book, and if you had to summarise it in less than 20 words what would you say?
The Zombie Rule Book A Zombie Apocalypse Survival Guide, Rules and tips for surviving the zombie apocalypse. Rules and tips for surviving the Zombie war!

Who is your publisher? or do you self publish?
My Publisher is the fantastic Cosmic Egg Books, I think if you can’t find a publisher these days there are other great options like CreateSpace to get your work out there.

Do you have a "lucky charm" or "lucky routine" you follow when waiting for your book to be accepted by a publisher?
No just to check the emails and always check your spam folders.

How long does it usually take you to write a book, from the original idea to finishing writing it?
It really does depend on the individual project. Some shorter books would take me a matter of months and long ones (over fifty thousand words) could take up to a year.

Which of your books were easier/harder to write than the others?
I think the zombie book I am working on at present is the hardest. I’m telling stories from different points of view from people of different ages and genders.

What can we expect from you in the future?  ie More books of the same genre? Books of a different genre?
It sounds crazy but I like writers who are like musicians, you don’t want the same sound every time on every album and it’s the same with writers.  I am currently working on a self-motivation book which couldn’t be further away from the zombie fiction I’ve written previously. I think it’s great to write about subjects and situations that you enjoy reading about, that way you always have passion for what you’re writing about. As for what you can expect from me in the future, you can expect a wide range of titles of all different genres .

Do you have plans for a new book? Is this book part of a series?
This book is not part of a series although I have enough material to do a second book, so who knows in the future.

What genre would you place your books into?
Horror, zombie fiction, dystopian, self help.

What made you decide to write that genre of book?
Ever since reading horror and getting scared at a young age I knew I would love to write in that genre.

Do you have a favourite out of the books you have written? If so why is it your favourite?
The Zombie Rule Book is my favourite, although it’s not a huge piece of work I had the most fun putting it together.

Do you have a favourite character from your books? and why are they your favourite?
I think Layne from the zombie book I am working on now, he is very interesting.

If you had to choose to be one of your characters in your book/books which would you be? and why?
I would be a Zombie for sure all that roaming around walking and hunting after brains.

How long have you been writing?, and who or what inspired you to write?
I have been writing one thing or another since I can remember but only recently decided to take it further.

Where do you get your book plot ideas from?What/Who is your inspiration?
They just come to me, sometimes while I’m out roaming the countryside and other times whilst I’m getting creative in the kitchen.

Do you have a certain routine you have for writing? ie You listen to music, sit in a certain chair?
I always listen to jazz music and sit in my favourite chair or couch with a flask of strong coffee and the odd biscuit or two.

Do you have anybody read your books and give you reviews before you officially release them?ie. Your partner, children, friends, reviewers you know?
Yes I do get family and friends to read through first kind of like a beta test.

Do you gift books to readers to do reviews?

Do you read all the reviews of your book/books?
No, everyone has their own opinion, you could drive yourself crazy doing that.

What was the toughest/best review you have ever had?
None are really that tough, just that persons opinion on your work. You can’t please all of the people all of the time.

Would you ever ask a reviewer to change their review if it was not all positive about your book/books?
No an honest review is helpful all round.

How do you come up with the Title and Cover Designs for your book/books?Who designed the Cover of your books?
The title is always the fun part, but making sure no one else has already used it is the hard part.

Do you choose a title first, or write the book then choose the title?
No, always write the book then the title.

How do you come up with characters names and place names in your books?
They come naturally to me and they just feel right.

Are character names and place names decided after there creation? or do you pick a character/place name and then invent them?
I always invent them, they come as I write.

Do you decide on character traits (ie shy, quiet, tomboy girl) before writing the whole book or as you go along?
No, as I go along it seems to works better. The characters grow and change as I write.

Do you basic plot/plan for your book, before you actually begin writing it out? Or do you let the writing flow and see where it takes the story?
Yes I always have a basic plot then I go from there.

How do you market/promote your books?
Through social media and word of mouth.

What do you think makes a book a really good/bestseller ?
Good content.

Have you ever suffered from a "writer's block"? What did you do to get past the "block"?
No, luckily I’ve never suffered from writers block.

What do you do to unwind and relax? Do you have a hobby?
I love to read, and collect old books and unusual antiques.

Have you ever based characters on people you know or based events on things that have happened to you?
No characters but definitely some events.

Are there any hidden messages or morals contained in your books? (Morals as in like Aesops Fables type of "The moral of this story is..")
Not yet but I will do something like that in the future. I love the idea of it just like C.S Lewis did.

Is there a certain Author that influenced you in writing?
Ray Bradbury has always  been a huge influence to me, his writing is phenomenal, I wrote a letter to him once and asked him if there was a secret to writing he sent me back a hand written note saying “Just Write It!” the message has pride of place in my sitting room.

Which format of book do you prefer, ebook,hardback, or paperback?
I much prefer paperback books, but do enjoy reading the kindle on journeys or holidays.

What is your favourite book and Why?  Have you read it more than once?
My favourite book is Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury. I love the idea of it, I have read it many times over.

Do you think books transfer to movies well? Which is you favourite/worst  book to movie transfer?
I did enjoy The Road movie but as is often the case the book The Road by Cormac McCarthy was far superior, the imagination is far greater than any movie can be.

What are you currently reading? Are you enjoying it? What format is it?(ebook, hardback or paperback)
I am currently reading Stephen King’s Doctor Sleep which is one of the best Stephen King books I’ve read in a long time.

Do you think ebooks will ever totally replace printed books?
Yes I think they will eventually, they’ll be like vinyl records are now.

Do you think children at schools these days are encouraged enough to read? and/or do Imaginative writing?
Yes there are a lot of great schemes encouraging young readers to read and write.

Did you read a lot at school and write lots of stories or is being a writer something newer in your life?
Yes I loved the library even then I was always reading and wring short stories.

Did you have a favourite author as a child?
My favourite author as a child was Roald Dahl his books were and still are amazing, what a genius.

Do you have a treasured book from your childhood? If yes, what is it?
Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak, it is an amazing book, one of the first I remember it really stood out to me.

Do you have a favourite genre of book?
Horror, dystopian, sci-fi, motivational.

Is there a book you know you will never read? Or one you tried to read but just couldn't finish?
No I am open to anything whether I’ll read the whole thing or not is another story though.

Are there any New Authors you are interested in for us to watch out for? and Why should we watch out for them?
Kathleen MacMahon

Is there anything in your book/books you would change now if you could and what would it be?
No not really.  Always have a good edit never look back only look to the future.

What do you think about book trailers?
I love the idea of them they look pretty but I’ve heard they’re not as productive as they could be so don’t spend a lot of money on them.

What piece of advice would you give to a new writer?
Never Give Up – like Ray Bradbury said Just Right It! And back up all your work.

Do you or would you ever use a pen name?
I don’t but who knows in the future.

If you could invite three favourite writers to dinner, who would you invite and enjoy chatting with?
Living writers would be Chuck Palahniuk, Brett Easton Ellis, Stephen King, and Clive Barker but I’m not footing the drinks bill!

Where can readers follow you?



ISBN: 9781782793342
Publisher: Cosmic Egg
Pages/File Size: 132pages
Formats Available: Paperback, E-Book
Release Date: 7th January 2014

BLURB from Goodreads
Rules and tips for surviving the zombie apocalypse. The following information may save your life. This book is designed to fit perfectly in your bug-out bag! If you are prepared for the zombie apocalypse you are prepared for anything! Throughout this book you will learn how to survive in the event of a zombie apocalypse and learn how to be a survivor! Use the following information to your advantage. Think like a survivor - when the zombie apocalypse descends upon us you will be a few steps ahead of the rest. Read, re-read, practice and apply, train hard and always think smart, you are a born survivor. This book of zombie survival rules will be a great asset to anyone preparing themselves for the zombie apocalypse.

I only got into the whole "zombie" genre around the middle of this year so there's lots for me to read and catch up with. Approaching this book, I expect it to be humorous, though I'm unsure what format the book will take. Will it be lists of rules? or In a kind of diary with scenarios and rules?

I received this book directly from the Author via publicist Maria Barry. The cover is definitely eye catching with its right yellow. The book also has a gory feel to it with all the blood splatters featured on the book too. I think using the yellow which looks very much like the hazardous colour symbols is an excellent idea. So would the cover make me pick it up in a book store? Yes I would be attracted enough to pick up the book.
So the book is basically what it say's on the cover A Zombie Survival Rule Book. It's basically a tongue in cheek, yet highly practical list of tips and rules and advice to follow in the event that there ever is a zombie apocalypse. There's survival advice on what you should keep in your "bug-out" bag such as fairly obvious things like a supply of tinned food, a first aid kit and perhaps things you may not think of like those foil sheets that are placed around marathon runners shoulders to keep heat in etc.
I admit to being slightly disappointed as I expected more too the book. I wanted more scenarios, perhaps with characters. I kind of wanted this "handbook" to be part of a post apocalyptic series. I think it may have worked better as part of a series, as I feel as a standalone "handbook" it remains a bit stilted and maybe even a little odd. It does have some small bits of humour, but not as much as could have been incorporated. As part of a series the rules could have been referenced to the individual characters like "things could have been so different if Jane had used her knife instead of her gun etc etc."
I can't really say anymore about the book without just revealing some of the rules therefore spoiling the book.
So did I enjoy the book? Yes but I felt it could have been so much more. Would I recommend the book? Yes, but I feel I would have to point out that it is literally a Rule Book.  Would I read other books by Tony Newton?  Yes especially if they were apocalyptic novels!                   

Sunday, 26 January 2014


Discover the mysterious beginnings of The Empire Witch Series in 
"The Skinwalker's Apprentice: An Emerald Kipp Novella."

Title: The Skinwalker's Apprentice
Author:  Claribel Ortega
Series: The Empire Witch
Release Date: 02/24/14

BLURB from Goodreads

New York City 1984: It’s Emerald Kipp’s sixteenth birthday, and nothing has changed. She’s still the biggest loser in school, she’s still trying to find a place for herself and yeah, she’s still a witch. Her last year of high school is turning out to be the worst yet, and Emerald thinks it can’t possibly get any worse. Unfortunately for her, she’s dead wrong.

East Hampton, NY 1658: The Pennyfeathers are the black sheep of their small English settlement. As hard as they try to keep the family secrets just that, the magical bunch just can’t seem to fit in. But when a High Priestess witch chooses 16-year-old Margo Pennyfeather as an apprentice, Margo’s luck finally begins to change. What she doesn’t know, is there’s a lot more to her apprenticeship, and to being a witch, than she could ever imagine.


Jackson Darcantel was on his skateboard, heading towards the front entrance of Upperten High School, when he spotted a blue head of hair crawling out of the bushes.
            She looked up as if it was perfectly normal to be crawling out of the shrubbery and smiled.
            “Hey, Jackson, how’s it going?” Emerald popped up and wiped her jeans clean, patting the Walkman on the inside of her oversized army jacket for good measure.
            “Are you sneaking out of Principal Grossman’s office already? Sheesh, Emerald, it’s only been THREE weeks.”
            “Technically, I wasn’t sneaking out since I was never really inside,” she rationalized, squinting as she said the word “really.” “I was only sort of inside.”
            “I’m not even gonna ask what that means. I just know it was something illegal and probably dangerous.”
            Emerald smiled. Jackson was one of her oldest friends, and he was used to her getting into trouble at every turn. He was a smooth talker, which came in handy when she was trying to weasel her way out of something. Jackson picked his skateboard up and carried it under his arm, and the two friends walked together. He was much taller than Emerald, almost six feet to her barely five and a half. He wore a cap turned towards the side and a black windbreaker jacket over his dark blue tee shirt and jeans. He looked like a younger version of Denzel Washington. Even Emerald, who thought of him as brother, had to admit he was pretty good looking. She had no idea why Jackson hung around her. Aside from being nice to look at, Jackson was also incredibly smart. He was everybody’s favorite high school senior, and she was on a fast track towards juvie. But they had been friends since first grade, and Jackson saw a side of Emerald that her classmates never got to see. There was more to her than just being the school troublemaker. 

Claribel Ortega is a graduate of the SUNY Purchase journalism program, and got her start writing for the school’s Independent Newspaper. There, she quickly rose the ranks from editing the student’s often times hilarious ads and ramblings on the back page of the paper to staff and feature writer. 
After graduation, Claribel worked as a reporter for The Rivertowns Enterprise, a local paper in lower Westchester County, New York. As a reporter, she enjoyed going to board of education meetings and texting the town mayors about the line at Starbucks.
Today, Claribel works for The Combined Book Exhibit, a book marketing company in Westchester NY.
She lives in New York with her really awesome boyfriend, her suspiciously intelligent yorkie Pancho Villa and is surrounded by an impenetrable fort of books she gets from her job.
“The Skinwalker’s Apprentice” is her first book, and cheese is her favorite food.


Prize pack: (US only)

Forever 21 Mint green Handbag 

Forever 21 Emerald glitter nail polish 
Forever 21 Cat charm bracelet 
Forever 21 Pink heart gold necklace 
iTunes Playlist of all the songs in "The Riddle of The Timekeeper" (Playlist attached) 
Bookmarks and ebook of The Skinwalker’s Apprentice 

Book Blitz Organised by